When a Readup user activates the extension on a web page by clicking the Browser Action Icon the extension attempts to parse the page as an article and transmit the article metadata to the Readup server. The article is added to the user's "starred" list and the user's reading progress is tracked and sent to the Readup server.
A Readup user's reading history is always private unless the user chooses to publicly post or comment on a specific article in which case the user's Readup username will be publicly associated with that post or comment.
Readup uses the aggregated, anonymized reading data of its users in order to surface the best articles to the community. Readup also uses users' reading data to allow them to post or comment on an article only after they have read it to completion.
Readup does not share user reading data with any third party companies or organizations.