Could use more settings Noté 3 sur 5 étoiles

I wanted to cull out some RSS element based on their website ('content-base' header), but unfortunately that extension does not offers this as a criteria for fiding dups.

So file a feature request

Nobody's requested this before; file a feature request and we'll see.

... having said that, Thunderbird might not be exposing this to me anyway.

Excellent! Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Handled thousands of duplicates without problems. Thanks!

Could not have been a better fit Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Didn't know how to use it. So I tried right clicking on a folder, and well there it is! It just works, and has exactly the right options. Went through 4000 messages in <1 minute, even when set to compare the message bodies. It displays a summary of the messages it found, grouped together. It lets you compare them. It lets you delete permanently or put in the recycle bin. Just perfect, thank you!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.15). 

Pay Attention to Search Settings Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

At first this app seemed to not work. I get dupes intentionally because I have gmail also reading my main mail account, partly to have a backup on another server, partly as a defense again false positive spam blocking. By changing the default setting to be only Author, Message ID, Sent Time, and Subject, it properly removes my dupes. Unlike another app for dupe reduction, this app does not leave my keyboard delete key disabled after running it. Your mileage may vary.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.15). 

No duplicates ...? Noté 1 sur 5 étoiles

I suppose it might be a decent set of coding but it finds no dupes in my sent folder. Unchecked the selection in the dialog box. They're clearly there. Does not work.
__________________________________________
Thanks for the reply Eyal. On my installation the dialog box looks nothing like the one depicted on the linked page. I'd post you a picture but I don't think this is the right forum for even this type of conversation. As I said earlier, I have unchecked Skip Special Folders (Sent ...)--there is no selection for a positive "search special folders", only a Skip selection to be unchecked--and left all other check boxes checked. I don't know why I get duplicated messages in my Sent folder but, regardless, there are two of everything so it seems the application should not report that there are none. I'm perplexed.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.15). 

Special folders are not searched by default. Also...

You need to make sure to set the appropriate comparison criteria. If you were to compare your sent messages by send time, obviously there would be no duplicates since you don't send different messages at the same time.

And again - you'll need to enable searching special folders.

Nicht alle Duplikate werden gefunden Noté 3 sur 5 étoiles

Leider werden nicht alle doppelten Mails gefunden. Ich habe verschiedene Einstellungen ausprobiert. Mir ist es nicht gelungen alle doppelten Mails zu löschen.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

Energy saver! Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Sometimes, I have been receiving the same emails from one of my accounts. (T-T)
But I don't know that phenomena now.
By good luck, This program makes duplicate messages removed easily. (^^)

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

When a version for 58 ? Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Very hepfull. But it is a great lack having no version for thunderbird 58.
May we hope it soon ?
Thanks

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

Soon, I hope

I'll find time soon to work on compatibility with v58.

Sorry, I did not use it properly Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

I had a problem scanning my mails in different accounts (xxx@free.fr and yyy@free.fr). The solution is to select one account and then CTRL + mouse click on the second account (or/ and third...). It finds the emails that were sent to both accounts.
Thanks a lot for this extension which saves a lot of time and seems to be quite safe for the user. Sorry I had to give it a bad appreciation before to get in touch with Eyal Rosenberg. I'll try to remove it.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14).  Cet utilisateur a 2 critiques précédentes de ce module.

Great and helpfull add-on Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Really improved original add-on. Recommended - it works well.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

This is a very helpful add-on. I do have a problem with it with 57.0b1 (32-bit), but that may not be add-on's fault. Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

This is very handy. I don't know why, but sometimes I get duplicate messages with my imap accounts. I have multiple clients that intermittantly sync with the server. One client has filters that move some messages to subfolders. I'm theorizing that this may be why I'm seeing dupes. But this add-on cleans them up.

I am on the beta channel and when I upgraded to 57.0b1 (32-bit) today, the process started, but the main window did not show up. Narrowed it down to this addon. I'm planning on reverting back to the release channel and if it continues to be a problem will report back.

5-stars because it works and if I am using the Beta version of TB, then I get what I pay for. ;-)

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

About 57.0b1

Working on it:
https://www.mozdev.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=26429

... but it'll probably take me until the end of the month since I'm super-busy with other things.

fabulous and absolutely necessary add-on Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

I just downloaded this and used it to fix a large Sent folder and another Sent subfolder which had been corrupted with duplicates and was slowing Thunderbird. As long as you don't overwhelm the Remove Dup Messages add-on with a huge number of sets (duplicates) it is great and reliable.
I found that it still worked on 40,000 messages with 14,000 duplicate sets.
Great Add-on

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

Thank you + limits

I've tested the extension with over 90,000 messages, but not as many dupe sets as you had. Good to know :-)

Also - readers should be reminded that if you include message bodies as a comparison criteria the extension would be much slower (although it should still get through them eventually).

Attention à la coche "comparer les adresses simplifiées et triées" Noté 4 sur 5 étoiles

Après de nombreux essais peu concluant, je viens de découvrir que si je décoche la case "comparer les adresses simplifiées et triées", le module fonctionne enfin correctement...
Auparavant, une fois sur deux elle partait en loop interminable, avec des messages de windows au sujet de script, et l'application ne répondant plus..
il doit y avoir un bug avec cette coche, donc je ne comprends par ailleurs par très bien l'utilité? C'est quoi une adresse "triés"?

