Rated 1 out of 5 stars

No option to add a feed, renders it useless.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

NO LO INSTALEN. Me desconfiguró todo, borró todas las pestañas abiertas e hizo de algunas páginas marcadores sin mi permiso.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

One of the best news readers!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2.1-signed). 

Needs manual update Rated 3 out of 5 stars

A fine reader, but for some reason options for updating feeds have been lost in recent versions. The ability to update feeds on demand or to schedule updates is far superior to the current default -- which is way too often.

This has become such a problem that I disable the Sage add-on until I need to use it.

Normally I'd give Sage 5 stars, but recent changes drop that down to 3. Still good, but no longer excellent.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2.1-signed). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Sage has for long been my favourite feed reader, being easy to use, functional and having a very nice layout.

Unfortunately, recently the feeds that come with sage are plagued with ads. Ads with video are completely unbearable when on a connection via the mobile phone, since they waste data for nothing and compelled me to remove sage.

On the same rss feeds other plugins (e.g. brief) do not show ads.

Is there any way to control ads including video?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.2.1-signed). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This still lacks the features I wanted as a feed reader.

Lacks of these 2 main feature of an RSS in my own opinion though:
1. Refresh manually (right click>context menu>refresh) and refresh based on a set interval (user-defined), very useful for a very limited internet quota users
2. Shows the number of unread feeds next to the icon (placed anywhere on the window be it on the menu bar or status bar or anywhere)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1.1-signed). 

What features are you looking for?

https://getsatisfaction.com/sagerss

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great extension. Wouldn't run Firefox without it. Easy to use, fast with just the features I need.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1.1-signed). 

nice rss reader Rated 3 out of 5 stars

can't update the feeds in FF 22,0 german

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.15.1-signed). 

Are you using the latest version of Sage?

http://sagerss.com

Very good, but you need the version from SageRSS.com Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A very good extension: Simple and clean, with no needless bells and whistles. The one downside is that Firefox updates break it every so often, such as Firefox 22, and it takes a while to update the version on addons.mozilla.org. However, the sageRSS.com works fine.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.15.1-signed). 

Sage 1.5.1 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great feed reader but the 'Check Feeds' does not work in my Firefox 22.0 UK so have to relaod Firefox ever time I need to update. Would help if the 'Check Feeds' skipped over feeds that it can't find i.e. a time out rather than get stuck.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.15.1-signed). 

Simple Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Fast and easy to use. Simply add RSS feeds to your bookmarks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.15.1-signed). 

Great extension, need to port to Chrome Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great extension, keeps with the theme of (R)eally (S)imple (S)yndication. Most RSS readers I see continue to add "features" until they become yet another example of bloated software.

The best part of Sage is that it uses the bookmarks to store the RSS feed links. This means any bookmark sharing process automatically shares the RSS feeds as well.

Supporting folders helps keep the feeds organized, yet another feature that is sadly lacking in almost every other RSS reader.

Lastly, no “account” is needed to store your feeds, meaning that some company cannot track your reading habits.

The ONLY fault is that this extension is not available on Chrome, which means I cannot read my RSS links with Chrome (I have not found a decent RSS reader for Chrome that doesn’t also require you to submit to their tracking).

WE NEED A CHROME VERSION!!!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.15.1-signed). 

decent, weak documentation Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Works well enough once you figure it out. Typical of software developers, the documentation for this add-on is sketchy. If you don't know a lot about the technology, you will be confused.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.14.1-signed). 

Indispensible! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Many thanks for the quick upgrade for FF40, Peter... can't imagine living without Sage :)
Now if only we could disable the auto-scan "feature", that would be awesome!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.14.1-signed). 

upgrading to latest firefox (20) breaks it Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I depend on this add-on. Upgraded to latest firefox, build 20 and it is now broke. The sidebar opens but when I click on the feed nothing appears in the window to the right of the sidebar. I went back to firefox build 19 and sage is working again. This is my favorite rss reader so I hope you can find the time to fix it. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

This is a known issue with Firefox 20, a release that fixes it will be coming next week.

https://github.com/petea/sage/issues/86

Good RSS Reader but needs user configuration. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I revisited this add-on after the initial "OMG Google are closing Reader" hysteria. Importing OPML from Google doesn't put it where you expect it, this is due to Google's folder structure.

Works well, is lightweight and quite fast but does need configuring via it's options menu to monitor the correct bookmarks folder for feeds. There is also an option to configure the appearance of the rendered feeds via stylesheets allowing you to have a one or more column display.

When subscribing to a feed in Firefox it works better if you choose Live bookmarks then save in the folder that Sage is monitoring.

If you're prepared to spend some time configuring and making yourself familiar then you'll find it quite a useful RSS reader.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Could not properly deal with merged feeds imported from Google Reader. If you need that use Brief.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

Doesn't see Bookmarks Toolbar Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I wanted a lightweight sidebar feed aggregator, but upon installing Sage couldn't find my feeds because it simply doesn't see the Bookmarks Toolbar folder in my Bookmarks menu

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Works okay. Nice clean presentation. Integrated with All-in-one sidebar.

Lacks notification of new posts or any sign of automated checking.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

일부 기능이 좀더 추가되면 편리할 거 같습니다.
예를들면 마우스로 하나 하나 클릭하면 힘이 드니까 키보드 ↑ ↓로 움직이면 리스트를 볼 수 있다던가 F2를 눌러 Sage창을 연다던가 하는 기능 말입니다.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed).