Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I like the concept and most of the functioning of RefControl. I've been using it with several versions of Firefox (from 3.0.xx thru 3.6.xx to 10.0.xESR) in Windows XP.

Lately I have noticed that it seems to be involved in causing Disqus comments to fail to display. At least in FF 10.0.x.
I tested with turning off all (5 of my) FF addon extensions and then enabling individually and it comes down to RefControl (0.8.16) which prevents the Disqus comments from being displayed. All I see on (FileHippo for example) is the Disqus activity throbber pulsing. But no comments.
Disabling RefControl allows Disqus comments to be displayed.
I experimented with adding the related sites (filehippo, disqus) to RefControl whitelist - setting them to 'Normal', but that did not help.

Would love if you could find a patch that allows Disqus to work.
In meanwhile, I try to remember to just click on the Refcontrol mini-icon to disable (= red ex-out) when I need Disqus comments, then I click it again to re-enable after done with Disqus. Nice that such off/on is easy. :)

P.S.: Win XP Pro SP3, FF 10.0.6esr, RefControl 0.8.16, Java 6.33, Flash 11.3.300.265, 2GB RAM.

Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I have to disable this add-on or the disqus comments won't load on readwriteweb.com. This is very strange.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Not Defaulting Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I like the idea of this a lot, but find that it is not defaulting to <Forge> as I have set it to do (Firefox 13.01). I have to manually set each site. Help?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Nice little tool! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like this! Easy recipe against curious companies: they will not receive any more information from which website I´m coming.
Smart: I can put basic settings for all but can also much easily exclude a website!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Simple, Smart, and Robust Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A perfect capstone on my need to protect my privacy. I've been Monstering my Cookies, Blocking my Flash, and No-ing my Scripts for a long time but, now, especially with the EU "cookie law" ramping up incentives to track without cookies, I started worrying about Referer headers.

After all, you can hardly tell Google that the Google Font Library and the Google AJAX CDN (which seems to serve everyone's jQuery these days) are illegal tracking tools... but the Referer header and a little smart coding let Google use them that way.

That's where RefControl comes in. It has a delightful little feature named "Default: FORGE" where I can satisfy most sites with meaningless fake Referer headers, but still whitelist the few sites like Snopes and Pixiv which are especially picky.

I wish there was a clear way to apply a whitelist to non-3rd-party URLs only, but aside from that, it's a perfect set-and-forget privacy tool.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Love it ! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is really a wonderful add-on which gives you more privacy when surfing on the internet. It also have a great feature/option from where you can white list the websites that do not work correctly if you block the referrer. 5 stars from me :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

no site needs to see my referer Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I wish the referer sent in FORGE mode was the ENTIRE current URL and not merely the base url

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Works, but... Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Seems to ignore rules you specify for sites, so you must have icon in statusbar to manually disable.
No contact info for support.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Simple Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Haven't noticed any programs or have any suggestions. Just works for me, nice addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Lost functionality in version 0.8.16 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Still a great extension, clearly deserving a five-star rating, in spite of the fact that I had to revert to an older version in order regain the lost ability to disable/enable it quickly, directly from the statusbar.

RefControl does efficiently everything one needs, including many of the things other previous reviewers on this board have claimed it does not do.

RefControl 0.8.16 no longer displays the options menu when one left clicks the status bar. This is a critical feature for vimperator/pentadactyl users who choose to live without a "navigation toolbar" and without a "menu bar", and who try control everything from the statusbar or the vimperator commandline.

I hope future versions include a quickly accessible enable/disable option, if not directly from the statusbar, perhaps from the context menu.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Doesn't seem to work with Firefox 11. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

RefControl used to show the referer as a tooltip, but it doesn't work properly with Firefox 11. When I mouse-over the icon, the word "RefControl" appears instead of showing the referer as it did before.

What happened?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The add-on works fine, but the functionality isn't what I was expecting. I thought that it was for configuring the referring URL that would get sent FROM a particular site, rather than the URL that is sent TO the site. It might help if the add-on's description were updated to clarify this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Useful addons.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Ampersand is rewrited to escapced form. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This addon works in most cases with firefox 11,
But The ampersand characters with cgi-bin parameter is rewrited to escaped format.
So it cause break cgi working.
It occurs significantly in ancient CGI access counter uses with img src tag.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Useless add-on Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't see it working. Uninstalled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The latest update broke it, no icon in the status bar (or no toolbar button) and tried everything to get it back with no luck. Uninstalled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The only one that works

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It helps to cover your tracks on the internet.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Perfect for my needs! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I can't speak for others, but for someone who hates marketing and tracking browsing trends, this add-on is a Must-Have.

Many thanks, James, for creating this add-on!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

@8-bit: Nope. Doesn't work for me. I can't drag anything onto the status bar. If I try, all I see is a stop sign. (FF 3.6.24)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.