Addon does not work on Firefox 49 Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The update to version 49 crashed the addon. Only Right-Click "Fill..." works but no auto-fill... Currently, I'm using KeeFox now, but I hope it will be fixed soon.

Annoying notifications Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Keep showing annoying notifications in Firefox like "KeePassHTTP is not running" and there is no option to disable it!
EDIT: Found the solution.
Go to Firefox's config page "about:config"
Set "extensions.passifox.notification.kpf-running-note" to "false"

Breaking the Firefox sync Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hi developer

Passlfox is a great addon for Keepass but after installing the Passlfox, my firfox sync function was broken down.

I have to login to my sync function when i open firefox. Your addon is great but this problem was annoying. Please fix it

Thanks and best regards

chromeipass to firefox ? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

is possible to bring chromeipass to firefox 48 that supported webextensions

Passifox is great but there's issues that are not being fixed. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Developer doesn't use Firefox anymore.

1) Repeating what another reviewer said: "Although a great plugin in essence, it messes with Firefox Sync when the KeePass database is locked (and it should be locked unless needed). Unfortunately, the developer seems to have abandoned support."

2) Another issue is an nagging "KeePassHttp is not running" popup shows all the time when keepass is not opened. You can hide it by changing code in the addon but that's impossible thanks to firefox 49.

Lost all stored PW's in Mozilla Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Hi,

i read all before what to do and not.
The addOn is working with KeyPass.

BUT i lost all my before stored passwords in firefox!!! WTF!

And i cant find any proper e-mail adress from you, even not on your hp. Just a trap is there.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

Passwords aren't lost

PassIFox replaces the Firefox password manager storage mechanism. Existing passwords are hidden as long as passifox is enabled. Disable passifox and the old passwords will return.

Great alternative to online password managers Rated 3 out of 5 stars

With recent security breaches by cloud services (including LastPass), I have decided to take my password management offline. I was using KeePass before I tried cloud services, and am happily returning to it again. Passifox is a simple addon to use KeePass with Firefox and for the most part it is dead simple. As a Linux Mint user, though, the KeePass package that came via Ubuntu repositories is incomplete if you want to use Passifox. In particular, you need to download mono-complete to get Passifox to work with KeePass. I wish Passifox made it clear in their main page. I had to do an hour's troubleshooting to get it to work.

Second, as some have commented, using Passifox kills Firefox Sync. Firefox Sync saves your credentials via the Firefox Password Manager (FPM), but Passifox disables the password database of FPM and replaces it with its own that connects to KeePass. Firefox Sync does not understand the format used by Passifox for retrieving its credentials and therefore Sync fails.

Thirdly, with the recent changes in Firefox 43 and going forward, I have decided to migrate to Seamonkey. It is still largely based on Firefox's code but has some notable differences in the backend and even its non-use of the new UI. The problem is, while Passifox can be found under Seamonkey addons, it actually does not work. I had to resort to using my cloud password manager when I use Seamonkey (which is more than r50% of the time now).

Passifox is great. I do recommend it to everyone who wants to use KeePass with Firefox. But with some nagging issues, I cannot give it five stars myself.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

Great Addon! Let me clarify it for everyone! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The autofill function of this add-on DOES work with the new Gmail/Google two page login and other Java based popup logins. :D

This is NOT a standalone addon. This is designed for use with KEEPASS2, KEEPASSHTTP and I recommend KEEPASS HELPER. THIS IS NOT DESIGNED FOR KEEPASSX!!! WHY ARE YOU USING KEYPASSX?

KeePass2 is the password manager and the app you will interact with. The other programs and plugins really run out of sight.


KeePass Helper simply adds extra words to the Window Title at the top of your web browser to make it easier for the window that needs autofilling of user name and password to be found by KeePass2.

1. Install KeePass2: http://keepass.info/download.html
2. Install KeePassHTTPPlugin by downloading and putting it into the folder of KeePass2: https://passifox.appspot.com/KeePassHttp.plgx
3. Install PassIFox from the addons page of your browser or here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/passifox/
4. Install KeePass Helper: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/keepass-helper/

Once everything is installed you then run KeePass2 and create a database for storing all your passwords. Just click NEW and it will walk you through the process.

Leave KeePass2 running but minimized.

Now as you surf websites and enter password pages you will get notifications to connect to KeyPass2 and to store passwords as well as to auto input stored passwords into webpages for you.

It works very well.

For people that don't like the notifications that popup on websites you can stop them by doing two things:

1. Make sure KeePass2 is running
2. Inside KeePass2 click on TOOLS>KeePassHttp Options....
3. Uncheck the box SHOW A NOTIFICATION WHEN CREDENTIALS ARE REQUESTED.

Enjoy!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

No support from the developer. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Although a great plugin in essence, it messes with Firefox Sync when the KeePass database is locked (and it should be locked unless needed).

Unfortunately, the developer seems to have abandoned support.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

The best free add-on in the universe Rated 5 out of 5 stars

If you like tinkering, the amount of customization you can do is insane. I'm not a programmer but I am a smart user with common sense and decent windows skills. My windows skills are as a power user of anything internet (not a ms office guy). So I bought some Digital Currency a couple of years ago and realized that the old game plan had to go.

I have been online since the day AOL launched and have signed up for everything from internet banking to 50 different forums. I have been managing 25 years of passwords in my head, of course by using same everywhere or a variation. It was starting to make me insane as is, but when Digital Currency entered my life I realized I had to make changes of my new B T C would soon no longer be mine.

The sheer number of passwords I would need to do something about could either take the route of 1. just change the monetary, major social, and medical over and not worry about the other billion sites, OR 2. bite the bullet and do them all.

