It’s not working, and the icons are on the left... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hey, this is a great extension! I have it working on my Mac laptop, but it isn’t working on my Mac desktop. Both run Snow Leopard.1) The icons shift to the left instead of staying on the right.2) The hover-over-links text never appears in the progress bar, no matter what I select in the add-on preferences. It does appear in the Location Bar if I select one of the two options that makes it appear there.I don’t have the laptop here right now, but I know I installed the plugin on the laptop before I did the desktop. Maybe something regressed in this latest version?

EDIT: I meant that the link destinations don’t show in the status text item, no matter what options I choose in the Status-4-Evar preferences.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

1. Customize the toolbar and drag the items to the left of the icons.
2. There has never been an option to show hovered links in the progress bar item. The only options are to show them in the status text item or in the location bar.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Awesome addon, saved me the trouble of making it for myself!
2 bugs:
1 - The progress bar isn't hidden after loading is complete. This was the behaviour of the old status bar.
2 - Wasn't added automatically at install for me; of course it was a simple matter of right-clicking the addon bar and using Customize... to drag elements on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

There is an option in the extension preference to control if the progress bar item is hidden or not. By default, it should be hidden.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Feature request: restore find bar so that it is integrated with the addon/status bar and not on top.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Brilliant, thank you. (glitch) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, dude. Really wanted this. Nice also to find that your add-on allowed for placing the status text in the location bar.
To reproduce glitch:
1) Have more than one open tab. 2) Move cursor off-window. 3) Load or reload a webpage. 4) Let it finish loading so status reads "Done". 5) Use keyboard shortcut to switch tabs. 6) Notice the favicon changes according to active tab, but url text is frozen, unless you hover over a link or switch to a tab with status bar text activity. B) If the "Clear the status after... seconds" is on, and you wait for the status text to clear, the fake url will fade away along with it. C) Also, if you edit the url, the status text disappears and doesn't come back by itself when you finish editing.
Using version 2010.11.20.19 on ff4.0b7. Five stars anyways, coz this is a must have.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

The problem with the location bar not changing when switching tabs has been fixed for Firefox 4.0 beta 8.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great work. Also it works as a first replacement for the discontinued fission addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

The progress bar color Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I don't know if it's the intentional behavior: I change the color to a blue, if I don't check "also apply style to the toolbar item", the color doesn't apply. If checked, the color applies, but is rather a dull color, not the glossy WIN7 green color.

And the "show tab progress bar on: " menu is gray and disabled.

The extension itself is a 5-star, I just want to figure out how to use the new features.

Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This was great... until the 18 Nov update. The gripper looks like an unwanted artefact - I thought it was a bug at first.

More important: the download remaining time is not displayed any more. It's a tooltip, which makes it very inconvenient in my opinion.

Thank you for a great addon though. I hope you reconsider the points I made...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21). 

This is great! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

No status bar? Really? Mousing over hyperlinks at the bottom of the screen while scrolling down a webpage and having to look up at the address bar was a huge pain pain these last few days. I was close to switching to IE (gasp!) until this was fixed.

Then I thought about searching for "status bar" in the FF add-ons. Status-4-Evar to the rescue! This add-on is the best!! (Although, I suspect that future releases of FF 4.0b will bring the status bar back, but for now, this add-in is a TREMENDOUS help.)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21). 

I am happy Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I missed it so much. FF without the StatusBar? Never!!! Now I am happy again. Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21). 

Excellent Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent add-on. Restores crucial functionality that the Firefox developers abandoned in what must have been a moment of madness. Thank you, Bluefang, for making FF4 usable again!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Looks like crap Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This may be fine on a PC but on the Mac it looks like somebody slapped a piece of grey tape across the bottom. What happened to the sizing indicator on the lower right and the subtle shading that makes it look like it's actually part of the browser? The thin black divider line that used to be there I can live without, even the shading, but not the resize icon. Basically, it looks like what it is: an add-on. It should look like like an integrated part of the browser like everything on the top does. Having said all this thanks for at least doing something. 4.0b6 should have been the final.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

I'm not styling the Add-on Bar toolbar itself. That's all Firefox. Disable the extension and see for your self.
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=489303
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=601304
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=609559
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=599215

Don't blame the extension for things that aren't its fault.

null Rated 5 out of 5 stars

editing previous review instead of doubling

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Great solution to a huge UI fail Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works perfectly to fix the stupid lack of a status bar in FF4 - I really was just about to give up trying to use it at all.

Now, instead of mouse-overing a link, waiting half a second, trying to read the really small gray-on-white text in the address bar and then wondering what the other two-thirds of actual URL are, it's just there in black at the bottom where it used it be. Win.

Now if it could actually prevent the address bar from trying to show the link target and just being distracting, then it really would be perfect :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent! :-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Succeeded Rescue Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this addon. I can't believe Mozilla kicked out the status bar. It seems they want their browser for amateurs only. "Dear Power Users: Thanks for making Firefox popular and big, but now we don't need you anymore". Good there's a community which admits first aid and keep practiced features.

I also like the ability to set a progress bar to te background of the url-bar and the other extra options. So there's no need for Fission anymore.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Aha, that was it. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

So I'd posted earlier that the plugin wasn't working - the trick was right-clicking on the Add-ons bar, hitting "customize" and dragging each widget down manually. However, it doesn't add the little progress indicator to the status bar like it's supposed to.

This (the fact that the options didn't show up by default and status bar not changing) didn't happen on another system I use. I'm not sure what the difference is. The "working" one was Windows, and this one is Mac. But I wonder if the fact that I already had items in the add-on toolbar on the Mac meant that Status-4-Evar doesn't add by default (either due to a bug or intentionally so as not to reposition the other widgets).

Otherwise, works reasonably well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

This addon Is essential for safe browsing Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very Useful. One reason I use fire fox its it's ability to show links and prevent websites from trampling on them for fishing purposes. Is another another way to get the link addr information using the mouse, or if not with minimal keystrokes/effort?. Seems strange and very poor security practice to me to eliminate an way for users to check for fishing without providing easy to use replacement.

After I installed this addon I had to go in to customize my toolbars and drag status Item to add-on toolbar to get it to work. Possibly because I had a number of Items on status bar already.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Activated, but no status text Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Firstly: Thank you. I admire and appreciate the work of contributors to my favourite browser.

I've installed your add-on, activated it, and checked that I've chosen to display the hovered link in the status bar. But it doesn't display. The other items that had been shown at the bottom of the browser window (leet key, showip, no script and adblock+ (disabled)) show up happily, but---
* now they are aligned to the left hand side of the status bar
* and the hovered link doesn't appear, as I mentioned.

Your suggestions are welcome.

May I also suggest that the add-on, when installed, is activated by default? After all, I've chosen to download it because I want links displayed in the status bar. (It was poor thinking of the developers to remove it without allowing a roll-back.)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works great for me on mac beta 7. remember to show the add-on bar. if you still don't see anything, right click on the add-on bar and choose "customize", where you should see the status bar items that you can drag to the add-on bar.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's madness to remove the statusbar. Just make it an option then??? Madness I tell you.

Lukily there's this addon although it isn't really the same it feels and looks odd.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.10.20.02).