Energy saver! 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Sometimes, I have been receiving the same emails from one of my accounts. (T-T)
But I don't know that phenomena now.
By good luck, This program makes duplicate messages removed easily. (^^)

When a version for 58 ? 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Very hepfull. But it is a great lack having no version for thunderbird 58.
May we hope it soon ?
Thanks

Soon, I hope

I'll find time soon to work on compatibility with v58.

Sorry, I did not use it properly 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

I had a problem scanning my mails in different accounts (xxx@free.fr and yyy@free.fr). The solution is to select one account and then CTRL + mouse click on the second account (or/ and third...). It finds the emails that were sent to both accounts.
Thanks a lot for this extension which saves a lot of time and seems to be quite safe for the user. Sorry I had to give it a bad appreciation before to get in touch with Eyal Rosenberg. I'll try to remove it.

A felhasználó már 2 alkalommal értékelte ezt a kiegészítőt.

Great and helpfull add-on 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Really improved original add-on. Recommended - it works well.

This is a very helpful add-on. I do have a problem with it with 57.0b1 (32-bit), but that may not be add-on's fault. 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

This is very handy. I don't know why, but sometimes I get duplicate messages with my imap accounts. I have multiple clients that intermittantly sync with the server. One client has filters that move some messages to subfolders. I'm theorizing that this may be why I'm seeing dupes. But this add-on cleans them up.

I am on the beta channel and when I upgraded to 57.0b1 (32-bit) today, the process started, but the main window did not show up. Narrowed it down to this addon. I'm planning on reverting back to the release channel and if it continues to be a problem will report back.

5-stars because it works and if I am using the Beta version of TB, then I get what I pay for. ;-)

About 57.0b1

Working on it:
https://www.mozdev.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=26429

... but it'll probably take me until the end of the month since I'm super-busy with other things.

fabulous and absolutely necessary add-on 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

I just downloaded this and used it to fix a large Sent folder and another Sent subfolder which had been corrupted with duplicates and was slowing Thunderbird. As long as you don't overwhelm the Remove Dup Messages add-on with a huge number of sets (duplicates) it is great and reliable.
I found that it still worked on 40,000 messages with 14,000 duplicate sets.
Great Add-on

Thank you + limits

I've tested the extension with over 90,000 messages, but not as many dupe sets as you had. Good to know :-)

Also - readers should be reminded that if you include message bodies as a comparison criteria the extension would be much slower (although it should still get through them eventually).

Attention à la coche "comparer les adresses simplifiées et triées" 4 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Après de nombreux essais peu concluant, je viens de découvrir que si je décoche la case "comparer les adresses simplifiées et triées", le module fonctionne enfin correctement...
Auparavant, une fois sur deux elle partait en loop interminable, avec des messages de windows au sujet de script, et l'application ne répondant plus..
il doit y avoir un bug avec cette coche, donc je ne comprends par ailleurs par très bien l'utilité? C'est quoi une adresse "triés"?

Much slower than the original 3 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

EDIT: breaks for some cases with large folders / large messages. (Plugin will hang, and TBird must be killed.) Also gets confused by differences in some client-side headers (X-Antispam, in my case). For now, I'm using a combination of this version and the original Remove Duplicates, in order to work around these problems.

Will update this review when I have more info.

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

I'm not dead yet...

Abandoned? Not really... I'm releasing a new version soon actually (no major changes, mind you). You should try actually talking to people or having a look at the Bugzilla before declaring thing to be abandoned. Please consider retracting that.

Anyway, about the "taking a long time" experience - I haven't gotten such complaints. Can you open an issue at www.mozdev.org/bugs/ so we can get to the bottom of this?

Performs the job smoothly and accurately 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Works smoothly and accurately. Some messages may not be defined as dupes because of the Compare Size option. Playing aroung with settings makes good result to avoid wrong removing!

