How to run on newer versions of Firefox - for beginners Rated 5 out of 5 stars

1. Click on the "Add-On Homepage" link at left.

2. Click on the Download link.

3. Right-click on "Download Latest Version (via HTTPS, GitHub), select "Save Link As", and save it.

This will save a file called tabkiller.xpi on your computer. It's a .zip file but your system probably won't recognize it as one due to the extension. You'll have to open the archive using your favorite unzipping program. I recommend 7zip as it is excellent and free.

4. Once you've opened the archive you should see that it contains two folders, a file called chrome.manifest and a file called install.rdf. Open install.rdf using Notepad.

5. Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the text. In the last section you should see a line that says "em:maxVersion="3.7a1pre". Change the "3.7a1pre" to the Firefox version number that you want to use. You probably want to pad it out a little since Mozilla is updating so often. Otherwise you'll just have to do this again later. I used "em:maxVersion="50.0".

6. Save this file. Your archiving program should inform you that the file has been updated and ask you if you want to update the archive as well. Say yes.

7. Run Firefox and click on "File", then "Open File". Select tabkiller.xpi, and it should install normally.

how to make it compatible with latest Firefox Rated 5 out of 5 stars

to make this add-on compatible with latest firefox you just need to modify install.rdf file on the add-on package

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Check out the new tabbed browsing add-on collection, Tabbed Browsing Boost! One of its many add-ons is Tab Killer!

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/collection/tabbed_browsing_boost

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009110201). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on, but the latest version isn't here for some reason. A Firefox 3.6-ready version is here:

http://piro.sakura.ne.jp/xul/_tabkiller.html.en#download

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009110201). 

Tabs are stupid Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you. Tabs waste valuable screen space just to duplicate task bar functionality, and a bunch of Firefox functions are still stupidly hard-coded to use tabs even when I've disabled them in every possible place.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009110201). 

There is an update for 3.5.2 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Looks like there is indeed a new version compatible with FF 3.5.2, at this URL:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addons/versions/1938

Why was this not noted on this page?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

Please update for 3.5 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Please update this so it works with Firefox 3.5! Right now there is no way to stop the tabs. Firefox is the best browser because it is customizable, but right now it is not, in this case.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

love Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I don't like TAB. because I can Alt-TAB, I can live view thumbnail in task bar.

I open only 10 windows max.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I really liked it. Worked as expected. I find tabs to be annoying. Needs update to work with FF 3.5.1
THREE STARS IS BECAUSE IT IS USELESS NOW THAT I have FF 3.5.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

tabs with dial-up?????? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

there r those of us(or at least me) who live in the boonies and broadband cable is slow 2 arrive. Loading multiple pages over dial-up is infintely slow...

THANK YOU for the option to disable tabs.

The trial version seems to be working fine for now and i will be glad when the official version is released

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Una buena opción para quienes no se acostumbran a la característica de pestañas.
Aunque yo ya me volví dependiente de ellas, creo que algunas personas les va a ser muy útil quitarlas.

Y lo mejor es que es compatible con FF 1.0!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

Love it, but there's a bug... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Granted, the bug is in FF 1.5 (haven't tried 3), if FF is the default browser and another application opens a browser window, a super-minimized window opens along with your browser window.

Otherwise, I do like it. To those of you who say it's useless, keep in mind that not all of us like tabbed browsing. I like the multiple stimuli, I function much better with it. I'm perfectly able to focus only on the windows I'm concerned with at any given time. Not to mention if you ever have to describe something in another window, or copy text from an image or video, you need a windowed interface.
I really do appreciate this effort. With Firefox overtaking IE in popularity I feel us window-style browsers will eventually be left out in the cold.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2009050701). 

Huh? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I am sure this works, but who would want to remove tabs?

Doesn't remove the final separator at the bottom of each bookmark toolbar menu Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Otherwise it works just like older version.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great - a much needed hack for those of us who need the freedom and flexibility that multiple-window browsing offers. (Such as viewing pages side-by-side, flipping between many windows with Alt-Tab, etc.) Tab Killer is the only game in town, for what should have been a simple checkbox in Firefox (like it is in IE7).

Only problem - when closing a Firefox window (3.05), the tab bar on all other open Firefox windows flashes momentarily. Perhaps a fix is due?

Otherwise, Tab Killer is a terrific and essential extension!

Great addon - but broken with FF3 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

By default Firefox ignores the user setting to use windows only, and instead uses tabs for... update info, addon info, and restoring websites after a crash.

This is a handy addon for anyone that dislikes tabs and prefers windows. I myself wouldn't mind tabs, except that... they're not next to the task bar, and the close buttons are harder to click - especially when dealing with 80+ tabs.

Unfortunately, this addon broke with Firefox 3. Some websites(such as www.notebookforum.at ) will begin generating dozens of error messages per second after closing them. I have observed the same behaviour with some popup windows. The errors slow firefox down, forcing you to restart it after visiting such sites.

I look forward to the next version. Hopefully it will fix this issue.


Error: uncaught exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE) [nsIScrollBoxObject.scrollBy]" nsresult: "0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://global/content/bindings/scrollbox.xml :: processFrame :: line 185" data: no]

pointless Rated 1 out of 5 stars

this has got to be the most useless addon ever. its not even an addon, its a take away. i used to hate tabs and preferred the extra windows and taskbar but not i find that tabs are much more practical, especially since i use a lot. but even still if you have such a problem with tabs, its simple. DONT USE THEM. what kind of logic is that? " i hate tabs so im glad this addon takes them away". uh... you could just not use them or even disable the tab bar altogether. pointless.

Cracking bit of kit Gromit Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I hate tabs, always have, always will. Like many others I use the taskbar to take care of what windows I have open.
This is simple, easy and thus far, clean - exactly what I need.
P.S. For those who love tabs - MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS.
What are you doing looking at an add-on called tab killer for anyway?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love it....

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I love the idea of this extension, and dislike using tabs instead of windows to manage my browsing (why duplicate the functions of the taskbar?). I also use a lot of Firefox add-ons, so it took me a while to figure out that this was the one that was causing an extra blank window to open whenever I clicked on a link in and email message displayed in Kmail. I'm not sure how far this problem extends, and if you don't have it, this may be just what you're looking for.