Why remove password sync? Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

No reason to remove the password sync feature since it still works in the backend and is still usable. Why not add functionality instead of making the service worse? Not upgrading to this. I used this addon for over a decade and still use the password sync.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.4.0).  Este usuario tiene 2 valoraciones anteriores de este complemento.

Version 4.4.0 Started Deleting All My Bookmarks Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

Do not update or you may lose all your bookmarks. I highly recommend staying with version 4.3.19

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.4.0). 

Отстой! отключили синхронизацию паролей Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

Отстой! отключили синхронизацию паролей. Пришлось удалиться и найти замену!

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.4.0). 

Best Bookmarks Manager Puntuado con 4 de 5 estrellas

I've used Xmarks for more than 15 years. Xmarks is the best bookmarks manager I have found. I store a lot of bookmarks in folders in Firefox as my primary browser and I want them to show up in Safari when I use it. I also want my bookmarks to show up on my iPhone and iPad.

However, Xmarks can present challenges. First, syncing between Safari and Firefox requires monitoring the two sets of bookmarks and being careful they match up. Often, the "Favorites" in Safari will get out of sync with Firefox and it will take some effort to re-match them.

Second, getting my bookmarks to show up accurately on my iPhone and iPad is problematic. Since the bookmarks on my phone and iPad are driven by what Safari stores in iCloud, it is critical to make sure my Safari Favorites match my Firefox bookmarks. Sometimes, I have to wipe the Favorites saved on my phone and iPad first to get them to update.

Net, it takes some concentrated effort periodically to get my bookmarks to fully and accurately sync between Firefox and Safari AND across my laptop, iPhone and iPad... but it can be done with Xmarks. Without Xmarks, it simply would not happen.

2/18/17 - Update -- I recently tried Google Chrome and discovered that Xmarks not only works on Chrome, but it significantly FASTER than on Firefox. Why??

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.4.0).  Este usuario tiene 2 valoraciones anteriores de este complemento.

works great... Puntuado con 3 de 5 estrellas

But when it screws up, it can screw up big time. Thankfully you have snapshots that go far back.
Need support for mobile Firefox now.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

unknown synchronization error!!! Puntuado con 2 de 5 estrellas

Since I had updated Firefox to v50.0, x-marks add-on was automatically disabled in my add-ons list (it was disabled as unsigned). Last week I upgraded Firefox to v50.1 and yesterday I re-installed the add-on and although the add-on version is still the same v4.3.19, it now loads normally.

However, it cannot synchronize as it used to and it does not create a new backup. After pressing the button to synchronize manually the following message appears:
"An unknown synchronization error has occurred"
and of course my last sync remains the one I had since 27-Nov-2016.

I only try to sync my bookmarks which should be the easiest to avoid any errors in synchronization process.

I use Firefox v50.1 and X-marks v4.3.19.

Please advise what to do to make it work.
Thank you.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19).  Este usuario tiene una valoración anterior de este complemento.

X-Marks 4.3.19 Keeps Hanging FIrefox 50.1 Puntuado con 2 de 5 estrellas

I have used X-Marks for years, since long before it was bought by LastPass. When it works, it's an excellent program for syncing bookmarks and other data across browsers. I have, however, experienced repeated (and essentially unavoidable) hangs/crashes when using the latest iteration of X-Marks (v. 4.3.19) with the latest version of Firefox (v. 50.1). Just be aware of this...

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

This addon is a joke Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

This addon used to be good years ago...

Now it simply awful.

After numerous issues, I tried to sync between firefox and safari :

I deleted the bookmarks i didn't want anymore on firefox, forced my firefox bookmarks to override server data, and overrided the bookmarks on safari with the server data...

Three days later, the bookmarks i deleted on firefox were back, completely messed and mixed.

It just became a complete shitware...

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

Still good Puntuado con 3 de 5 estrellas

I've used it for a long time. It could be better, but there's not a lot of competition and it has more usefulness (for me) than the alternatives. The developers continue with periodic updates and fixes, so I have hope. Plus, I don't want to bother to learn another system.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

History info and bookmark info - not there Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

I read that this add-on would show me if I have visited a site when I go there. I also thought it would tell me if that site is bookmarked. It does neither. I guess LASTPAST removed those options.

So, what good is it? And, from what I've read in other reviews, the last thing I want to use Xmarks for is to Sync. Such horrors stories. I dislike Firefox Sync, because I have no control. But, at least it doesn't mess up my bookmarks.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

Was good - now horrible Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

Was a fan before but obviously LastPass sacked everyone and just left the structure in place with little or no support.
Not fit for purpose now.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

Avoid Puntuado con 2 de 5 estrellas

Screwed up my bookmarks at least once a month until I came to my senses and uninstalled it.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

I recommend it Puntuado con 5 de 5 estrellas

I use it since for a long time and it is a success.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

e10s support? bugfixes? Puntuado con 2 de 5 estrellas

This addon is one of the few solutions for cross-browser bookmarks, but unfortunately lack of maintenance shows:
* as said elsewhere, it may un-nest your folders on first sync and even create empty duplicated folders
* When switching browsers frequently, it often bails out, asking you to override local bookmarks with a fresh copy from the server.
* such downloads sometimes end up reordering all your bookmarks (easy to fix with "sort by name"... only if that's how you had them sorted before)
* no "restartless" and "e10s" compatibility, even though at least e10s would be easy to add as the addon presumably doesn't need access to the page content to sync bookmarks

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

Xmarks - DUPLICATE NAME BOOKMARK FOLDERS WOULD BE LOST !!!! Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

I used it on the Chrome and Firefox. Than Sync errors started so had to stop using it on Chrome. A few days ago realized I lost duplicate name Bookmark Folders. Shame I have stopped using it and users please note: DUPLICATE BOOKMARK FOLDERS WOULD BE LOST !!!!
There is way to recover it, already done once, please go and follow their recovery info if you need it

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

#1 MOST AWFUL PLUGIN I HAVE EVER SEEN, IT WILL TOTALLY SCREW UP ALL YOUR BOOKMARKS Puntuado con 1 de 5 estrellas

This horrible plugin will scramble up all your bookmarks, de-nest and fragment all the sub-categories of bookmarks you had created (except for some which only get partially messed up, but those get rearranged so they're useless!), make duplicates of your bookmarks in random inappropriate places, and you'll never be able to find anything using your bookmarks again. The people who 'like' this horrid piece of crapware must have maybe one or two dozen bookmarks to deal with which they don't mind fixing all the time, but I had saved hundreds and now they're all a useless scrambled mess. So now I have to find some kind of utility that will allow me to re-organize them all, or else just delete them all and start over. I wish I could rate this piece of crap in negative stars or at least a ZERO.

IT ALSO MAKES FIREFOX HANG ALL THE TIME SO THAT YOU HAVE TO EXIT AND RESTART! Whoever is pimping this garbageware is doing a great disservice to people.

NOTE: when you go to expunge this awful software from your system you have to DELETE it from the appropriate Add-Ons areas of both Chrome and Firefox (I wouldn't recommend just deactivating, this horrid software is insidious), but then you ALSO have to go in and delete it in Control Panel => Programs and Features because that is apparently where it is set up to corrupt all your bookmarks in MSIE. If you don't do this you'll keep getting a popup message with a couple of cryptic choices that don't make much sense beyond they want to screw up your system even more, forcing you to Cancel out until you've finally deleted Xmarks there too. However, one machine I cleaned up did not show Xmarks in that area and I never figured out why, but just removing it from Firefox and Chrome was sufficient. All my machines running Xmarks used Windows 10.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

Not using this add-on until e10s support is added Puntuado con 4 de 5 estrellas

The only add-on that still doesn't have e10s. It's been a while, so I'm gonna have to disable it and live without it.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19).  Este usuario tiene una valoración anterior de este complemento.

Support for e10s/Electrolysis

Hi there, we are sorry to hear that you've decided to discontinue usage of the Xmarks add-on, but we do thank you for providing feedback regarding your desire to see support for e10s added.

Good Puntuado con 4 de 5 estrellas

Need Firefox e10s(Electrolysis) support.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

multiprocess Firefox (e10s) support Puntuado con 3 de 5 estrellas

I have been using it for years without major issues but what about multiprocess Firefox (e10s) support? It is the only remaining add-on (among few I use) not supporting it. Would happily enable e10s support now but can't without working Xmarks. With multiprocess supported it would be 5 stars but without it is can slowly become history.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19). 

New review with updates Puntuado con 5 de 5 estrellas

See my old review first (permalink: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/xmarks-sync/reviews/818201/)

The issues I had were related to having syncing turned on while logged into either FF or Chrome. Anyone who is having issues where you get duplicates all over, denesting/nesting errors, and all kinds of weird stuff causing you to have to constantly restore, it's absolutely caused by be logged into the browsers profile and syncing is turned on.

And to Alex E. below, I think when the developers say the issue is caused by running multiple sync tools they mean even the built-in ones. If you login to Chrome or FF you MUST turn off bookmark syncing in the respective browser option settings.

Gets 5 stars now with that in mind. Though I would STRONGLY advise that the Xmarks team make it known that even the syncing which is a builtin part of each browser will break the addon.

Esta valoración es de una versión anterior del complemento (4.3.19).  Este usuario tiene una valoración anterior de este complemento.