Solves multi-boot problem of differing path notations in different OSs Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great tool!

I use it to have a common download folder for the Firefoxes of several operating systems in a multi-boot setup.

Problem
The Firefox profile and the downloads folder are on a partition that is not each operating systems' partition, so that I have the same FF in every OS. Because Firefox of each OS saves the path to the download folder in the respective OS' style (see example below), FFs regular download folder cannot be set for all to the same folder. So the download folder is not accessible from everywhere and has to be re-set after using FF in an OS of a different family (Windows, Mac OS, Linux).

Solution
Use Save Link in Folder to set the download folders, once from each OS family's Firefox. You only need to do this once.

Example of the result in Save Link in Folder, for a triple-boot with Windows, Mac OS, Linux, and a partion for data:

Description | Path
Download folder on Datapartition, from Mac FF | /Volumes/<DataPartition>/Downloads
Download folder on Datapartition, from Windows FF | <DataPartitionLetter>:\\Downloads
Download folder on Datapartition, from Linux FF | /<MointPoint>/<DataPartition>/Downloads

Of course, each OSs native download folder can be chosen, too:
Download folder on Mac partition | /Users/<YourMacUserName>/Downloads
Download folder on Windows partition | C:\\Users\\<YourWindowsUserName>\\Downloads
Download folder on Linux partition | /home/<YourLinuxUserName>/Downloads

Also, you may set Save Link in Folder to hide folders with invalid path, but that is purely for the cleaner looks.

Thanks, Achim!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.14). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant extension, but the menu needs "sub menus" ! The menu gets too long too quickly and fills the screen.
Thanks for a useful addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.14). 

Save Link in Folder Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Подскажите, плиз, как работает этот плагин. Нажимаю на кнопку - открывается список папок для сохранения. Во втором плагине (Save Image) в открывающемся по правой кнопке меню есть пункт "Save Image to folder", а этот никакого пункта не создал. Что я сделала не так? Очень нужный плагин.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

1.5.12 being fixed, thanks, good for big folder.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.11).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

stil got some ploblem in 1.5.11 Rated 3 out of 5 stars

i'm using 18.0

1.5.11 - 'No reference to a file!'
Former versions - Like blisk18 says

i like and use this extention so much thanks for your keep develope this :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent addon but is now broken on Fx v18.0b4 and higher.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.9). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great idea. Has worked just fine in the past however now everytime I start my browser I get new tabs with the introduction message for every window that is open (when restoring a session). I also get it anytime I open a new window or starting from a fresh session (no restore). Please fix. It seems to work great otherwise. On Aurora channel, latest version - 12-12-03. This has been happening for some months now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.9). 

Perfect addon - one minor issue though... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One of the must-have can't-do-without addons I have installed.

Since I saw you updated it after a long time, I thought this is the perfect time to mention this issue I'm having since previous versions too. I'm trying to save .xpi files from addons.mozilla.org like I save files from other websites by right-clicking -> Save Link in Folder, but I get this error:

No reference to a file!

If I use the Save Link as... context menu item built in with firefox, the save as dialog pops up as normal and the file is saved. This though makes it impossible to save files from addons.mozilla.org using this addon. Can you please look into it? Thanx in advance.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Очень нужное дополнение. Спасибо разработчикам.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Useful

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.6). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a well-developed, robust firefox add-on. It does exactly what it says, and does it well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5). 

Download FF4 compatible Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Both Add-ons with FF4 compatibility http://rapidshare.com/files/454395313/savelinkimageinfolderFF4.zip

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2). 

Great plugin Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great plugins - using it for years. Not installable under FF4 until updated by author. However, if you cannot wait, get the newer plugins at the author's website and then modify the install.rdf file as mentioned in method 3 here:

www.techairlines.com/2010/01/16/force-install-incompatible-firefox-extensions/

Works for me

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon,does what it should do
- hotkey option would be great ( Ctrl + X )
- i dont know why but all browsers are bad at saveing pages -.-
- browsers should already have this fuction

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Muy recomendable. Todas las descargas pueden almacenarse en las carpetas de uso mas habitual en función del contenido

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Why doesn't it appear when I download a file?
What's the point of it if you can't?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Addon. Does what it should do after an update to 1.5.2 and FF 3.6.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for the update. Save as dialog works again in 1.5.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for the update. Save as dialog works again in 1.5.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1). 

download dialog Rated 1 out of 5 stars

please restore the integration in the download dialog

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1).