Super - endlich läuft TB wieder gut Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Hatte ein großes Problem mit "keine Rückmeldung" von TB. Alle paar Minuten war TB am hängen. Nachdem ich alles gemacht hab, damit es aufhört - es aber nicht aufgehört hat - ist mir aufgefallen das ich viele Unterordner mit Duplikaten hab. Daraufhin, kurz über Google gesucht und dieses Add-on gefunden, zaaack - alles läuft wieder flüssig - schon seit Stunden nicht mehr hängen geblieben!

TOP

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Saved me manually finding/deleting 25,000 duplicates! Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Worked perfectly the first time! A MAJOR time-saver!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Hmm, not sure what it's doing...seems to find dups and delete but folder doesn't update. Noté 3 sur 5 étoiles

would like this to work but when I'm looking at a subfolder full of duplicates and am telling it to find duplicates based on sender, subject, and file size and it doesn't then I'm not sure what it's doing...no log file that I know of to see and no way to debug as far as I can tell. Guess I'll have to dig thru the js and hope to see what it's doing or not.

Update: Ok, maybe it is finding and deleting duplicates but the subfolder in which it's finding the duplicates never updates to show that the duplicates are gone. I can find the duplicates that were deleted in the Trash but when I go back to the subfolder where the duplicates were found they still show. Even Repairing the subfolder doesn't fix the issue, nor does a restart. This happened in TB 43 and now 52.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

About "updating"

The extension uses Thunderbird facilities to move messages to the trash or to delete them. With the default action - move to trash - you can always see what was deleted by checking out the trash folder, as you've also noticed.

Now, about the dupes still showing in the source folder: I use standard Thunderbird facilities to move messages; if the folder from which a message was moved does not update, that is a Thunderbird bug. And I do know some of these exist, especially in IMAP rather than local folders. The thing is, I can't start sticking my head where it doesn't belong and try to mess with Thunderbird's core behavior - that's a recipe for even bigger trouble.

Works fine in 52.1.0 Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

For the momento, works fine in TB 52.1.0. I've made three tests and all perfect

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Seems to work, not intuitive Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

My duplicates came from a Thunderbird bug (almost has to be) where every couple of years all the messages in an account are duplicated for unknown reasons. When I found this it was great to be able to fix it it. You gave away your labor for free (thank you) so don't take these the wrong way but a few things:

1. The description of the add-on says good for Thunderbird 3 to 31 but we are now up to 52 so it wasn't even clear it would work - almost didn't download it.

2.On one account I rmb clicked on Inbox to set it as the next folder to remove duplicates from and then ran the remove. Worked fine. Then I went to the next account and rmb clicked on its Inbox and when I tried to run the removal it said it wouldn't search special folders. Both were pop3 accounts to the same ISP so it's hard to see where the difference would be. Eventually I just stopped trying to select a specific folder within the account folder and crossed my fingers and told it to delete without a selected folder - it seemed to work ok. It wasn't clear which folders it was selecting to work on though - scary!
Then out of curiosity I went back and tried to repeat my actions on the first folder and this time it complained about not searching special folders...???

3. It seems to automatically compact after removing duplicates... would kind of like opportunity to decline that.

4. Some comments reference documentation... I'm not seeing any documentation.

Overall it did the job so I'm grateful - thank you!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

No good Noté 2 sur 5 étoiles

The original version is better

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Good, but not as good as the original Noté 4 sur 5 étoiles

I tried this, but decided to use the original for the actual deleting, because it allows me to delete the larger duplicate, and this one doesn't. Also, most of the features the author of this addon says are missing from the original are not actually missing, except for maybe the license and the toolbar button menu, neither of which I care about nor looked at on either extension.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

You can delete the larger duplicate

In the review dialog, sort by the number of lines or by the message size, and you can keep the largest/smallest message by "Keep First"ing or "Keep Last"ing That certainly is a feature.

Also, the missing features in the original were missing when I started work on this. I had wanted to join forces and collaborate, but the author of the original never bothered to return my emails...

Kinda working Noté 4 sur 5 étoiles

Very useful, however its accuracy in detect dupes is not perfect (it miss just a few ones) and seems not possible to delete dupes in personal IMAP folders (you've to move them in a local folder > search for dupes > put back in imap folder).

