Comcast Restored Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Comcast script 2014-05-16 fixed whatever ailed Comcast. Comcast notifications once again work perfectly. In the immortal words of Fred Flintstone, "Yabba dabba doo!"

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.4.1-signed). 

Comcast upsets the apple cart Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I can access my Comcast e-mail by logging on directly to the Comcast site. I can download Comcast mail using my e-mail clients. However, beginning 12 May 2014, I can no longer access Comcast using X-notifier: not on Firefox, SeaMonkey, or Google Chrome.

Comcast has apparently done something that interferes with X-notifier. Probably time for an update to Comcast script 2013-05-13.

Cannot help but marvel at how the developer is able to monitor so many different software sites. Keep up the good work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.4.1-signed). 

It's Baaack! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Facebook script 2014-03-06 is just what the doctor ordered. Facebook notifications once again work perfectly. The developer's responsiveness was awesome!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.3.12.1-signed). 

About Face for Facebook Rated 4 out of 5 stars

X-Notifier (v3.3.12) remains my single most essential Firefox add-on. Unfortunately, Facebook must have recently changed something to upset the apple cart. Facebook script 2013-10-28 no longer notifies users like it has for so long.

Hovering the mouse over the X-notifier button shows "Facebook (account-name): not checked" in red ink. Right-clicking the X-notifier button shows all Facebook accounts as grayed-out listings. Fortunately, clicking on those account names does successfully open each account, so X-notifier still has substantial value. However, the add-on no longer notifies users when unread Facebook postings are available.

Facebook has apparently done something that requires another tweak to the Facebook script. I can only shake my head in amazement and admiration at how the developer is able to keep abreast of so many different applications and the programming techniques required to access them. Hope this Facebook problem can be solved.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.3.12.1-signed). 

Varnished Chrome Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I am thrilled that version 3.3.8 did indeed fix the Gmail 2-step verification in Firefox. Ironically, however, v3.3.8 still does not open Gmail in Google's own Chrome web browser. Sure would like to see that fixed, too.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.3.6.1-signed). 

A Truly Joyful Yahoo! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Yippee kay yay! Version 3.3.3 fixes all of the Yahoo problems. X-notifier now successfully scans Yahoo both on initial startup and with a manual scan (menu option "Check Now"). And everything works even for those of us who chose to stick with basic Yahoo instead of the new "full-featured" Yahoo. Can't ask for much more. Well done!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.3.2.1-signed). 

Not-So-Joyful Yahoo! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I read CPrebble's review of 16 June with great interest because I, too, am having problems with Yahoo, although of a slightly different nature. When I open Firefox, all the initial automatic scans in X-notifier work fine, except Yahoo's. Yahoo accounts remain grayed out, and no e-mail counts appear.


While a minor annoyance, it is not a fatal flaw. If I then run a manual check by clicking the "Check Now" menu entry, lo and behold: the Yahoo accounts are no longer grayed out, and the counts for unread mail suddenly appear.


So for new users who depend on Yahoo, don't give up on X-notifier if initial startup fails. Just run a manual scan; you should then be good to go.

For the benefit of RpD:
As I have stated before, this is a marvelous add-on. It must be a monumental chore to keep current with all the changes made by the numerous service providers, and I have nothing but admiration for the developer of X-notifier.

However, the first three or four times I had problems in the distant past, I did use the forum. Alas: I never had a single reply to any of my posts. In my experience, the forum simply has not produced results.

Since then, I have instead chosen to post reviews so that new users contemplating this add-on might become aware of the types of problems they might encounter so that they can make an informed decision. Sorry if that offends your delicate sensibilities.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.3.2.1-signed). 

My Heart is A-Twitter Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This has become my single most valuable add-on, especially because it works in both Firefox and Google Chrome. Alas: out of the blue, beginning this afternoon, it no longer checks Twitter. Clicking on the Twitter link opens Twitter successfully, but the link is grayed out, and the count of unread Twitter messages no longer appears. Same problem in both Firefox and Chrome. Perhaps it's time for an update to the Twitter script?
---------
Amended 12 June 2013: Bingo! The new Twitter script dated 12 June 2013 fixed the problem. Many thanks for your prompt response.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.3.2.1-signed). 

Comcast Script Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Version 3.0.4 renders the Comcast script inoperable. Had to roll back to 3.0.3. Need further modification to X-notifier itself or else a new Comcast script that is compatible with version 3.0.4.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0.4.1-signed). 