Hey Eyal,

Sorry for my previous review :)
Do you plan further extention development?
Why there are duplicate messages which look absolutely the same, but one of them has the size =0 Which one I should consider to keep?

Thanks!

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

You're ignoring the comparison criteria

The extension supports a wide customizable range of comparison criteria; the messages you want to define as dupes are (almost certainly) actually different somehow: Different second of arrival; extra newline; different order of recipieints; etc.

It is actually a safety feature that, by default, the comparison is very strict. I'm sure you'll agree it's better to fail to delete some dupes, by mistake, than to delete non-dupes, by mistake. When you set the appropriate criteria you get the result you want.

Un bon programme et beaucoup de progrès : A encourager ! 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Bonjour,
Dommage que ce programme ne soit pas une fonction initiale de thunderbird tellement il est utile.
Testé sur : thunderbird portable 52.2.1 (x32).
fonctionne très bien pour ma part.
Régulièrement et à cause de mes paramétrage de transfert / copie selon mes filtres mis en place dans thunderbird et Gmail ou autres provider pour lesquels je ne peux rien faire mieux j’ai 90 % des messages en doubles.

Vive cet addon !

Pour un réglage permettant de réellement effacer uniquement les messages en doublons, pour que tout fonctionne à la perfection, je conseille de cocher ainsi :
- Comparer les adresse simplifiées et triées
- expéditeurs
- Destinataires
- Date d'envois
- Sujet

Si vous coché autre chose, vous ne pourrez pas supprimer correctement les messages en doublons.

Faites ces réglages précis avant de croire que le programme fonctionne mal : cet addon fonctionne très bien une fois les paramétrages fait.

Bonne continuation

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

About the choice of comparison criteria

First - think your, Olivier, for the compliments. I'm glad you found removedupes useful.

About the choice of comparison criteria: I don't think there is a real single "correct" choice. I set the default to be rather conservative: It's better for people to fail to remove some duplicates than to remove too much by mistake. At the same time I have made the criteria easily accessible on the drop down menu so you can experiment and find the right combination for you. I feel it is a reasonable combination; but I am open to be convinced otherwise if you believe I should change the default. You can email me about it you like.

Super - endlich läuft TB wieder gut 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Hatte ein großes Problem mit "keine Rückmeldung" von TB. Alle paar Minuten war TB am hängen. Nachdem ich alles gemacht hab, damit es aufhört - es aber nicht aufgehört hat - ist mir aufgefallen das ich viele Unterordner mit Duplikaten hab. Daraufhin, kurz über Google gesucht und dieses Add-on gefunden, zaaack - alles läuft wieder flüssig - schon seit Stunden nicht mehr hängen geblieben!

TOP

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

Saved me manually finding/deleting 25,000 duplicates! 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Worked perfectly the first time! A MAJOR time-saver!

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

Hmm, not sure what it's doing...seems to find dups and delete but folder doesn't update. 3 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

would like this to work but when I'm looking at a subfolder full of duplicates and am telling it to find duplicates based on sender, subject, and file size and it doesn't then I'm not sure what it's doing...no log file that I know of to see and no way to debug as far as I can tell. Guess I'll have to dig thru the js and hope to see what it's doing or not.

Update: Ok, maybe it is finding and deleting duplicates but the subfolder in which it's finding the duplicates never updates to show that the duplicates are gone. I can find the duplicates that were deleted in the Trash but when I go back to the subfolder where the duplicates were found they still show. Even Repairing the subfolder doesn't fix the issue, nor does a restart. This happened in TB 43 and now 52.

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

About "updating"

The extension uses Thunderbird facilities to move messages to the trash or to delete them. With the default action - move to trash - you can always see what was deleted by checking out the trash folder, as you've also noticed.

Now, about the dupes still showing in the source folder: I use standard Thunderbird facilities to move messages; if the folder from which a message was moved does not update, that is a Thunderbird bug. And I do know some of these exist, especially in IMAP rather than local folders. The thing is, I can't start sticking my head where it doesn't belong and try to mess with Thunderbird's core behavior - that's a recipe for even bigger trouble.

Works fine in 52.1.0 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

For the momento, works fine in TB 52.1.0. I've made three tests and all perfect

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

Many duplicates ignored, needs more settings 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

I use this because it helps & the idea is right, but I have a lot of duplicates that it doesn't find.
I cannot find any differences but there must be some, such as a few seconds difference in Received time(?) but there's no way to set any "ignore" criteria like in C-Cleaner's Duplicate (Files) Finder.

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

There is definitely a way to ignore criteria

You can use the add-on settings dialog to choose which criteria to use for the comparison. Also, the toolbar button has an integrated drop-down menu from which you can select the criteria.

Seems to work, not intuitive 5 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

My duplicates came from a Thunderbird bug (almost has to be) where every couple of years all the messages in an account are duplicated for unknown reasons. When I found this it was great to be able to fix it it. You gave away your labor for free (thank you) so don't take these the wrong way but a few things:

1. The description of the add-on says good for Thunderbird 3 to 31 but we are now up to 52 so it wasn't even clear it would work - almost didn't download it.

2.On one account I rmb clicked on Inbox to set it as the next folder to remove duplicates from and then ran the remove. Worked fine. Then I went to the next account and rmb clicked on its Inbox and when I tried to run the removal it said it wouldn't search special folders. Both were pop3 accounts to the same ISP so it's hard to see where the difference would be. Eventually I just stopped trying to select a specific folder within the account folder and crossed my fingers and told it to delete without a selected folder - it seemed to work ok. It wasn't clear which folders it was selecting to work on though - scary!
Then out of curiosity I went back and tried to repeat my actions on the first folder and this time it complained about not searching special folders...???

3. It seems to automatically compact after removing duplicates... would kind of like opportunity to decline that.

4. Some comments reference documentation... I'm not seeing any documentation.

Overall it did the job so I'm grateful - thank you!

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

No good 2 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

The original version is better

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

Good, but not as good as the original 4 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

I tried this, but decided to use the original for the actual deleting, because it allows me to delete the larger duplicate, and this one doesn't. Also, most of the features the author of this addon says are missing from the original are not actually missing, except for maybe the license and the toolbar button menu, neither of which I care about nor looked at on either extension.

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

You can delete the larger duplicate

In the review dialog, sort by the number of lines or by the message size, and you can keep the largest/smallest message by "Keep First"ing or "Keep Last"ing That certainly is a feature.

Also, the missing features in the original were missing when I started work on this. I had wanted to join forces and collaborate, but the author of the original never bothered to return my emails...

Kinda working 4 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

Very useful, however its accuracy in detect dupes is not perfect (it miss just a few ones) and seems not possible to delete dupes in personal IMAP folders (you've to move them in a local folder > search for dupes > put back in imap folder).

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

Works but with some limitations 4 csillagra értékelve az 5-ből

1. The documentation needs a lot of improvement. I had to search reviews to discover features. Getting to utility options was not obvious (For example: I had no idea the Sent folder was disabled until a review sent me to the Options). Anyway...
The program worked fine for other folders but the duplicates were initially left in place on the Sent folder despite a whole search and dialog being generated. I told it to Delete Selected but nothing happened that I could see. There was no indication I could see of anything like a count down happening which would have told me to wait. I gave up, and restarted TB when I discovered to my amazement that the duplicates were in fact gone.
Win 10 64 bit, Thunderbird 45.5.0, Most recent Add-on as of November 2016. TB says there were 21,000+ messages in Sent but the Add-on reported a few hundred fewer. This made me apprehensive though it may not mean anything.

Ez az értékelés a kiegészítő előző verziójához készült (0.3.12). 

This is a combination of a review and some bug reports...

Could you please file these bugs, separately, on www.mozdev.org/bugs ?

As for the documentation, I guess it could be clarified more, or I should possibly indicate in the dialog that special folders were skipped.