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Works but with some limitations Noté 4 sur 5 étoiles

1. The documentation needs a lot of improvement. I had to search reviews to discover features. Getting to utility options was not obvious (For example: I had no idea the Sent folder was disabled until a review sent me to the Options). Anyway...
The program worked fine for other folders but the duplicates were initially left in place on the Sent folder despite a whole search and dialog being generated. I told it to Delete Selected but nothing happened that I could see. There was no indication I could see of anything like a count down happening which would have told me to wait. I gave up, and restarted TB when I discovered to my amazement that the duplicates were in fact gone.
Win 10 64 bit, Thunderbird 45.5.0, Most recent Add-on as of November 2016. TB says there were 21,000+ messages in Sent but the Add-on reported a few hundred fewer. This made me apprehensive though it may not mean anything.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

This is a combination of a review and some bug reports...

Could you please file these bugs, separately, on www.mozdev.org/bugs ?

As for the documentation, I guess it could be clarified more, or I should possibly indicate in the dialog that special folders were skipped.

Not really usefull and not always detecting duplicates Noté 2 sur 5 étoiles

Hi!
Nice to have such ad-dons, but it should works automatically on new mails received, otherwise it's useless.
I also can't get it works 100% with 45.4, it doesn't detect some duplicates.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Topp Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Großes Kino, genau hiernach habe ich gesucht! Funktioniert 1A, wo mich zahlreiche Alternativen - Datei- oder Outlookbasiert - im Stich gelassen haben. 1000 Dank.

Thanks, works just fine!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Failed to function Noté 1 sur 5 étoiles

Would not work, on Thunderbird v24.6.0 Starts just fine, but then never does anything. No error messages, no screen appears, nothing. I only saw searching for duplicates in the status bar, but even letting it run for hours...nothing ever happened.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

works great on 45.2 Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Works great on 45.2, thanks for making this tool, you are saving many people from the plague of duplicated IMAP messages...

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Замечательно Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Прекрасно справляется, ищет дубликаты сразу во всех подкаталогах, очень удобно.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Ende einer qualvollen Zeit - dank diesem Add-On Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Über Jahre hinweg nervte mich Thunderbird mit doppelten Emails. Erst jetzt bin ich auf die Idee gekommen, dass jemand vllt. bereits eine Lösung für dieses teschnische Problem programmiert hat. Und ja, es gibt sie mit diesem Add-On. Es funktioniert einwandfrei und auf einen Klick, ohne Wartezeiten.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Innovative, significant time saving app Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Works like a charm. Sends duplicates to Trash. Show on trash with a delay, but that's okay once you know.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Wonderful Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Great UI. Great reliability. Works just like I'd design it to -- even better, probably. One of the better Thunderbird add-ons I've used.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad that you found it pleasing both as a user and a developer.

Excellent add-on , but two questions Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

I just installed this add-on and it does exactly what I wanted. Thank you.

I have two questions. Firstly, what does the menu entry with the very long name actually do? The only difference I can see is that the next time (ond only that one time) I select "Remove Duplicates ..." I see a pop-up saying "not checking special folders".

And secondly, why are so many comparison options needed? Isn't it sufficient to just compare on comparing the message-id and date headers? (That is what my other mail client does, and I have always found it sufficient.)

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Answers...

1. It means that in your next dupe search, only dupes of messages found in the folder(s) you marked as "originals folders" will come up.

For example, suppose you have folders F1 with messages m1, m2 and folder F2 with messages m4, m5, m6. Assume that m1=m4 and m5=m6. If you don't set originals folders, and search for dupes in F1 and F2 together, you'll get two dupe sets: { {m1,m4}, {m5,m6} } ; but if F1 is the "originals folder", you'll only get { {m1,m4} } .

2. Different people want to use different comparison criteria. Your suggestion is sufficient for your use case... if someone sent you the same message, once via a mailing list and a second time directly, the message ID will probably be different, and the date also (well, date received anyway). So - you would need other criteria for this scenario.

Thanks for the positive review.

Excellent tool Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

I can finally suppress those nasty doubles!

The add-on is simple to use and efficient. However, I suggest adding a "do the same for all folders" option when suppressing messages to go faster: I have many folders, and having to confirm the suppression for each of them is kind of a pain. This option would make the add-on complete!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

This add-on is extremely helpful when you end up with duplicate messages in your mailbox (for example as a consequence of communication problems between Thunderbird and an IMAP server). Straight forward and quick.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12).