Firefox crashes after update Rated 2 out of 5 stars

firefox crashes after the latest update !..please fix soon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.09020600). 

error with latest update Rated 5 out of 5 stars

After upgrading to the latest version, Wired-Marker stopped working properly. Folder tree structure is not displaying in the sidebar anymore. I disabled all other add-ons to see if there was a conflict, but it didn't fix it. I'm using Firefox version 2.0.0.20. I didn't update Firefox yet because of the slow bookmarks handling issue with Firefox 3. Please keep supporting Firefox 2.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.09020400). 

Wired-Marker 3.1 on Firefox 2

Sorry for the inconveniences. We submitted newer version of Wired-Marker that works on Firefox 2 correctly. We think it will be opened to the public. If you would like to try the newer version, please download from http://www.wired-marker.org/en/download.html

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I LOVED this tool until the latest update. Now the thing barfs never-ending pop-up loops when the program hasn’t even been called/launched. I used this program all the time, but had to uninstall because of the latest “update”.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.09020400). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Strongly recommend that the develop disable whatever popup has been enabled in the most recent update. Annoying would be a kind word for it. Rage inducing might be more accurate, especially when there is zero explanation of it anywhere in the settings panel or on the developer website. Disabled on my machine for now, and a strong candidate for uninstall if this problem is not rectified quickly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.09020400). 

New version rather confusing - Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't even find the marker any more. I'm uninstalling -- not worth killing a half-hour of my life to try to figure out a complex interface...for a HIGHLIGHTER.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.09020400). 

multicolored marker Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wired-Marker has truly been helpful for research and writing. With the highlighting functionality in the foreground, and the scrapbook aspect hidden in the background, basically there is just you with a piece of paper there in front of you, and a multicolored marker in your hand. With the file cabinet off to the side, so to speak. After you have marked up your sources, they are easily accessed by a pull-down menu.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0.08120302). 

Very Difficult and Unintuitive Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I found this Add-on VERY Unintuitive and awkward to use! Documentation is not User Friendly. Not worth the time to install. I have removed it!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0.08120302). 

Functionality was just what I wanted Rated 3 out of 5 stars

The extension does what you want it to do: makes persistent highlight marks on pages you visit. It also does a load of stuff you don't want it to do, some of which I haven't been able to figure out because the preferences panels are extremely confusing and poorly written. It would be better if it was cleaned up to be simpler, but it's useful as it is!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0.08120302). 

A way to sync Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just wanted to let people know that I've found a hack to sync my highlighted notes across machines.

I teach and I write, and wired-marker has been an invaluable tool. However, I've had different things tagged across my laptop and desktop computers, which was a hassle.

I recently started using Dropbox (on Ubuntu), and figured out a way to sync all my notes. Caveat: This may only work for Linux -- YMMV.

First: Make sure you have the notes/tags/highlights the same on both machines, before you start anything. You'll need a clean single set of tags/highlights/etc. to make this work.

Second: Move them into a new database.

Third: With FF off, move the WiredMarker folder in your firefox user profile to a directory in your Dropbox. I made a hidden folder in Dropbox and put the entire WiredMarker directory in there.

Fourth: Make a link for that directory, and place the link back where the original directory was in your firefox profile. The link should be pointing back to the WiredMarker directory that now resides in your Dropbox directory.

Fifth: Open firefox and make the new database you created -- not the local one -- your default. Just go to WiredMarker - Settings - Database and Unuse the one that says "Local folder" and use the new one, whatever it's called.

Sixth: Make sure all the machines you use WiredMarker on are using the database in Dropbox: WiredMarker - Settings - Database - Add. when it brings up the options, choose "No, use existing data file," and choose the database that's in the WiredMarker directory found inside your Dropbox directory.

Now whenever you tag or highlight something on one machine, it's automatically synced with your other machines that are Dropbox enabled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0.08120302). 

THANK YOU Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good stuff. really thankful for the designers.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Very useful tool! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful tool if you have to sift through a multitude of different web pages, locate snippets of useful information hidden within them and sort links to these snippets into categories according to their relevance / topic price range / you name it.

What I'd love to see in future updates:
- shortcuts for quickmarking (this right-click, contextual menu thing gets rather tiresome if you have to process tens of snippets a day)
- optional synchronization with my other computers
- possibility of ordering the items within a folder (drag-and-dropping an already existing Wired-Marker bookmark to the desired position in the list didn't work for me)
- possibility of sending my Wired-Marker bookmarks to my friends
- possibility of bookmarking a non-continuous section of a text as one bookmark

I really love the add-on and have to say it looks great, too!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A great extension. Highly reccomended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Great tool, but could be better Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for the great tool, though I'm not sure I'll ever get used to the idea of associating folders with specific marker pattern. Right now, marked paragraphs on the same page would be filed under different folders if you want to mark them with different colors. Rarely do I want that.

Some suggestions:

1. easier quick marking: allowing keyboard shortcuts for quickly filing into specific folder would be great.

2. integrating with FF3 bookmark system: I'm not sure it can be done, but it would be much better if Wired-Marker could be incorporated with FF's bookmark system, so when I click on a bookmark item in FF, a submenu would list all the highlighted parts on that page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

extensión que nos permite resaltar texto de una web con colores colores,a modo de rotulador fluorescente.
El texto resaltado se guarda como un marcador, de esta manera lo tenemos a mano para cuando lo necesitemos, con un boton en la barra de herramientas o en la barra de menú o menú contextual.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

not easy to deploy Rated 2 out of 5 stars

totally not sweet at all.

untuitive interface and instructions, unable to use it even trying to figure it out for a whole ten min.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Wired-Marker is a must... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Been using on another laptop for past couple of weeks;
LOVING IT!!! Should be included in Fx 3.0.2 update...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Wired-Marker is a must... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Been using on another laptop for past couple of weeks;
LOVING IT!!! Should be included in Fx 3.0.2 update...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Wired-Marker is a must... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Been using on another laptop for past couple of weeks;
LOVING IT!!! SRhould be included in Fx 3.0.2 update...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Now the template works for me. It is superb! You can use it in combination with or as an powerful scrapbook. Many thanks to the Wire-Marker team. Hope to see more improvement in the future with more new functions.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It would be handy if we could mail / suggest / share anyway with friends the highlighted version.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.08072400).