Don't want the boss to catch you surfing the Web on company time? Don't want your teacher, classmates, roommate or significant other to see the Web sites you're viewing? With Panic Button, a single click of a toolbar button will quickly hide all Firefox windows -- bring them back by clicking a button on the Restore Session toolbar. The Panic Button action can also be invoked by pressing F9 (Command+F9 on the Mac).
After installing Panic Button, the Panic Button toolbar button will be automatically added to the browser toolbar, if it is not there already.
- Configurable Panic Button action. You can choose one of the following: Hide All Windows (the fastest option; a Restore Session toolbar appears after all Firefox app windows close so that you can bring back the browser windows later), Minimize All Windows (slowest option – but all windows, including ancillary app windows like Help, View Source, Bookmarks/Places, etc. can be restored), Quit (close all windows and quit Firefox), or Hide and Replace (hides all browser windows and replaces them with a browser window displaying a web page at a specific URL; click on the Panic Button again to restore the browser session).
- You can set the Panic Button toolbar button caption and image. There are 20 toolbar button images to choose from. An image file on your computer can also be used.
- Press F9 (Command+F9 on the Macintosh) to invoke the Panic Button action; shortcut key can be disabled.
Supported languages: English (United States), Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), Dutch, French, Italian, Korean, Lithuanian, Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish, Swedish.
Things You Should Know About:
- Any downloads in progress will continue in the background if clicking the Panic Button to hide or minimize all windows. If Quit was selected in extension preferences as the Panic Button action, downloads in progress will be canceled.
- The "Hide All Windows" and "Hide and Replace" actions may not work if the session restore feature in Firefox is disabled.