Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works fine on linux

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Be careful! Per-site settings wasn't work for me!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; ru; rv:1.9.1.8) Gecko/20100214 Ubuntu/9.10 (karmic) Firefox/3.5.8

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I support the suggestion from user "Quatrix" - it's an excellent idea - it would be good if this was an option in refControl.

Also, I feel refControl needs a toolbar button, to quickly access its options.

If these enhancements are made, I will upgrade my rating from 3 to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I support the suggestion from user "Quatrix" - it's an excellent idea - it would be good if this was an option in refControl.

Also, I feel refControl needs a toolbar button, to quickly access its options.

If these enhancements are made, I will upgrade my rating from 3 to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great and must have.

Suggestion:
It would be nice to allow regular expression or allow sub-domain only reference. So allows all sub-domains. Example of for sub-domains for google would be video.google.com, images.google.com etc.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Пожалуйста, сделайте функцию блокировать все referer кроме тех что разрешены в правилах (настройках) плагина.

Please, make function to block all referer except those that are resolved in rules (options) of a plug-in.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I made a simple change to make this work for "from" sites instead of "to" sites (but not both). For example, I have images.google.com set to "forge" and "normal" for everything else. Now my RefControl only changes the referrer when opening a link from Google Images to another site.

Load \extensions\{455D905A-D37C-4643-A9E2-F6FEFAA0424A}\components\refcontrolComp.js into a text editor and find the onModifyRequest() function. You'll find a 'for' loop "for (var s = oHttpChannel.URI.host; s != ""; s = s.replace(/^.*?(\.|$)/, ""))". Just change oHttpChannel.URI.host to oHttpChannel.referrer.host, save, and restart Firefox. The list of hosts in your RefControl options now apply to the referring (from) site instead of the site being linked to.

If you want to get technical, oHttpChannel.referrer is sometimes null, but it won't hurt anything and you don't need to worry about it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

deny then allow Rated 5 out of 5 stars

much like a firewall this extension when correctly configured sets the default rule to forge, and then requires the user to set normal for sites one wishes to pass referer [sic] information.

Those who whine for the contrary are the same likely who want protection from themselves :P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't. On most Ubuntu systems using Firefox 3.5, usually not. I recommend WebDeveloper instead; it's heavier weight, but it works.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Excellent, but only half a solution Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Only half the solution, to be sure - as has been commented before. Excellent on that half, but the other part is sorely missed.

So, if I am at a google search page, and click on a link to whatever.com, then this addon lets me control the referrer sent whatever.com. It does _not_ allow me to control all referrers sent to any site that I might link that search page at google.com. That's a headache. Some of my sites will be able to see my google search results and some won't, depending on whether I've coded them in to the addon. The only solution is to use the global default to block or uniformly spoof all referrers (at least to 3rd parties). Then, that default can be modified for specific sites.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

left click could be put to use, such as to enable/disable RefControl

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

A great tool for developers.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One of the essential addons for Firefox.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

needs better state icons Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have this in all my profiles... but I would like to know at a glance when it is in normal mode or forged mode

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is fantastic!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works as advertised!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Not working with Firefox 3.6b2pre...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

good, but why can't you enable/disable it with a single left click like many other extensions?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

Nice extension, but troublemsome with Facebook apps. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I would give this 5 stars, but as it blocks my favorite Facebook application Tiny Adventures from functioning coorectly when I have Google Wave installed in Firefox it's troublesome on any Firefox installation here... :-/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

status icon needs more oomph Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Please add a graphic to indicate each state: normal, blocked, forged, custom

one graphic for 'enabled' is not sufficient.

otherwise this is a great extension:

do not feed seo trools. click web search results without rewarding keyword wh_res. refcontrol helps surfers make the interweb less spammy

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12).