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.14). 

Much slower than the original Noté 3 sur 5 étoiles

EDIT: breaks for some cases with large folders / large messages. (Plugin will hang, and TBird must be killed.) Also gets confused by differences in some client-side headers (X-Antispam, in my case). For now, I'm using a combination of this version and the original Remove Duplicates, in order to work around these problems.

Will update this review when I have more info.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

I'm not dead yet...

Abandoned? Not really... I'm releasing a new version soon actually (no major changes, mind you). You should try actually talking to people or having a look at the Bugzilla before declaring thing to be abandoned. Please consider retracting that.

Anyway, about the "taking a long time" experience - I haven't gotten such complaints. Can you open an issue at www.mozdev.org/bugs/ so we can get to the bottom of this?

Performs the job smoothly and accurately Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Works smoothly and accurately. Some messages may not be defined as dupes because of the Compare Size option. Playing aroung with settings makes good result to avoid wrong removing!

Hey Eyal,

Sorry for my previous review :)
Do you plan further extention development?
Why there are duplicate messages which look absolutely the same, but one of them has the size =0 Which one I should consider to keep?

Thanks!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

You're ignoring the comparison criteria

The extension supports a wide customizable range of comparison criteria; the messages you want to define as dupes are (almost certainly) actually different somehow: Different second of arrival; extra newline; different order of recipieints; etc.

It is actually a safety feature that, by default, the comparison is very strict. I'm sure you'll agree it's better to fail to delete some dupes, by mistake, than to delete non-dupes, by mistake. When you set the appropriate criteria you get the result you want.

Un bon programme et beaucoup de progrès : A encourager ! Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Bonjour,
Dommage que ce programme ne soit pas une fonction initiale de thunderbird tellement il est utile.
Testé sur : thunderbird portable 52.2.1 (x32).
fonctionne très bien pour ma part.
Régulièrement et à cause de mes paramétrage de transfert / copie selon mes filtres mis en place dans thunderbird et Gmail ou autres provider pour lesquels je ne peux rien faire mieux j’ai 90 % des messages en doubles.

Vive cet addon !

Pour un réglage permettant de réellement effacer uniquement les messages en doublons, pour que tout fonctionne à la perfection, je conseille de cocher ainsi :
- Comparer les adresse simplifiées et triées
- expéditeurs
- Destinataires
- Date d'envois
- Sujet

Si vous coché autre chose, vous ne pourrez pas supprimer correctement les messages en doublons.

Faites ces réglages précis avant de croire que le programme fonctionne mal : cet addon fonctionne très bien une fois les paramétrages fait.

Bonne continuation

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

About the choice of comparison criteria

First - think your, Olivier, for the compliments. I'm glad you found removedupes useful.

About the choice of comparison criteria: I don't think there is a real single "correct" choice. I set the default to be rather conservative: It's better for people to fail to remove some duplicates than to remove too much by mistake. At the same time I have made the criteria easily accessible on the drop down menu so you can experiment and find the right combination for you. I feel it is a reasonable combination; but I am open to be convinced otherwise if you believe I should change the default. You can email me about it you like.

Super - endlich läuft TB wieder gut Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Hatte ein großes Problem mit "keine Rückmeldung" von TB. Alle paar Minuten war TB am hängen. Nachdem ich alles gemacht hab, damit es aufhört - es aber nicht aufgehört hat - ist mir aufgefallen das ich viele Unterordner mit Duplikaten hab. Daraufhin, kurz über Google gesucht und dieses Add-on gefunden, zaaack - alles läuft wieder flüssig - schon seit Stunden nicht mehr hängen geblieben!

TOP

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Saved me manually finding/deleting 25,000 duplicates! Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

Worked perfectly the first time! A MAJOR time-saver!

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

Hmm, not sure what it's doing...seems to find dups and delete but folder doesn't update. Noté 3 sur 5 étoiles

would like this to work but when I'm looking at a subfolder full of duplicates and am telling it to find duplicates based on sender, subject, and file size and it doesn't then I'm not sure what it's doing...no log file that I know of to see and no way to debug as far as I can tell. Guess I'll have to dig thru the js and hope to see what it's doing or not.

Update: Ok, maybe it is finding and deleting duplicates but the subfolder in which it's finding the duplicates never updates to show that the duplicates are gone. I can find the duplicates that were deleted in the Trash but when I go back to the subfolder where the duplicates were found they still show. Even Repairing the subfolder doesn't fix the issue, nor does a restart. This happened in TB 43 and now 52.

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12). 

About "updating"

The extension uses Thunderbird facilities to move messages to the trash or to delete them. With the default action - move to trash - you can always see what was deleted by checking out the trash folder, as you've also noticed.

Now, about the dupes still showing in the source folder: I use standard Thunderbird facilities to move messages; if the folder from which a message was moved does not update, that is a Thunderbird bug. And I do know some of these exist, especially in IMAP rather than local folders. The thing is, I can't start sticking my head where it doesn't belong and try to mess with Thunderbird's core behavior - that's a recipe for even bigger trouble.

Works fine in 52.1.0 Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

For the momento, works fine in TB 52.1.0. I've made three tests and all perfect

Cette critique concerne une version précédente du module (0.3.12).