Indispensable tool for research. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thx to the developer for bringing it back to life! Highlighting useful, or difficult-to-locate, text in long web pages is a significant time-saver - especially on revisiting weeks or months later.

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Very good idea Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works really well, great addon, but the user interface should be make more simple and more: intuitive, because it's very complicated. I hope it would be possible in the future to sync with a cloud, and post the bookmark on bookmarking services.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.17042100). 

List View Doesn't Work Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Great addon, but "list view" doesn't work, so that means there's no good way to summarize highlights, "subject index" is not good... Any way to make "list view" work?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.17042100). 

Glad it's working again Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I can now recommend this addon again for marking where you have read up to on a page. It's working for Firefox 53.0.2 again so thanks to the dev for fixing it again.

I think it could be streamlined a bit more so that you can create the markers more easily. At the moment I'm doing a right click > wired marker > marker > select marker colour which is a bit slow. Perhaps "Highlight text > Click toolbar button > Select colour" would be easier. I tried to use the toolbar button but could not find a way to create the markers using it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.17042100).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

A precious add-on!!! I hope will continue working in the future Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Many thanks to developer, for this update. I thought it was the end with FF 51.0. I use the Wired-Marker for years and I have marked a lot of pages for my work. Almost every day I am going back to my markers and notes I have add to every page. Now I will try to save some of my work before I will lost everything of my notes. But the best is, if you find a way for Wired-Marker to continue work after FF 57.0 . I wish!!

Any way, thank you again

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.17042100). 

Thanks to the developer Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Many thanks to the developer for providing this much required & requested update to support FF versions greater than 51.0. Finally able to upgrade my version of FF.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.17042100).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

So much great web marker tool Rated 4 out of 5 stars

it's not too much praise this tool. During the last one year, it gived me so much superise and help. thanks to all of the professional developers!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.17042100). 

Wired-Marker updates for FF52 or later Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Dear Customers,

Thank you for using Wired-Marker.
You can download newer version of Wired-Marker that work with FF52 or later.
http://www.wired-marker.org/en/download.html

But this add-on file (xpi) is not signed now, it works with only developer / ESR version of Firefox under e10s disabled and xpinstall.signatures.required set disable condition.
(This version of xpi have already submitted to Mozilla add-ons. But its queue position is 241 of 276, now. So I think it will take 50days or so to be signed and released on Mozilla add-ons site.)

And this update is tentative (just fixed for current problem).
Wired-Marker is a kind of so-called "Legacy Add-ons", and it will not work with FF57 or later, completely.
Please read Mozilla Add-ons Blog for detail. (https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2017/02/16/the-road-to-firefox-57-compatibility-milestones/)

Best

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Worked flawlessly till FF v.51. Request the developer to either update it or make it open-source so that the we can update it Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This was one of the most useful (kinda indispensable) add-on that I had ever come across and it worked flawlessly, until FF v.52 came along.
Not sure whether the developer has any plans to update it but it would be great if they can do so. I wouldn't mind paying for the license either.
Another good idea would be to put the code up on github and make the software open-source. Many of us would be willing/able to make the upgrade.

Right now, I'm forced to revert FF to v.51.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Very useful plugin, but please port to FF 52+ Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This plugin is so useful to me I downgraded Firefox to 50.1.0 (though 51.x should work too), blocked Firefox updates, and installed an old version of this plugin to be able to continue to use it. Would be 5* but I took one away because it's not yet available for the latest FF.

For folks that upgraded and want to get back, install FF <= 51.x. Then to install the prior WiredMarker version, click "Version Information -> Complete Version History" below and click a link for the prior Wired-Marker version.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

What's the last version of FF that this work with? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I just upgraded to what I thought was 51, but Moz did an upgrade to 52 instead and now the plugin isn't working.

Is this working with 51?

For the record, this is a 6 stars out of 5 product when it's working (I might even say 11 stars out of 5). It's truly that amazing. As a physician and researcher I love this tool and cannot imaging being without it.

Unfortunately, over the past several years it has become more and more unreliable, likely because of the cost to update.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

Not working in Firefox version 52. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It is not working in Firefox version 52 and apparently neither the developer nor Mozilla will fix the problem. So sad. Nor have I been able to get the other text highlighter add-ons to work with Firefox 52, at least those with available keyboard commands and are persistently saved and do not require you to submit your highlighting data to some online database and thus sacrificing your privacy.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

So Disappointing that it is not going to be updated Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It is so Disappointing that it is not going to be updated for FF 52.

Something as useful as this should be builtin FF feature instead of an add-on.

