Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Easy to use. Lots of settings. Useful documentations on the author's website.

Would be great to be able to edit the highlight colors. I would be happy to contribute testing for that new feature.

Great idea, could incorporate into x-marks? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

My work requires reading many scientific & engineering papers; this add-on essentially allows me to treat online articles as PDF papers, by allowing commented highlighting.

The only tangible improvement, IMO, would be to find a way to export/serialize the bookmarks into a quick script, and allow easy exports.

As previously mentioned, Google support or even X-Marks would be ideal, but synching could honestly be as simple as copying a flat-file of entries into foreign profile directories.

Useful, But It Can't Output Highlighted Pages Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've been using Wired-Marker for a few months. It's very useful for doing research. Most of the features work adequately. However, it's not possible to output (export) a page with highlighting, for use outside of a browser.

There are two output options: output with tags or output without tags. I would like to output without the tags since I just want to see the highlighting on the page.

I have tried every option in the output dialog box to get this feature to work. The save file window appears so you can save the file. After that, nothing happens. The file is not saved to the hard drive. Using Firefox's "Save Page As" feature doesn't work either because it doesn't produce a single page with highlights using 'HTML only' as the save option.

This add-on would be better if it could actually export the highlighted pages, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

Arghh Rated 3 out of 5 stars

My brain is very scrambled, so sometime I highlight crap and change my mind. But with this I can't delete it. Why??

Also, this is so difficult to use at first. I mean, can't programmers speak English? But that's not my main concern. So yeah.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Useful tool but it has a heavy performance draw; when you highlight something it causes firefox to practically lock up for almost a complete minute before firefox starts working again.

When you highlight something and tell it to use a colour to highlight it, it makes you do some sort of registering with it, and as far as I'm concerned you shouldn't have to register anything, just colour over the selected text is fine.

All in all, this program would be great if these aforementioned things would get fixed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11092200). 

Please disable auto-cache function

Please disable auto-cache function for first issue.

FAQ > “Firefox becomes slow in action after highlighting marker.”
http://www.wired-marker.org/en/faq.html

I cannot understand the second issue well. Would you describe more detail and send an e-mail to wiredmarker(at)bits.cc?

Great product and fantastic service support!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wired Marker is a great product. It is extremely easy to use and very well conceptualized. If you have ever visited a page twice and had to re-read the whole text in order to find THAT ONE LINE, Wire Marker is the product for you! Just highlight stuff that you feel is important and it will be there whenever you revisit the page.

In my earlier post I had mentioned that the current version is buggy (see my earlier post for details). Well, it turns out that the problem is limited to Windows Vista systems only.

Nevertheless, the developers are working to get the problem solved and I am promised that future updates will take care of the problem. Meanwhile, Vista users should install the app from http://www.wired-marker.org/en/wired-marker.xpi

That said, I would like to put in a word for the excellent service BITS Co., Ltd. provides its users. The developers are extremely supportive and reached out to solve my problem almost immediately. They were quick to return with answers and never kept me waiting for long. Finally they provided a fix for the bug that sorted out the issue completely!

5 stars for the service and another five for the product!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11062300).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Good. But fatal error. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Useful add-on.
But, when Pop-up window (through Javascript 'Windows.open' ) is opened, this add-on shows below error.

"bitsMarkingCollection.init():TypeError: this.gBrowser.browsers[i] is undefined"

It is critical error, so I can not this add-on. :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11022100). 

Compatible issue between add-ons

This error massage may be caused by the compatible issue between add-ons.

Please confirm that Wired-Marker works well or not when you enable Wired-Marker only in your add-ons.

If the problem will not be solved, please let us know.
e-mail: wiredmarker(at)bits.cc

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on. It is extremely useful but you have to set up a shortcut to make highlighting job easier.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11022100). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With 2 or more web pages opened, if Firefox restarts, Context Bookmarks will bring errors to Wired-Marker, popping-up an error window and causing Wired-Marker disappear from Menu Bar and Tools menu.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11022100). 

Yes! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very, _very_ glad to have Wired-Marker and its "web page highlight" capability again, here on Firefox 4! Thanks much! It's one of the two extensions I use the most. So simple and easy to use! This is one feature that keeps me from seriously considering an iPad (it'll have to support FF, like Motorola Xoom). I leave highlights all over the web. And can even highlight on ScrapBook'ed web pages (my other favorite extension) so I never lose them.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11022100). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Regarding my previous review: after reading more of the docs and
playing around, the disk space for the storage of documents can be
reduced. For this the "Auto cache" function in the setup can be
switched off, and it is also possible to remove specific entries, which
may be entire web pages(!), thus saving significantly on space.

Note that is is possible to save web clips, too! This would aleviate
the need to install a web clipping tool while getting the bookmarking
feature of wire-mark for free.

I'm using wire-mark for less than a day now and it has already proven to
be very useful! So I'll give it 5/5 points this time (if AMO lets me,
that is).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on. Especially when somebody does some research for a topic, it's a great way to collect little bits of information and relevant figures. But i would be very much grateful if you can make an option to summarize the whole data in a single word file or a notebook. Now i have to copy and paste all selected parts separately in a word file to get the gist. Please make an option so that all data can be collected in one file.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Love the fact that it's permanent. But, is there an English version for those of us who aren't computer programmers? lol. Whew, that's got to be one of the most complicated set of instructions I've ever read, for any of my add-ons.
I just starting using it, but do wish that developers would realize that a lot of us users would like their add-ons to be simpler to understand/use.
For that difficulty, I can only give it 4 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this is an amazing extension! please I beg you, make it available for firefox 4 beta too!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

limited function. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

it just works well in a default colour background; otherwise, it is not available. So, there should has an option for users to choose their background.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've had Wired Marker in place for some time, but it was not until last evening that I used it to any extent. Problem was, when I went back this morning to the pages on the net that I had highlighted, the highlighting had disappeared! What's the problem?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Please use the cache function.

Wired-Marker analyzes the structure of the web page, and store the position you have highlighted.
It seems that the web page updated and structure was changed.
In this case, Wired-Marker can’t go back to the highlighted place, so please use the cache function.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've just downloaded this and it's great and all, but I have this as a small net book, small net book means small screen and I can't see the bottom of the settings menu pop up box, I hope that in a future update, there will be a scroll function so that I can pick at the settings.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Awesome!!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so so much. It's amazing.
For those, who cannot find the guide document, just go to http://www.wired-marker.org to get what you want.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Great! very useful...Only please make the colors lighter! they are very dark I cannot use them.
Option to choose your own colors is good.
Shortcuts would be great (like right click of mouse _ number for a color)
Sync would be good too.
Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This MIGHT be a valuable add-on, but the vast majority of us will never know, because:
1) the add-on is not in the slightest intuitive;
2) despite some seventy-twelve menu options there is no help file to be found anywhere; and
3) the home page link points to a Chinese language site which doesn't provide much illumination for users who don't read Chinese.
Other than that, though, this add-on is really useful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.6.10021200). 

English web page and tutorial are available.

English web page is here.
http://www.wired-marker.org/en/

And tutorial web pages are available.
http://www.wired-marker.org/en/help.html

Thank you,