Rated 5 out of 5 stars

must have

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome love it-using on TB2.0.19 and Vista. Works like a Charm! Thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have only been using Lightning for about a week, and I think that it is great. I need a calendar to keep track of everything and I didn't want another program running. I always have Thunderbird on and this way the calendar is too. Thanks for a great add-on. I love it!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

For those having problems, uninstall it and install the package lightning-extension (sudo apt-get install lightning-extension) instead. It's the same Lightning, but for some reason, the package works better.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Not compatible with Thunderbird 3.0b1 Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Not that I'm complaining, but fyi it won't install and gives a "not compatible" popup

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't seem to be working properly on Thunderbird 2.0.0.19 (installed on Linux Kububtu 8.04): I can't create a new calendar, several buttons are not working, I can't see the days of the week. Help!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Best calendar ever !!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the most amazing calendar I've ever had. Simply outstanding in its flexibility and service. You can use it for all your aspects in life, be it private or business wise - and decide to view all appointments at once or only your business schedule. It has a fantastic color scheme system, various display possibilities and very efficient and flexible reminder functions. Even though it is so multi-tasking it still serves as a never confusing and greatly organized tool to help scheduling life. It is just fantastic.
Thanks to the team who created this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Don't know what's wrong with your installation. Works just fine with 2.0.0.19 for me on both XP and Vista... Great tool, anyway!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

with TB 2.0.0.19 doesnt work Rated 3 out of 5 stars

with TB 2.0.0.19 doesn't work

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Pointless with 2.0.0.19 Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Looks like it would be a useful tool - if it worked with 2.0.0.19! Not much point to it when you can't even save a calendar entry! Only getting one star because there is no option for zero stars!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work with version 2.0.0.19 It needs an updated version. Tried 0.8 and 0.9 and it's a no go.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awsome program. Syncs with Google mail great for me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Looks good but... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Looks pretty - I tried import a .csv file but calendar did not update is there a patch or tip out there?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Super!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Year View! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I would definitely love to have a
year overview
for the lightning caledar, like in for example timecaledar....

Adi, Berlin

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Lightning is a very useful tool to get calendars in thunderbird. But the main point for the users to switch between win and linux with thunderbird and lightning in an easy way is not fullfilled since years. Better you look for the important things first. Until now, there is no open plattform alternative but spicebird - which have also problems with calendarfunctions

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Nice, but not yet practical Rated 3 out of 5 stars

For many reasons I would like to move completely away from Outlook to Thunderbird. An essential component in the migration is the calendaring and tasks function.

Towards this end, Lightning is a very nice add-on - as far as it goes. I like the clean interface and the facility to create different calendars, each with its own colour. And to be able to switch calendars on and off.

However, Lightning is just not yet developed to the point where it is a feasible alternative. Reasons are: 1) Only allow one category, which is treated as a simple field. One really needs a list on the side, allowing one to select which categories to show. 2) The interface is just a little too slow. 3) More fields are needed to be able to synchronize effectively with PDA databases. 4) The synchronization solution needs to be worked on - Birdiesync is good, but expensive; Finchsync is too hard to set up for the average user.

These may seem like nice-to-haves, not essentials, but a task and calendaring programme is so much at the centre of organizing one's work and life that it really has to be slick and efficient if it is to be feasible. We need something more than a toy for geeks!

I do hope that the developers see the opportunity of making Thunderbird (with Lightning) a real open source solution to Outlook.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is so very cool, but only just a thing is missing, configure reminder to be sent by SMS. This is really lovely specially using with Google Calendar.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great, but one problem: if you've lots of tasks, you cannot search them like in calendars view ".. contain.."

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent calendar, still a few bugs. When I try to check off a task, I still will sometimes get an error message that says "modification failed!" Also, it would be neat to have color tags for tasks like calendar events and to have reminders for when tasks begin as well as when they are due.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9).