update Rated 3 out of 5 stars

When is the update for FF3 ready? I want to use it!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08052000). 

Wired-Marker is already updated for FF3

Wired-Marker is already updated for FF3.
Please check update or download from Firefox Add-ons site.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I used this extensively on FF2 but it took forever for the update to FF3 so I moved on to Scrapbook, which seems to do what Wired-Marker does, if not a couple extra things.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08052000). 

Wired-Marker is updated to FF3

Newer version of Wired-Marker updated to FF3 has come out from sandbox today.
Please try newer version of Wired-Marker.
Sorry for late update, as it took a little bit time to get out from sandbox.

Fantastic Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This add-on is remarkable. Until now, I bookmark ed pages because I found useful information on them but the trouble has always been finding the relevant information on the page later on.
Wired marker solves this problem beautifully because I can bookmark just the section of information that is important to me. And I can even bookmark the same page in multiple places.
The concept of this add-on and the implementation are excellent. I like the drag and drop idea because it allows bookmarks to be organized in multiple ways in one step: color, hierarchy and order within a list.
Within minutes I was productive with it which indicates how intuitive it is.
I highly recommend it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08052000). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

excellent

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08052000). 

Good Work Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent extension. I see great potential too. I'll keep into my list of installed ones.

A suggestion: add date and time to notes automatically

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08052000). 

Alternatives Rated 3 out of 5 stars

There are alternative services, but they are server-based, so you don\'t own the highlights. However, they are very good. Here is a review of ten of the best ones.\r\n\r\nhttp://www.makeuseof.com/tag/web-annotation-tools-research-annotate-collaborate/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08042501). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making this .Very potential tool !!!
The only thing is that I can not create a template . Is there any add that has been reported to be crashed with this ?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08040900). 

Thank you for using Wired-Marker.

Thank you for using Wired-Marker.

In answer to your questions
> The only thing is that I can not create a template
Wired-Marker has the function to createing a template. This function is found by in the context menu (right-click) context menu of the Wired-Marker tree menulist.
If you want to create a template, you have to create the tree structure first and customize folder settings.
After that, right-click and select a root folder that where you want to make it to be the template root folder and select "Make template…" from the context menu. You can create a name for thisset template name and also add notes in a the same following shown dialog box.
Now, you can add folders by using the template. To add folders, right-click a folder in the Wired-Marker side menu where you want to add folders, and select the template name you created below the "New folder" menu.

> Is there any add that has been reported to be crashed with this ?
Currently, We we don't know of any add-ons that conflicts with Wired-Marker, currently.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great idea!

I would like to suggest a couple of improvements:
1. There is no way to remove highlighting, which limits usefulness. It would be nice to be able to set the highlighted color to "clear" to get rid of highlighting when it's not needed anymroe.

2. "Wired-Marker" shouldn't appear at the top of the right-click context menu. It should appear below the standard right-click actions provided by the browser (back, next, etc)

3. There is an extra menu step in the context menu. When I select "Wired-Marker" from the menu, "Wired-Marker" appears as the only menu item. I have to select that menu-item to see the list of highlighters.

4. It would be awesome if users could choose and define colors.

Thanks for creating a really useful extension!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08040900). 

A MUST Rated 5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING!!!

I spent so long looking for something like this to save time, paper, ink, and more when doing research papers. There isnt another add-on this simple and lets you SAVE your highlights for later uses.

The fact that you can save and organize the highlights and even see where the are on the page from the scroll bar to the right, make this the greatest feature Firefox has to offer.

Even if you dont write papers often, you MUST have this. Even if your just reading the news and you want to mark some random fact or peice of literarture, then you'll wonder how you ever got by without this.

My only negative thing to say is that you have to have the side bar active in order to highlight. That can be a bit obtrusive whe you just want to quickly highlight something and the right clck interface could be streamlined a bit.

However these things pale in comparison to how amazing this add-on is.

If I could give it high than a five star I would.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08040700). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

its a nice concept and a nice idea but its too complex for what you want to do.

