very useful to stay informed Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I'm using the add-on for years and find it very useful. It informs me when something changes on a watched web page, that does neither offer e-mail notification nor RSS feeds. I use it for bug reports in blog comments, meeting agendas, news pages of tools or products or corporates, for change logs, ...

Overall it works really great, just on a few pages, I notice the limitations, e.g. pages like Google Play etc. containing "latest headlines", "reviews" or the like (you can't tell which parts of the page shall be ignored, and the amount of changed text varies massively).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, that`s great

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Can we specify what text to scan? I mean, if I'm waiting for the phrase "question open" to appear... I need a notification only if that phrase appear on the page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

That's a great program software!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

How can I export list of web-pages in this add-on options - to import it on another computer?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Pretty good but needs refining Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I like it but it doesn't seem to pick up when an image changes, my example was an image that was replaced by another image of the same dimensions. Change threshold was set on lowest

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Freezing my Computer Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I agree.
GREAT program. But lately it is not worth it.
Something changed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

pretty good......but lately Rated 4 out of 5 stars

i use this addon every day.
for the most part it's very useful.

but lately some of the pages i'm +watching freeze when i pull them up with this addon.

is anyone else having this problem?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks friend good extension
manuel back up prefence how ?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Does what it says on the tin, but... Rated 2 out of 5 stars

...unfortunately any page with *any* kind of feed on it will return an updated status, even if the content itself has stayed the same.

What would make this tool actually useful would be to specify a content area of a page to monitor, which would be done easily either visually using a click, or by manually typing in ID or CSS selector of the element to monitor.

Great job, though needs more development to make it actually useful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

a very good add-on.
had to disable javascript and flash in the options, otherwise it froze.
but other than that it works great

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this add-on is great but i need two other features in it.
first of all i think it should have an option for ignoring omissions.
secondly i need to check a site every minute or less. the add-on only allows me to automatically check the site every 5 minutes

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Timing is Critical Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is one of my three or four most valuable add-ons, but I would like to see at least one modification. I monitor close to 100 software web sites; when I run a manual scan of all 100 sites, it is very annoying to then get a notification just minutes later announcing updates of those same sites based on the autoscan timer. Is there some way to reset the autoscan clock after *manual* scans and not just autoscans?

An example to clarify: if autoscan is set to run, say, at 7:00 but I run a manual scan 15 minutes earlier at 6:45, I don't really need to see another autoscan notification again at 7:00. If I have set autoscan to check every 6 hours, I don't need to see results again until 12:45 (6:45 manual scan + 6 hours). No big deal with just one site, but multiply that by 100 and the number of extraneous notifications becomes almost overwhelming. Resetting the timer based on the latest auto scan *or* the latest manual scan would be very helpful.

Another possibility: allow users to specify the precise time of the next autorun with the specified time interval to take effect after that.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Sehr gute Erweiterung um über Inhaltsänderungen beliebiger Webseiten auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben, ohne diese Seiten ständig besuchen zu müssen.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

A BUG? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It‘s a good extension and I have used it for a year.But recently I used it in a new laptop and find a problem in some pages monitored.when the page changed,the changed text is yellowed well,but the changed page is not alerted and overstriked at all,though the latest changed is colored....

How can I fix it?or am I set the extension wrong?Need a help,thank you very much!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I concur with Fred Flintstone's assessment of this add-on. I've been periodically checking this page for YEARS now, hoping to find an update containing the ability to specify a check region so I can finally ditch WebMon (an old, abandoned Windows app that does exactly what we need, but lacks HTTPS support), but no such luck as of yet. You've got a potential must-have add-on here, sneakypete -- how's about taking it to the next level for power users like Fred and I?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Could be better ... Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Update Scanner would be much better if it were possible to select a portion of the page to scan, rather than selecting the number of characters in the page that must change before it notifies the user. The problem with detecting the "number of characters that have changed" is that I get far too many false positives, because the part of the page I want to check may not change, but other parts have changed so it notifies me about those other changes ... which I could not care less about!

Check4Change 'correctly' detects changes only in the portion of the page that you select, so in this respect it is a better tool than Update Scanner. Unfortunately Check4Change does not remember to check pages when their tabs are closed, nor does it remember to check them again after a restart, so it fails miserably on these points, thus making it useless to me.

I need a tool that checks my pre-defined pages reliably whenever the browser is open. The ideal solution for my needs would be a tool that remembers to check for changes any time the browser is running, and it would check only in the specific part of the page that I specify -- such as the price on a product page for example. Then I could use it to automatically check any price on any web page, and when that price changes I would be alerted automatically.

The person who combines the capabilities of Check4Change and Update Scanner will have a winner. But as it is now (April 03, 2013) both of these addons fail to provide what I need most.

At least Update Scanner works after a restart and when my pages are not open in tabs, so that's why I continue to use it instead of Check4Change ... but with all the false positives it is frustrating to deal with to say the least.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great! Very useful function-I have no icon in toolbar and toolbar menu, is it a bug in FF20?-What about adding Rss? I'm dreaming for sure. Only one plug-in instead both, Simple stuff?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great plugin! But how can I make it scan more often than every 5th minute? I need at least every 1 minute.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Few ideas on how to make this extension better Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is an amazing addon. The only things that would make it better off the top of my head is if the blue arrow icon blinked continuously when sites are updated and if all the sites that are in the list are updated at once instead of being apart by minutes since having many notifications of site updates becomes a little annoying after a while.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12).