It doesn't wipe data Noté 2 sur 5 étoiles

I tested on several portable FF versions (old and new, and without ANY add-ons except for SS and Ask For Sanitize), with several SS versions (old and new), and I ALWAYS could restore, with a simple file recovery program ("Restoration"), after the alleged "wiping" took place, the fully intact images I had downloaded for testing purposes.

I seem to remember that formerly SOME (not all) files were no more usable after a wiping operation. The file recovery program formerly still displayed the file names (in the FF cache format), their size and date, but the content of the files had been replaced with question marks when I opened them in a text editor, so most likely some real wiping had taken place. Not sure why I can't reproduce that anymore. I've removed SS for now. But I'll try any future versions.

BTW, the bug I mentioned with regard to SS's wiping choice no more appearing in the "Clear History" dialog is related to the "Biscuit" add-on (manages permanent cookies). After disabling that add-on, the options reappeared.

Two stars (one is for your effort to keep dealing with the problem). ;-)

Cette critique est pour une version précédente du module (0.4.0). 

As you noticed SS wipes only the content of cache files:
+) file names in cache format (i.e. AB345GF, etc.) don't hold sensitive information;
+) modified date/time is changed to the date/time of the wiping operation;
+) file size is kept unchanged, but I can plan to change it also to reduce the risk to be detected.

Anyway, it is still a mystery to me the reason why I'm not able to reproduce the behavior you reported :(
For sure something goes wrong during wiping operation and it quits suddenly. After that FF complete the operation deleting cache files from filesystem (ok, this is expected).
Did you noticed errors in the Error Console of FF ?

PS: I'm planning a new version of SS with a better (more secure) use of pseudo-random numbers. But this not relevant for your issue.

Thanks a lot for your tests

Nope! ;-) Noté 1 sur 5 étoiles

Nope, even in the latest update (v0.3.4) the blue progress bar is still too fast to be "wiping" anything (in my FF9.0). SS's own options dialog does appear now in FF's privacy settings, but, on the other hand, it has disappeared from the "Clear History" dialog, so I can't quickly change the wiping method (which would be a useless action anyway, as there is no wiping). Again only 1 star!

Edit March 5th:
Thanks for the response, Fabio.
Am using SS on a FF Portable version (9.0) from portableapps.com, (WinXP, SP1)
Memory cache device: Max storage size 21504 KiB
Disk cache device: 1048576 KiB
Offline cache device: 512000 KiB
The cache gets emptied after every session, so hardly ever huge amount of data in cache. The disk cache is that big to allow single big files to get cached (as Mozilla only allows caching single files of 1/8 of total cache, see: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=647391). Cache directory is on a different partition than FF. As mentioned before, SS works on an old FF version (also portable).

Regards

Cette critique est pour une version précédente du module (0.3.4). 

Edit 13 March:
I can guess that problem is related to the fact that cache is on a different partition than FF. Never tested so far.
How did you change the cache location? Did you set 'browser.cache.disk.parent_directory' preference in 'about:config' ?
Thanks

Doesn't work in later FF versions! Noté 1 sur 5 étoiles

As already pointed out by "Equaer", the default "Wipe Type" can no more be picked in the "Options" of later FF versions. Also, the little blue progress bar that appears during the wipe operation is so fast that it's safe to say that no wiping takes place, but just a simple deletion.

I tested also on an old FF 3.5 version, and there wiping seems to work, as the progress bar takes some time to progress (as it should), depending on the amount of data in the cache.

So, in effect, in later FF versions, the add-on does NOT wipe data, and it's useless as long as it doesn't get updated. Only 1 star this time.

Cette critique est pour une version précédente du module (0.3.3). 

Noté 5 sur 5 étoiles

The add-on still works on FF7 if the .rdf file is updated in the known manner. It works either in conjunction with the "Ask for Sanitize" add-on or together with the "Clear Data" button from the "Toolbar Buttons" add-on (the "Clear Data" button, unlike "Ask for Sanitize" just doesn't ask you on shutdown).

What I don't quite like is that the picked deletion method always reverts to the 3 times (DOD) overwrite option. Not sure whether this is intentional or a compatibility issue. I prefer the 1 time overwrite as it puts less strain on the hard drive.

For the somewhat paranoid: a test in an older computer magazine showed that not a SINGLE company that specializes in restoring files from damaged HDDs is able to restore any files that were overwritten only ONCE. Whether the police or intelligence services can restore files that were overwritten several times is a matter of speculation (I've heard of no court case yet where securely erased data were successfully restored and decided the outcome of the case).

Cette critique est pour une version précédente du module (0.3.2).