Google Toolbar breaks Status-4-Evar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I installing the fucking stupid Google Toolbar and it killed the functionality of Status-4-Evar. I only installed Google Toolbar because using it seemed like it was the only way to get my Firefox bookmarks synced up to my Andriod phone, but now I have NO status bar in Firefox 4 (RTM). God dam, I should have known that that fucking toolbar was poison.

Uninstalling and re-installing Status-4-Evar did not fix the mess the Google Toolbar made. So now I'm gonna have to do a complete uninstall of Firefox now and then re-install.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

This is probably not specific to S4E. The Google Toolbar has long been known to cause problems in Firefox and other extensions. I always recommend that people avoid it (and all Search toolbars).

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The progress bar shows only a thin green line right at the center of the awesome bar. It seems the tiny progress bar moved from the bottom of the awesome bar to the center of it, and the webpage address moves to the right when the progress bar is being displayed (the do not overlap). This strange behavior doesn't change when I change the settings to display the progress bar at the top or to fill the awesome bar. This seems to be an incompatibility issue with other add-on(s) I have installed, but I cannot tell which it is as I am no developer. I'll try later to reinstall FF4 and reinstall all my add-ons one by one to find which one is responsible of this issue, and I´ll report my findings here.

Another problem I had was when I disabled/removed Status-4-Evar, all my add-on icons on the add-on bar (previously the statusbar) moved to the left, and there is no way to fix this (the add-on Firefox 4 UI Fixer doesn't let me move the add-on icons as it claims to do, and Organize Status Bar (from the developer website) only lets me move some of the icons in a herky-jerky manner). The link and status popup (FF4's default) moved to the right side as well after disabling/removing Status-4-Evar, but it returned to the left side after a reboot.

I'm hoping this add-on gets updated to fix the progress bar and add-on icons location problems. NOTE: I'm giving a 5-star rating despite I'll keep it disabled until these issues get fixed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Yes, the issue with the progress bar is from having an incompatible extension/theme installed. And to 'fix' the Add-on Bar after uninstalling/disabling S4E, customize the toolbar and add a flexible space.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Lovely extension, but there is a bug:

Hovering on links located at the bottom right window causes the link status to go 'crazy'. This is when I've put links to be shown in a pop-up. Default behaviour for firefox is to put popups for such links at the right, which should be done for this extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

This happens because S4E doesn't have any delay before showing the pop-up (Firefox has a 70ms delay by default). The next version will have a configurable delay, which should solve the problem.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This one actuelly allowed my to continue using in a user-friendly way a few other add-ons that I regularly use.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Perfect fix for bad FF4 design! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I was very annoyed when the devs got rid of the status bar in the Awesome Bar and put it in an annoying popup like Chrome, and I'm very pleased that this addon returns it there. My only complaint is that the progress bar looks a bit naff when in the AB, in all it's forms :c

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for Status-4-Evar it fixes an option Firefox is missing, which is to have the status bar visible at all times at the bottom of the window. It works perfectly for me!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've found it very difficult to make Firefox 4 less cluttered thanks to the addon bar and addons not supporting moving their icons. After trying many, many solutions I think this is the best. Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I really didn't like losing the status bar and now I haven't.
One suggestion though would be to add the option to display the status bar whilst in full-screen mode as I used to be able to do with another addon called "fullscreen status bar".

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Essential Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Along with restoring a proper status bar with complete info, it also served unexpectedly as a 100% reliable alternative to Fission. It would be even better if the progress bars could be customized to use images as well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

It can. S4E Preferences -> Progress -> URL Bar -> Browse and pick an image file. If you switch the editor to Advanced, you can use any valid CSS background rule (Just the rule value. The "background:" part is assumed). http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS2/colors.html#background

This is more like it Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I'm all for continuous improvement but I hate it when my productivity suffers in the process. That bar at the bottom took up so little real estate, I can't understand why it was removed. Two add-ins disappeared that I refer to frequently, and they didn't show up anywhere in the top bar either. Well now they are back, and my Firefox experience is much less disorientating than it was.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I really like your add-ons...However I discovered a small bug in it. When enabled Picpick's Scrolling Windows feature do not work any longer for me ?
Thanks for looking into this and keep up the good work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Es Perfecto para arrastrar Los marcadores a la Barra de Complementos.. ;P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Missing the Secure Lock icon Rated 3 out of 5 stars

It's almost there except it's missing the little Secure Lock icon that appears on my lower right whenever I reach a https:// site.


Please bring that back! Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

The padlock was removed because it was a misnomer for security, which I agree with. That's why I did not implement a replacement in S4E. You can read my comments in this topic on MozillaZine: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=10144967#p10144967

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Really like this! Now i am able again to see links before clicking.
But there is one option that i miss, so rating is "only" 4 of 5 stars. Isn't it possible to show the progress as popup? I would like to the the status in the toolbar, but the progress as a popup when a website is loaded.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

When you say 4 ever you mean 4 ever. Love everything about this add-on. Unfortunately my brother didn't and preferred the new Add-on bar but when I removed your add-on the status bar was still there and the default firefox 4 add-on bar was removed and I could not get it back appearance wise. It still worked the same as before just smaller. Had to re-install firefox to get back to normal. I still have your add-on though in my profile :) Is there anyway to get back firefox 4's default Add-on bar without having to reinstall?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much for this, not only to replace Fission, but to bring back the functionaliy of the status/addon bar.
I quite like FF4, but WTF were Mozilla thinking when they decided to remove useful things?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

please Rated 4 out of 5 stars

love the addon..good workRated 5 out of 5 starsby ecedilos on March 25, 2011 #question: is there a way to resize the width of the toolbar?i am asking myself also

edit:it can,when in costumize ff meny is on show:icons
but please sepatre it in stsus-4-evar meny

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Failure... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Lags up the browser...

And I'm on a a rig I built my self with ENTHUSIAST parts!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Without this addon, I would have had to seriously consider other browsers. I live in a very rural area where slow loads and stalls are fairly common. I hated not knowing if the download was continuing or not. I find it mind boggling that they removed it in the first place. Their designers appear to have come from MSIE. Thank you so much for this much needed addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed). 

love the addon..good work Rated 5 out of 5 stars

question: is there a way to resize the width of the toolbar?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2011.03.21.22.1-signed).