Rated 5 out of 5 stars

nunca falla

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

new gui is shit and slow.. gone are the faster drop menus in with the bloated crap.. its still better to just copy url and download because actual download doesn't work..it just takes 10x longer because of the gui update is bloated and slow

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

La version 4.9.24 était très bien... depuis, c'est devenu un grand n'importe quoi.

Video DownloadHelper go trash definitively !!!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

So... I have read reviews. Decided to try the latest version anyway. Being trolled or not... the changes to VDH have ended my use. The end user complaints are valid while the response has been less than that.

I could not download a single youtube video w/o installing the "helper" add-on. This was not a problem before v5 came out. As many stated... DTA no longer works with any version 5.

I've gone back to 4.9.24. It simply works, has no need for another add-on, & pushes links to DTA.

Mixed opinion on new version Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've been using VDH for several years now. I've always liked it better than other options, but I may seriously start to look elsewhere.

I do like the idea of less clicks needed to download, but there is a real problem with lack of integration with DownThemAll or the ability to integrate with ANY other download manager. Regular linear download for any reasonably sized video is just resource prohibitive in most cases. I feel like I've just jumped back to the days of 56K dialup.

I haven't seen any of the other issues people are complaining about because I haven't had the time to use it much lately, mostly due to the lack of DTA integration.

I will say though that a long and persistent annoyance remains with this new version and it speaks volumes about the attitudes and practices of the developers. I'm speaking of the browser hi-jack upgrade notification page. NO SOFTWARE except perhaps, MAYBE the browser itself should EVER auto-load ANY web page, certainly not at startup.

I don't care WHAT you have or think you have to tell me. Do it some other way that is less intrusive and looks less like I just discovered malware.

When a user opens their browser they expect certain pages, or no page, to load. Pages a user did not INTENTIONALLY ask to load should NEVER do so. On top of this, there is no way I can find to turn this behavior OFF.

This speaks volumes about the developers. On this note alone, I might choose to use another add-on or none at all. I will NEVER support anyone who willfully continues to engage in such behavior.

My computer is MINE not yours. It does what I tell it to do, not what you tell it to do. Do NOT HI-JACK my browser!

-p.s. I've also not used this much since the mac version won't update and has ceased all functionality. I can only use it on my linux box now.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!!!! Best download for the mac. I use it to download audio and videos Best one out there.

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Still in denial! They say "Since May 2014, the VDH reviews are being trolled by a competitor" NO! This very poor feedback is from your once loyal users, who are disgusted how you could ruin a great product, so quickly. Avoid.

Funcional, práctico y rápido - Very useful and efficient Rated 4 out of 5 stars

La versión 5.3 compensa ampliamente la espera luego de las incompatibilidades con la actualización de firefox. Las descargas con rápidas, se puede configurar bien, aunque podría ser más intuitivo. / Version 5.3 has compensated our waiting time because uncompatibilities due to irefox update. This version is very efficient and feasable for setting up, still could more intuitive. some friends are still unhappy with the format. Anyway, thanks for the awesome work you have done!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It became much cpu load

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Too complicated.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love the new screen capture feature !

Any chance it can get audio too ?

We are working on audio but we cannot make any commitment at this stage.

I quit. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

OK, with new v5.3 and that Screen Capture bullshit you lost me: I'm ufficially starting to look for alternatives.
You GREEDY devs keep pushing for a 30$ piece of crap software and you add stupid features just to justify its necessity.
Well, you DO NOT need a converter to download web videos. Good downloaders use MUXERS and leave the original streams untouched, because converting is inefficient, wastes resources and it ALWAYS DEGRADE the QUALITY of the output.
Oh, and about score trolling... most of the latest 5 starts reviews are by newly-registered users that only rates this addon and nothing else... talk about strange...

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Excellent Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Long time user, never reviewed. Time to fix this.
Works perfectly and improves at every release. Thanks to the devs team !

Shit Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This operation needs to have a converter installed on your system to aggregate the video and audio streams. Fuck up.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

five star gone down 1 star....
to download 720 and higher resolution, you need to install another program(not an addon)...it will have big watermark when converted ....you need to pay to remove it.....so found other addon that works without paying....not using this greed shit anymore

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.2.0). 

no longer an option Rated 1 out of 5 stars

You totally ruined it.

I always thought Mozilla was a non-profit propaganda-free and user-concerned project (which I made donations to in the past). Time destroys everything, I guess.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.2.0). 

Does not work anymore since devs got greedy Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've been a dlhelper user for YEARS and it was always doing it's job. It doesn't anymore.

The authors claim that some new proprietary transcoding software is needed to download current YouTube videos. And they also claim that these types of videos just "weren't visible" before in DLHelper. Well too bad, then I would at least like to have a checkbox that makes them invisible again. I'm not going to pay upwards of 10 bucks for some shitty transcoding software when all I want is the RAW stream (I'm perfectly capable of transcoding videos myself, thanksverymuch).

But there's more!

Yeah, you think, okay then it displays these "new" kinds of videos, but you can just ignore them, right? WRONG! If you choose the "old" videos on YouTube, you get 0 byte downloads. What a coincidence! "Hey our software has the TOTALLY INNOCENT bug that makes downloading videos for free impossible, but what a great solution, you can just BUY something from us to get it to work again! YAY!"

Fuck off. But there's even more!

The authors also claim that their competitor is trying to sabotage their reviews. LOL. Apparently they haven't ever used their own software, because since that "now it costs money" update your tool is just PLAIN SHIT. Downloading zero byte files just doesn't cut it, buddy. And I dare you, I double dare you motherfucker, check out my registration and see that I'm a totally legit user who loved your product once and HATES it now.

Enough ranting for today, time to search for an alternative. Goodbye forever, shitty DownloadHelper. It was nice while it lasted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.2.0). 

Bad egg. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

a really great add-on.... it was untill the latest update... doesn't let me download anything without downloading additional software! i'm sorry, but i'd have to unistall. that was a very bad move, fellas... this is the end for you. that's sad & hurts me very much as i've loved it. i loved you, developer! gonna cry falling asleep to memories of how convinient & great you once were.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.2.0). 

Keeps getting better! Support Amazing Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The new VDH shocked me. Major change and could not work how to do the things I could do very easily with 1 step.

But once I worked out the configure option (found on my add-on list) and popped my icon to no dropdown (under appearance) (you can get to everything by the clicks top screen when you click the icon)...then as good as gold... Back to 1 click action.

Sure.. the new popup is uglier(loud) and confusing but VDH is functionally better now. I even get OSX notifications. Performance 10.10.3 fresh install v38fx not impacted at all. Wow!

Support is unbelievable fantastic for the given huge volume user base. I cannot believe this dude replies directly in googlegroups. Thank goodness he does as VDH is critical for me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.2.0). 

Gone downhill - Why change a good thing? Rated 2 out of 5 stars

The previous version of DownloadHelper was great! A reference even.
Then it was "upgraded" (I have 5.2.0) & went to pot! It doesn't even make sense any more. The developer thinks a competitor is writing the reviews? It's more like some rival sabotaged the tool itself.
I really need to find a decent alternative now - unless it's possible to downgrade?

Another casualty of greed on the side of the road of good ideas, but clears the way for someone else to step in (I haven't even searched as yet, but as with any new vacuum...).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.2.0).