Rated 1 out of 5 stars

does the job of moving around messages well but after installing it, some other key like page down and down arrow started deleting my open messages

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.15). 

Not yet rated

Please consider users with small screens: it would only take shifts of a few pixels to make the UI and documentation of this addon fit within a space 800 by 600 pixels. It's mad that such a simple extension is so screen-hungry.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.15). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is genius, and will save me hours. Many thanks for the extension which I've been waiting to find for ages.

If you have any sort of proper filing system for your emails you should use this.

What I wind up that I discover this the day after filing the inbox from >300 to about 10 messages...

Again: Genius add on. Many many thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.15). 

I really like Nostalgy... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It took me a day or so to "get it", but now that I do I really like Nostalgy a lot.

It makes it so much faster and easier to move messages around using only the keyboard.

If T'bird is your primary email client (it's mine), I'd recommend installing Nostalgy and taking the time to learn how to use it -- you'll almost certainly like it, too...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.15). 

Brilliant add-in Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I want to add my review to make sure it continues to be supported as Thunderbird upgrades because I depend on it so much to handle my email efficiently.

I even discovered by accident it supports tagging! "S" for save then ":" to bring up the tag list. A really useful feature for me as I use tags extensively to identify emails by project.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.15). 

THANK YOU Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The latest update seems to have fixed my issue where I'd hit s and it'd open and close right away. Now it just works and I'm so much happier!!! Excellent work. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.14). 

Incredible! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It saves me tons of time. Best extension for Thunderbird that I have used.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.13). 

Hello Nostalagy, goodbye Outlook Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great extension; gives me even more keyboard control than I used in Outlook. Should be part of standard TB. Maybe TB could allow user to easily map all functions to their own keys.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.13). 

Go to suggested Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very usefull tool, especially when huge numbers of folders are involved.

What it's missing is a Go to Suggested Folder (shift-G?) option, since I often move a message to a folder with S or Shift S, then need to GO to that folder...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.8). 

great Rated 4 out of 5 stars

works fantastically well

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.7). 

0.2.5 and Thrunderbird 2.0 Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I've been using Nostalgy for quite a while and it's been one of my favorite add-ons. Unfortunately, the feature I use most is broken when used with Thunderbird 2.0. The (S)ave key no longer works, although the (C)opy and (G)oto keys seem to.


Also, it would be great if, while fixing the (S)ave key, the author also made the key shortcuts case-insensitive. I know the documentation says they already are, but they're not. Even under Thunderbird 1.5, "S", "C", and "G" wouldn't work while "s", "c", or "g" would.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.5). 

Very good idea, could use some polishing Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very good extension, highly recommended if you use folders. UI could use some polishing; integrating with TB's filters mechanism would help a lot.

My main request is that now that TB 2.0 has tags, making Nostalgy able to add tags would be very useful. I'm planning on replacing my hierarchy of category-oriented folders with a few task-oriented folders and the rest of the organization by tags, so I'll need to apply a whole bunch of tags quickly. Nostalgy would be perfect for this task, and I wouldn't think it hard to add. Just also make some way to add a new tag if what you typed doesn't exist (alt-Enter or something, keeping the normal 'enter' reserved for applying the current completion).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.5). 

key conflict with TB2.0 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Nostalgy has become an indespensible add-on for me. However I just upgraded to Thunderbird 2.0 and noticed right away that they have changed flagged messages to stars and changed the keyboard shortcut from i to s. This conflicts with Nostalgy's save command which takes precedence over the star-message shortcut. Any way to remap one or the other?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.3). 

Hyper-efficient, effortless Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Nostalgy does more for my productivity than any other extension -- in fact, given how much I use it, more than most other software on my computer.

Responsiveness is immediate and it's effortless to use. The only enhancement I'd want is being able to customize the keyboard mappings (see the Discussion section for more).

Many thanks Alain!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.3). 

Great extension Rated 5 out of 5 stars

If you use a lot of folders and subfolders, this extension is a must. What I find most useful about it is that I can immediately go to any folder of which I know the name or part of the name.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.3). 

heaven for fingertips! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

great extension which gives you total and easy control over TB without ever recurring to the mouse. still not a 1.0 release, but it's already indispensable for me!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.3). 

Read the "usage directions" too! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great to navigate quickly. Don't forget to read the usage directions in the Addons->Options of Nostalgy, I discovered there it can even do more, like: quickly switch focus between the folders, threads and message panes, scroll the message without switching focus away from the threads pane, switch to "cc" and "bcc" in message composition.

Dreams for the future (aka request for featuritis to get the last point and make me go from 9 to 10): incorporate "ThreadKey" and "Maximize Message Pane" functionality, use eg. Shift-G to see only a list of folders with unread mail (and a count?), Esc-V for access to the view box? ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.2). 

Efficient Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This extension makes Thunderbird as efficient for me as the text clients I'd become so used to. Every serious user should install it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.2). 

great extension but Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed working with this extension in TB1.5 but when I moved to the TB2 nightly builds, Tb doesn't state it as compatible (although I see it's compatible with 2.0b2. Can you please fix this,
I'm really thinking of goingback to 1.5 just for this extension,

thanks anyway,
Dror

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.2). 

Great! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This extension greatly improves the workflow of using Thunderbird. E-mails can be filed automatically in the correct folders, but it's not like a filter, so you can see it in the inbox first, and then press Shift-S to file it away. The folder name completion is great, and the fact that you can just press a few keys to manually file messages in folders.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.2).