1) you have to hightlight the text with the browser before highlighting it with the marker

2) rather than the marker be right where you are, you either have to hightlight the text with the mouse the right click on it to select the marker or use the wired-makrt thing at the top.

its a good idea but way too complex to make it for general use. you should be able to select the highlight without having to highlight anything and you should be able to choose the color instantly without taking all those steps.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08040401). 

BEST ADD-ON EVER Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Words cannot possibly describe how useful this add-on is. It's clean, easy-to use interface (which may take a while to adjust to, but incredibly rewarding, trust me) makes easy to select, highlight text and save it as a "direct bookmark" for later reference so that you don't have to fumble through an entire webpage just to find the one section relevant to your needs. Organizing your permanent highlights is also very user-friendly, as you are able to colour-code your "highlights/bookmarks" into separate folders, which also happens to makes researching for multiple assignments far less complicated. Your Wired-marker folders can be also exported in the form of zip files for on-the-go convenience, or at least for back-up purposes. I can't recommend it enough - a must have for any user of Firefox!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08022000). 

Wired-Marker made my searches more efficient. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I have used Webs to collect disease information. I found that Wired-Marker would be a good tool for me. Here, I show you what I do.
It begins with defining the framework you view the entity, in may case, diseases. I use the “Folder Template” function of Wired-marker. Pop up a menu by right clicking on a root folder for this work, place the pointer on “New Folder”, and select “Folder template”. A new template that already contains eight markers is created, and you name the folder, for example, “New Disease”. Then, name the markers included in the created template folder, for example, as follows: “Etiology and Risk Factor”, “Signs and Symptoms”, “Tests and Diagnosis”, “Complications and Prognosis”, “Patient Care”, “Treatment”, “Genetics”, and “Specialists”.
Next, right click on this template folder, and select “Make Template”; this procedure registers these set of markers as a template to collect disease information. Now, you can easily prepare a template for a disease by just right clicking on the root folder, go to “New Folder”, and select “New Disease”. In this way, you can have a consistent view while you are collecting information on the Web.
One of the merits of Wired-Marker is that you can view the phrases or sentences you have marked up on the hierarchically structured viewer. You can also export the information in a folder as an XML file, which your collaborators can import to their Wired-Marker environments.
I assure that Wired-Marker will assist you to collect any kind of information you want in an organized way from the Web, as well as to share it with others.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08022000). 

10+ Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wired-Marker has become one of my favorite add-ons.
It's an essential tool for online research and it is helpful for those with poor eyesight.
It's easy to learn and use, and the customization options allow me to set it up in a way that best suits my needs.
I'd recommend it to anyone to keep along as part of their basic add-ons collection.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08022000). 

Excellent! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've been wanting an extension like this for a long time. There are a few other highlighting add-ons, but none compare to this one.

You may not realize it, but your extension is extremely helpful for people without the best of eyesight. I run the web site AccessFirefox.org which provides Firefox accessibility content for persons with visual impairments, and some of the main content focuses on assistive Firefox add-ons. I'm now in the process of writing a full page guide to Wired-Marker because I'm very impressed with its features and its performance and I see great potential for this extension.
Thanks for all of the hard work and time that you put into it.



This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08020101). 

Thank you for using Wired-Marker

Dear Ken Saunders,

My name is Isamu MUTO and I am Product Manager of Wired-Marker at BITS.
Thank you very much for using Wired-Marker and your encouraging words.
We hope Wired-Marker will help your web browsing.

Great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like it! Great job.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08011600). 

Useful Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It is useful especially for setting markers inside long texts. It solves the time consuming problem of scrolling back to a bookmark.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.08011400). 

Eureka! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Let me start by saying I wanted this functionality for a long time. Many IDEs (Intelligent Development Environments) have the ability to add 'bookmarks' to particular lines in the code for easy reference.

When it comes to using the web for research being able to retain locations of very specific data and go to them readily is essential. This extension not only does that very weighty task, but it does so with elegance and style.

With this extension you can easily add personal marking to a page and return to it later.

But one of the most beneficial features is that you can export your markings to others. This means if you are collaborating, teaching, or just sharing, you can quickly disseminate the information and 'zero in' precisely on the data.

This extension is definitely a part of my toolkit for the foreseeable future.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.07122001).