Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Пожалуйста, сделайте функцию блокировать все referer кроме тех что разрешены в правилах (настройках) плагина.

Please, make function to block all referer except those that are resolved in rules (options) of a plug-in.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I made a simple change to make this work for "from" sites instead of "to" sites (but not both). For example, I have images.google.com set to "forge" and "normal" for everything else. Now my RefControl only changes the referrer when opening a link from Google Images to another site.

Load \extensions\{455D905A-D37C-4643-A9E2-F6FEFAA0424A}\components\refcontrolComp.js into a text editor and find the onModifyRequest() function. You'll find a 'for' loop "for (var s = oHttpChannel.URI.host; s != ""; s = s.replace(/^.*?(\.|$)/, ""))". Just change oHttpChannel.URI.host to oHttpChannel.referrer.host, save, and restart Firefox. The list of hosts in your RefControl options now apply to the referring (from) site instead of the site being linked to.

If you want to get technical, oHttpChannel.referrer is sometimes null, but it won't hurt anything and you don't need to worry about it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

deny then allow Rated 5 out of 5 stars

much like a firewall this extension when correctly configured sets the default rule to forge, and then requires the user to set normal for sites one wishes to pass referer [sic] information.

Those who whine for the contrary are the same likely who want protection from themselves :P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't. On most Ubuntu systems using Firefox 3.5, usually not. I recommend WebDeveloper instead; it's heavier weight, but it works.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Excellent, but only half a solution Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Only half the solution, to be sure - as has been commented before. Excellent on that half, but the other part is sorely missed.

So, if I am at a google search page, and click on a link to whatever.com, then this addon lets me control the referrer sent whatever.com. It does _not_ allow me to control all referrers sent to any site that I might link that search page at google.com. That's a headache. Some of my sites will be able to see my google search results and some won't, depending on whether I've coded them in to the addon. The only solution is to use the global default to block or uniformly spoof all referrers (at least to 3rd parties). Then, that default can be modified for specific sites.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

left click could be put to use, such as to enable/disable RefControl

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One of the essential addons for Firefox.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

needs better state icons Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have this in all my profiles... but I would like to know at a glance when it is in normal mode or forged mode

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is fantastic!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works as advertised!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Not working with Firefox 3.6b2pre...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

good, but why can't you enable/disable it with a single left click like many other extensions?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Nice extension, but troublemsome with Facebook apps. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I would give this 5 stars, but as it blocks my favorite Facebook application Tiny Adventures from functioning coorectly when I have Google Wave installed in Firefox it's troublesome on any Firefox installation here... :-/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

status icon needs more oomph Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Please add a graphic to indicate each state: normal, blocked, forged, custom

one graphic for 'enabled' is not sufficient.

otherwise this is a great extension:

do not feed seo trools. click web search results without rewarding keyword wh_res. refcontrol helps surfers make the interweb less spammy

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

status icon needs more oomph Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Please add a graphic to indicate each state: normal, blocked, forged, custom

one graphic for 'enabled' is not sufficient.

otherwise this is a great extension:

do not feed seo trools. click web search results without rewarding keyword wh_res. refcontrol helps surfers make the interweb less spammy

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this great addon.
Very useful for all image sites which block direct linking of images.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This addon is a must. Thank you very much
I came here to suggest Ken Barbalance's suggestion. I would like to be able to change my refer based what information will be passed.

For example. If my referer is my banking website, I would like for it to be changed to a custom domain (google.com) so that nobody knows what bank I am using.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Control FROM, not TO Rated 4 out of 5 stars

As others have mentioned, this would be much more useful if it controlled the referer FROM sites (e.g. indexing sites), not just TO sites. I use this on Google Images to stop sites from blocking direct image links, but I have to use the " (3rd Party)" option, which breaks functionality on a LOT of other sites. When something doesn't work on a site, it's often (but not always obvious) a referer problem. I've already had to add 20+ exceptions because of this. It would be great if I could have just ONE entry for images.google.com and leave everything else set to "Normal".

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Have used it a long time to prevent HTTP Referer and has always worked perfectly for me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Want to spoof URL from specific site to other sites Rated 4 out of 5 stars

What would be nice is for the ability to spoof the referrer when going from a specific site to any other site. For instance when clicking on links on mozilla.com the referrer would be passed on as http://example.com instead regardless of the 3rd party site being visited.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11).