Please download new script.

http://xnotifier.tobwithu.com/scripts.php

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Found new Twitter script 2012-10-19 on web site http://xnotifier.tobwithu.com/scripts.php;
Twitter icon no longer grayed out — but script still fails to open Twitter.
Getting closer, but still needs more work. Sigh...
-------------------------
I posted the above review about Webmail Notifier v 2.9.13 on 18 October, and in keeping with the developer's history of deleting unfavorable reviews, he deleted it sometime in the past few days, so I am compelled to post it yet again.

Having said that, I will offer the following update:

I found that with Mozilla's release of X-Notifier (formerly Webmail Notifier) v3.0 yesterday, the Twitter script dated 2012-10-19 does now work properly — BUT only if users re-install the script from scratch. I had to do that for Comcast and Facebook scripts as well.

Why? Apparently because the renamed X-Notifier add-on stores scripts in a different folder within your Firefox profile. The new folder is named "xnotifier" rather than the old "wmn" subfolder. Users must apparently refresh all scripts in order to place those scripts into the correct new folder.

Why are users compelled to go through such hoops? Just so the add-on can be renamed? Sheesh! Give me a break. The new add-on finally works as well as the old one used to, so I am very happy about that. However, I remain irritated with having my reviews deleted, and I am equally unhappy with the unnecessary and unpublicized complications resulting from the new add-on name change.
[Deleted yet again and re-posted on 28 Oct 2012]

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

WebMail Notifier v2.9.13 (on Firefox v16.0.1) is one of my two or three most valuable add-ons: it serves as my gateway to internet communications (Comcast mail, Yahoo mail, Google mail, Facebook, and Twitter).

Alas: WMN access to Twitter suddenly stopped tonight. Perhaps a new update to the Twitter script is necessary. It must be exasperating trying to keep up with all the changes made by all these different sites. Keep up the good work, though; hope to get Twitter back soon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.9.13.1-signed). 

What's in a name? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Am using FF 9.0.1 and with WebMail Notifier 2.8.3 but made the mistake of upgrading to WMN 2.9. Now I can no longer access my gmail accounts of the format firstname.lastname@gmail.com. Add-on not particular: fails on computers with Win XP Home (SP 3) and Windows 7 Professional (64-bit).
Rolled back to v2.8.3 and everything works again. Hope to see this problem fixed in next upgrade.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.9.1-signed). 

Advance to the Rear Rated 1 out of 5 stars

WMN version 2.7.10 (with FF 5) does not access gmail even though I have enabled auto login. Had to revert back to version 2.7.9. Exasperating; if I cannot access my three gmail accounts, this add-on becomes useless.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.7.10.1-signed). 

Web Mail Icons Rated 4 out of 5 stars

With the latest update (2.7.5), the Yahoo icon no longer displays properly. (Google's Gmail icon seems to be OK almost all of the time.) Instead, I see only the dreaded yellow triangle with an exclamation point inside. I would like to see Yahoo's purple Y favicon restored. I find this highly ironic because the release note claims to have "fixed icon cache." Not so, apparently.

I reported this bug via the forum as the developer requests, but that appears to be an exercise in futility: no response was forthcoming.

Overall, an extremely useful add-on. However, users must be prepared for some frustration in getting meaningful responses when attempting to report bugs. And if past history is any indication, this review will be removed within hours, forcing me to post it again a few hours after that. Something to look forward to...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.7.5.1-signed). 

Discounts Yahoo Folders Rated 3 out of 5 stars

In general, I like and appreciate this add-on. However, there is one shortcoming I would like to see corrected. I have created several folders in yahoo mail with rules that direct incoming mail to the applicable folder. WebMail notifier apparently does not recognize new mail in yahoo sub-folders: it seems to count new mail only if it is in the parent yahoo folder. As a result, WebMail Notifier erroneously reports no new mail when in fact I have several new emails awaiting in folders. Sigh...
[Originally posted 5 October but then *removed for some unknown reason.* Apparently only glowing tributes dripping with platitudes are allowed to remain: "I love this add-on!" "Best add-on ever!" Gag me with the proverbial spoon...]

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.6). 

No Default Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Assigning default accounts does not appear to work. I have multiple Gmail and Yahoo accounts, but when I click on the status bar icon, Webmail Notifier opens the first alphabetical account in Gmail and the first alphabetical account in Yahoo. It ignores the Gmail and Yahoo accounts that are marked as the defaults. (This is the second time I have submitted this review; why was the first review posted on Dec 26 removed???)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.1). 

I need your help

I saw your review.
Previous one deleted because I delete version 2.0.
Now waiting 2.0.1 to be public.
However, to fix this problem, post to WMN-forum or mail me to tobwithu at gmail.com