Rather wide toolbar in FF Nightly Rated 5 out of 5 stars

In the current Nightly, 56.0a1 (2017-07-13) (32-bit)
my Vertical toolbar is wider than it used to be - about as wiide as the "Elect" in "Electrolysis" (on a 5:4 screen) - aesthetically too wide.

This used to happen if an icon was too broad, but now it's so even if vertical-sidebar is empty.

The extension is still marked as "Legacy", that is, not a web-extension, thus will not survive FF 57 in November unless re-written. This is a dark tragedy.

This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Great for having the personal bar at hand Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Simple, light, useful!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

Great for widescreen computers like laptops! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I guess there's not a lot to gain from a vertical toolbar on a tablet, but I cannot rotate my 1360x768 laptop, so I am *very* glad that I can move some 20 buttons to the sidebar! And I have no trouble adding or removing white space there. Perhaps because I use classic theme restorer too?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

WebExtensions aren't staying open with autohide on :( Rated 4 out of 5 stars

They used to stay open. Now they jump up to the location bar position like previously but vanish quickly.

I have to use the pin button to toggle the sidebar before interacting with any WebExtension addon now.

Dev, is this just an incompatibility on my end?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

No longer works with most of the popular Firefox themes Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I really like Vertical Toolbar, but it no longer works with a majority of the most-downloaded firefox themes, at least not for bookmarks, which is why I want it. Now, I'm forced to choose between Vertical Toolbar and FXChrome. Tough decision.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

missing essential feature Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great add-on, but cannot remove spaces or separators from the toolbar once installed.

(The idiots at Mozilla don't say where bug reports are to be logged.)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

Great, but appears to override some styles Rated 4 out of 5 stars

For some themes, this may not be an issue, but I've been unable to set the background color for the entire bar. I added some launchers/plugins and my bookmarks; the bookmarks component and the empty space accept the background color, but not the sections with launchers. The toolbar buttons themselves can be targeted, but there is space around them that belongs to the toolbar that still won't accept styling. Note that inspecting chrome://browser/content/browser.xul did not reveal anything overriding my styles or setting colors in ways that I missed. I also don't have a theme set, I'm doing it all through CSS in Stylish.

I don't think this is a "bug", it may be an oversight or something. An easy fix would be adding a night mode check box or basic style configuration.

My current solution:

#vertical-toolbox, #vertical-toolbar toolbarbutton { filter: invert(100%); }

More comprehensive:

toolbar, toolbar .toolbarbutton-icon, toolbar [src], #back-button, #forward-button
{ filter: invert(100%) hue-rotate(180deg); }
#navigator-toolbox { background-color: black !important; color: white !important; }

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

e10s compatibility !!!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

perfect but not e10s compatible

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

Actually 1.0.15 works again Rated 5 out of 5 stars

1.0.15 is working (perfectly) again. It probably was 1.0.14 which was buggy.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

Excellent add-on and very well maintained by the author Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great add-on. I posted that the add-on was not working with the latest Firefox update, and lo and behold, the next day it was fixed. Brilliant. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Что случилось? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

после обновления дополнение перестало работать!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.13). 

Top add-on but now don't work Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I hope that will soon be functioning. While waiting you can use similar "OMNISIDEBAR".
Great! ver.1.0.14 is very good

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14). 

Emergent update

The xpi file of ver.1.0.14 is corrupt.
Please update to ver.1.0.15 or downgrade to ver.1.0.13.

Problem with Firefox 50.1.0 and version 1.0.14 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With the new version 1.0.14, this ad-dons doesn't work anymore (the vertical toolbar isn't displayed). The browser console message is : <<Failed to load overlay from chrome://verticaltoolbar/content/overlay.xul. 1 browser.xul>>.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14). 

不工作 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

今天更新后,垂直工具栏消失了,怎么回事?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14). 

Bookmarks in the vertical toolbar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

You can also place your 40 or so most used bookmarks in the vertical toolbar. Very handy!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14). 

e10s? Rated 4 out of 5 stars

e10s? :P?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.13). 

e10s support ? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Any plans for e10s support? It is a so useful addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.13). 

Bookmarks are missing - Too Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great extension, but having the same issues as danermo and Alexey in FF50 (Win10). If I have a button with a pull-down button, the bookmark icons disappear. In my case, the pull down button is the "Display closed tabs" button from Tabs Mix Plus. Remove that button from the vertical toolbar, and it works fine.

The issue is only when I choose "Show: Icons" under the Buttons options. "Icons and Text" and "Text" options both work fine.

FWIW, the bookmark buttons do not work; however, I can right-click and choose "Open All..."

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hmm... Bookmarks do not work if on the panel to place any button with a drop-down list, such as greasemonkey. If this button is removed, then everything works fine.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.13).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Bookmarks are missing Rated 3 out of 5 stars

On Firefox 50, Windows 8.1 x64 Bookmark panel doesn't show up

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.13). 

Can't reproduce it

I cannot reproduce the bug on Firefox 50 on Windows 10.