Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

It's good!
Could you possibly create a "Save as text" option (when saving a complete website)?!

nice, could be improved Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

i like your addon, i'd like it even more if i had the following options:
filename: datestamp first, then filename.
filenname: only datestamp w/o filename looks like "--2015-03-15"
this is ugly, remove the -- please ;-)
in the txt file it should not read "Date stamp: 2015-03-15
Time stamp: 21-56-51" but only the data in one line.
finally if all is set it might be a good idea to just have an option to put a file name (focus in the field) and save/append/prepend button.
thanx anyway.

Include text areas & inputs [type="text"] Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

●I'd like to save text area's content. And searchbar & urlbar content too.
●And auto-save specific content (e.g. search bar contents, the content of a specific text area)

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.6.3). 

Works fine, but slight compatibility issue with another add-on Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

I needed this add-on, I've found it. Works flawlessly and provides all a user may need/wish for saving text to one or more files.

Slight compatibility issue with Quick Context 2 0.1.9 add-on (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/quick-context-2/) when the initial pop-up blocks Save text To File's action. Right-clicking the text again out of the initial popup solutions the problem. Quick Context here has an issue.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.5.3). 

Appreciate your feedback FoxTail, glad you make use of the addon :)

Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

Why is this add-on spamming my cookie manager with a fake cookie called "highlightedtexttofile-at-bobbyrne01-dot-org" at every browser startup?

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.5). 

This is now fixed in v2.5.2.
Thanks for pointing this out

Perfect 2.4.6 Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Running as promoted, all options clear and quick to set up to yr preference. One of a kind, save snippets as you surf with a single click incl url. Most important - excellent support.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.4.6). 

Glad you like the addon :)

"Widget" disappears Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

The "show widget" setting is not preserved after a full exit and restart - the option is turned off, which is a big nuisance. It does survive a quick restart.

Later: The problem turned out to be caused by an interaction with another addon. It disappeared when the latter was upgraded.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.4.4). 

Thanks for review!

Could you create a bug report here with steps to reproduce please?
https://github.com/bobbyrne01/save-text-to-file-firefox/issues

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Hey, this is an excellent addon!
Cannot think of a faster way to save text to a file on my computer, thanks for all your hard work on this!

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.4.3). 

Your welcome!

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Excellent facility.

A question: Text is saved to the Notepad - is it possible to have an option to save it to a Word document?

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.4.3).  Deze gebruiker heeft een eerdere beoordeling van deze add-on.

Thanks for review! There is no 'save to .doc' feature at the moment.

Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

I used this add-on extensively until some time ago when it no longer would save the original layout of the text snippet. Could you please fix it so it retains the formatting.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.4.3). 

Thanks for your review.
Could you file a bug here please to track the issue? Providing an example use case of the issue.
Formatting is preserved for me with v2.4.3

Save Text To File is an excellent add-on Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

I would not want to be without it. I use it every day.
Platform (updated 11/16/14): FF 33.1.1, Mac OS 10.8.5, Save Text To File 2.4.8

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.4.3). 

Thanks Skepp Tikal, glad you make use of it.

Feature request: changeable keyboard shortcut Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Is it possible to change the keyboard shortcut within the options of this addon ?

I use this addon only with its keyboard shortcut which is shift+F1 to automatically save selected text.

But I changed the the keyboard shortcut with help of addon "keyconfig" = http://mozilla.dorando.at/ from shift+F1 to Strg+Y:
Because when I save text from many opened tabs one finger presses "Strg" and one finger "dances" A-Y-W (= copy all - save selected text - close tab).

There seems to be a conflict between the addons keyconfig and saveTextToFile:
I still use saveTextToFile Version 1.1.4 because when I upgrade higher than Version 2.0. the keyboard shortcut dissappears form the menu inside addon "keyconfig" (cannot be seen any longer in keyconfig and cannot be changed any longer).

Therefore I stick to Version 1.1.4 because with higher Versions I cannot perform my "finger dance" A-Y-W, I "have to" use the default keyboard shortcut which is shift+F1 and which "forces" me to perform "extra finger work".

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.2.3).  Deze gebruiker heeft 2 eerdere beoordelingen van deze add-on.

Thanks for the review!
In version 2.6.3 you can configure/change the shortcut :)

Excelent addon Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Very simple and very nice addon. Thanks.

Please, check small bugs and improve options.

For sample:

* If page tiitle include special simbols (:\? and etc.) file creating with this option failed.
For fix replace in Chrome.js this row
fileName = fileName + ".txt";
to
fileName = fileName.replace(/[\/\\|":*?<>]/g,'_') + ".txt";

* User need formatting date/time with leading zero.
Sample for fix: currentHours = (currentHours < 10 ? "0" : "") + currentHours;

* Add icon to notification:
iconURL: Data.get("images/ico.png")

* Replace string "confirmDialog" to "confirmPanel" in ConfirmPanel.html and localization files for correct localization name of this option.

Despite these comments, I'm glad to use this addon.

Big thanks for this addon.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.12). 

Thanks toxicdream!

I have implemented 3 out of your 4 suggestions in v2.2
The remaining suggestion will be implemented in next release.

v2.2 is currently being reviewed by AMO and will be available on this site in a few days.
If you cannot wait, you can download it from here:
https://github.com/bobbyrne01/save-text-to-file-addon/releases/tag/v2.2

Super! Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Fantastic!! helps me save pieces of text that i need from a website, without having to open different applications

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.12). 

Very useful and simple to use. Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Gets the job one, easy to use.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.12). 

very easy to use Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

the number of user preferences is great, i have full control over how my text files are stored on my computer!
saves me time, by not having to copy text and then create a file separately to insert my text.
instead its as simple as 2 mouse clicks.
video demo is brilliant!

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.9). 

Very handy! Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Thanks for adding feature to customize the date format (mm/dd/yyyy .. dd/mm/yyyy)
In a future release, could the user pick where the date is inserted in file name e.g at the beginning or at the end?
Love the addon, thanks!

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.9). 

Awesome again!!! Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Thanks a lot for listening and fixing the problems so soon...2.1.9 fixes all the problems i was facing with the settings.....

Must have addon for saving text for offline read, better than any other high performance readers addons.....

EDIT1: 1 small suggestion, if you can add, an explaining line for the setting 'confirm settings?', some thing like - asks for setting every-time you save or something similar.

Otherwise the latest 2.1.12 version is great.......

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.9).  Deze gebruiker heeft 2 eerdere beoordelingen van deze add-on.

This is great! Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Have been using this for 2-3 months now, by far the quickest way to save notes for offline use later!
10-15 user preferences make this addon very customizable.
definitely 5 stars!

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.9). 

Your welcome!

Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

Can I save text to file with date in my own format (Year-Month-Day, for example)?

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (2.1.7).  Deze gebruiker heeft 2 eerdere beoordelingen van deze add-on.

Feature implemented in v2.1.9:
https://github.com/bobbyrne01/save-text-to-file-addon/releases/tag/v2.1.9