I don't understand why I can't have this feature as part of the Bookmarks tab by default.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Refusal to update? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

There are an overwhelming number of positive reviews for this Add-On, and requests to make it compatible with FF 52. However the developer claims doing so is cost prohibitive without mentioning donations could change their viewpoint. What is the real reason compatibility isn’t being pursued?

Before using this marker we used others. All had insurmountable problems until we found this one. Truth be said, it’s always a bit suspicious when statements that embarrass the wrong people get enclosed in quotes, but the ability to do so in futurity is made unavailable.

The 1-star rating is based solely on BITS Co., Ltd’s refusal to update.

------------
Addendum 1:

I discovered a link that might bring back this Add-On by contacting:

https://mail.mozilla.org/listinfo/dev-addons

Suggestions, such as those made by others, disappointed by the failure of BITS Co., Ltd. &amp; Prof. Okubo’s statement to continue to make this app available to include it as part of FF 52+, is an excellent idea. If Mozilla responds please provide their response.

If Mozilla's response is negative to the suggestion, please provide their reason. Who else would be better able to develop this, particularly if Bits Co. releases the code to them and Bits apparently has no further interest in developing it. Perhaps there would even be enough members to assist Mozilla with any financing that may be needed for a transfer. Most know that this was the way Microsoft, and others, grew to become so dominant, by buying out other companies. Wired-Marker, as a permanent Add-ON, would insure its continuance and its popularity would undoubtedly attract other users to FF.

The results, either way, would be quite interesting, to say the least. If this violates Mozilla's by-laws in some way, I guess we have no alternatives.

Addendum 2:

We are looking at another Add-On highlighter with a similar name, “Web Marker”. The comments on this go back to 2007, just as is the case with Wired-Marker. Web Marker precedes it by about 6 months in terms of comments.

Web Marker supposedly allows highlights to be shared across the Internet. (?) To some extent this could compensate for any possible disappearance of the Add-On. Does anyone have any experience using Web Marker?

The problem with all these highlighters is that they work for awhile, along comes a FF update and they cease to function, thereby destroying previous history. Supposedly users’ issues on that point are to be addressed, but all of that is in a “Beta test” category. This could allow the porting over to subsequent FF release Add-On’s where incompatibility has not as yet been addressed. See the relevant Mozilla Blog on this.

Mozilla just steam-rolls over their Add-On developers with no concerns whether incompatibility destroys their developers Add-On’s as well as adversely impacting users.

So far Web Marker has no user incompatibility statements with FF 52 within comments.

Web Marker was last updated: February 15, 2012 (FF 52?)

Wired-Marker was last updated: December 6, 2011. FF Add-On statement for Wired-Marker says: Works with Firefox 52.0 (Apparently this is not true according to users and the developer)

One problem we see with the comments section is that it appears only developers are able to respond to other users. If you have any comments to us you’ll have to do a separate post and reference ours.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rolled back FF to 51 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I let Mozilla know that Wired Marker was more important to me than FF52. Used System Restore to roll back FF and blocked the updates. It was horrible to start up FF52 and see years worth of markers disappeared

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

Compatibility Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Please make this to work with FF 52. I use this a lot. Really useful addon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

It doesn't function! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This addon is useless. It's not working at all.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

The only addon in this category, but... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It's a shame, i LOVE this addon and couldn't surf the web without it... but it's broken now! Please, oh please, any solution??

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

I love it, can't use it: makes FF crash Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Uses too much memory or something, But evrytime I enable this extension, I keeep getting higher CPU loas, Firefox eats double memory. 3 thigs could happen if enabled: 1- I start firefox, imediately crashes for no reason. Keeps doing it. Only solution, restart PC. 2 - Firefox starts eating a lot of memory, I get double memory usage ONLY when this extension is enabled. 3 - Double CPU load, very, very quickly. If I don't check Task Manager or my Temp app, the PC will shutdown for ovrheaing. This is not a problem of Profile (tested it on a new profile, same results), nor is a PC problem - it happens on my Desktop PC W7 might be a little old, but it is well refrigerated, has lots of memory - but also happens on my laptop running W8.1 wich is a high en laptop, tons of memory and Core 7 processor (by the way, this laptop has a tiny amount of apps installed) So the problem is: the extension. Memory and CPU HOG. It is very sad, there is no other extension as good and complete like this, but can't use it. I sicerely hope tha the developer takes this into account, the problem gets worse with every new FF update. (by the way, also tried deleting a lot of notes and markers, no change). Please, this add on is a gem, do try to look into this problem..?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed). 

Errors in Firefox Developer Edition Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Two errors at startup of Firefox:

bitsMarkingCollection.init():TypeError: doc.defaultView.addEventListener is not a function
bitsArticleNavigation.init():TypeError: this.docShell is null

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11120600.1-signed.1-signed).