Rated 1 out of 5 stars

For a long time, there have been a number of pages that I have been unable to access properly with Firefox and have had to use other browsers to access. I finally got tired of this and started disabling likely add-ons one by one until I figured out that the cause was RefControl (even though it was set normal reference for the page). Unfortunately, NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

How to create rotate or random referer list ? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Hi James Abbatiello

How to create rotate or random referer list ?
In "Proxy Tools : Addon" we can create custom referer list and it working in random and rotate

It imposible in "RefControl : Addon" ?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Since A$$trali$ came out the referer display is no longer available unless you use Classic Theme Restorer or Vimperator (probably Pentadactyl too).

I think you mentioned here that you didn't want to deal with A$$trali$ but what would be a great idea is to have the referer as the tooltip.
Right now if you hover over the button it just says "RefControl", maybe you can change that to the referer.

Just a suggestion. I use Vimperator so it doesn't matter to me. v32 (currently Beta) puts large back/forward/refresh/bookmark buttons in the right-click menu, so all the millions of people in the world who wear glasses/contacts will soon be able to use Firefox again hassle-free.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Excellent and well thought-out Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works exactly as it should. It blocks referers and allows extensive, easy per-site customisation. Well done, hope this isn't abandoned.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

+

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've been looking for an extension like this for very long. Works very well, stable. And a major improvement of privacy as almost every site uses something from http://google*.com today.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Simple referer spoofing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome! Shining like a diamond

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

working nicely.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I would like a softer version with the blacklist, at least as an option.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This works in SeaMonkey 2.21, so why not list it as compatible with it? I had to bump up the max version in the install file to get it to install.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Very useful Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent:a well thought extension to stop cross-site tracking,very nice for privacy.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's very good, and simple.
I "block the referer" for every website and i whitelist websites that i must so they can work properly.
But i experienced a few cases on some websites, when unblocking the referer didnt work, and i had to turn off this addon. I don't know, maybe it's because of how the website work... :-|

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Works great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I don't normally write reviews but I just wanted to refute some of the claims of the other reviewers. This addon works great for me in Firefox 22; but note that you must tell it what you want it to do in the addon's options. I use it to block the refferer on all pages. I know it works for two reasons. First is that if you visit a page hosted by Agility Host and your referrer is altered or blocked you will notice that the images don't load. Try my friend's website terrystowingstl.com Second reason is if you visit aruljohn.com and click the "view more details" link it will tell you what your referer is, in my case it's always "none". Even right-clicking the link and choosing "open in new tab" shows that the referrer has been blocked. Disabling the addon will show the normal referrer sent by Firefox. Nice work on this and thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

将未列出的站点默认设置为"伪装"

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Спасибо!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Wildcards? Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I like this addon. But it must support wildcards on site rules. Some sites have many sub domains, numeric variations and RefControl behaves them as seperate sites. With wildcards this issue would be fixed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Does not work for me on FF 19.0.2 Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I found an alternative on the net that seems to work: altrefcontrol (referer control in context menu)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I recently firmed up all my security settings to stop being tracked and force https use etc. This included changing 'network.http.sendRefererHeader' in Firefox to stop the referer header being sent.
Unfortunately this stopped some sites from working, in my case I couldn't log into my BBC user account as it need the header for verification.
Added RefControl, added the BBC site (forged header), and it's working again.
Simples. Very happy!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed). 

slows down firefox & makes it unresponsive for several seconds at a time Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Yikes, even changing the options of other add-ons took a long time so long as this one was installed. Also what I was really hoping for was the ability to blacklist the "from" site from sending the referrer. For example I don't want google to send the referrer (especially the search terms!) when I follow a result link (I can't find a way to do this other than to use https google).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed.1-signed).