I should note that I am the guy in the picture next to the definition of obsessive disorder. I am the guy that would get the assignment for a major paper in College that was due EOS, 3 months out, and after a night of no sleep thinking about it I would start it the next day. But oh, no, it did not end there. I would stay awake for up to 96 hours, whatever was needed for that assignment, until it was finished. I could not stop and eat, sleep, whatever. I would get very dry and stand up to go buy a bottle of water and realize I could not support my weight because my legs were seized in place due to 36 hours of literally not moving out of what was always a wood/metal chair.

If I move from city to city, which I have had to do a few times in 30 years, when I get to destination city I will not only have to unpack every box and set up, but I would again not eat sleep, do anything until it was done. Done was defined by beds made, groceries purchased, all laundry done, any painting or mods

I am sure you guessed by now that I chose to do ALL 25 years of passwords. BTW, this compulsion I describe comes with stress and dread of anticipation because I know I won't stop. So, all depressed, but determined I began the process. As usual, I am so deep in an anxious state of panic that I literally have physical symptoms manifest as chest pain, elevated pulse, elevated BP etc.

Making this worse is the fact that I am of THE generation that did not mandate typing in school so we did not take it, yet we were the "founders" in the internet generation. I hunt and peck. I hunt and peck faster than 90% of all typists but IT IS AWFUL AND PONDEROUS!! It is physically demanding to hunt and peck. Honestly though, my graduation class could probably prove class action damages in not training us to type.

Also, remember I am not a programmer, just an educated businessman who ignored that training and now make a living online. I was worried about the program!

So, I began ---

Hm - this is easy!

2 Hours later I'm done.

At 3 Hours in I had customized thru a dozen Plug-ins.

At 3.5 hours I had it all color coded AND my auto type parameters for ALL of my sites had been programmed to take every key stroke, tab, and enter into account for all that sites needs. i.e. If a site called for tab, enter username, tab, enter PW, hit enter (whatever) to be fully logged in, I had done that customization.
IT IS THE SIMPLEST THING I HAVE EVER STRESSED ABOUT!!
To those on the edge. Step inside. It feels so safe in here!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

So far so good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's too bad that this add-on got so many undeserved bad ratings just because people haven't understood how it works.
Let me make something clear first. This add-on alone is not in itself a password manager. It just connects to KeePass, which is a well-established open-source password manager, so that you don't have to alt-tab to KeePass every time you need to retrieve usernames and passwords.
Tip for newcomers: before configuring Passifox, you need to download KeePassHttp first. Direct link here: https://raw.github.com/pfn/keepasshttp/master/KeePassHttp.plgx Link to web page here: https://github.com/pfn/keepasshttp/
KeePassHttp is a plugin for KeePass 2.x and provides a secure means of exposing KeePass entries via HTTP for PassIFox to consume. You need to save it into the KeePass folder and then restart KeePass.
It's only fair to say that this add-on has one major competitor: KeeFox. Although I haven't used KeeFox, Mozilla reports it's got 5 times as many users and countless as many reviews.
And I've been using Passifox successfully for about a year with Firefox versions 36 through 38 on Windows 7 at home and Vista at work.
What doesn't work is the advertised automated password form fill. In my experience, to get the field filled I have to right-click the username field and select "Fill User and Pass", but that is no big deal for me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

Thank you! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just wanted to say THANK YOU for keeping this alive

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

Waste of memory Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This plugin can be installed, connected and does absolutely nothing after that. Chrome extension working without problems.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

Keeps bugging you if Keepass is not running Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It works, more or less, but if you don't need it during a browsing section, and don't keep Keepass open at all times, it keeps displaying an annoying "KeePassHttp is not running" message in Firefox. There is no option to turn this warning off. All you can do is close it each time it appears, or leave it there, taking up space in your browser window. It is needlessly intrusive.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.13.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Nice add on. I didn't see in your instructions where I needed to check the box in Firefox to "remember passwords" but once I did I could see where it works fine. Due to all of the new, various type web pages many times I still need to right click but things seem to work more smoothly with PassIFox installed. Plus it reminds me now if I need to save a new password. Good work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.12.1-signed). 

Works great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Intuitive. It is the only addon that worked on firefox for me. It works great on firefox as it did on chrome.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10.1-signed). 

Rough Alternative to KeeFox. No multi-database support. BREAKS Firefox Sync and KeeFox. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Tried this addon out hoping that it would be a more polished alternative to KeeFox, with javascript "form" support. I found it to be actually pretty rough. I didn't use it for long before disabling it because one of my primary requirements is multi-database support, since I share multiple KeePass databases with others. This addon assumes that you will only be authenticating with one database, so if you switch the active database tab in KeePass, you'll have to reauthenticate (again, and again, and again) each time you change databases.

I wish I could say more positive about this addon, but it's really bare-bones. Maybe that's a plus for someone out there.

Edit: One more complaint. Having this installed disables the internal Firefox password manager, which apparently interferes with not only Firefox's built-in sync feature, but also KeeFox's ability to save the authorization key across restarts of Firefox. So if you intend to use KeeFox or Firefox Sync, uninstall this add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10.1-signed). 

Work as expected Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very well integration in Firefox 31. Loading & filling my passwords only when I ask him to. Nice job.

@Orolo : To install the KeePassHttp.plgx plugins, you must copy the .plgx file in the KeePass plugins directory (aka : C:\Program Files (x86)\KeePass Password Safe 2\Plugins)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10.1-signed). 

Doesn't work. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Installed the addon and one time it asked to connect to keepass. It appeared to be working fine.

Restarted my computer and PassIFox doesn't do anything at all anymore. Reinstalled the extension, firefox, KeepassHTTP, nothing works.

Have to go back to Chrome now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10.1-signed). 

Doesent work with keepassx Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I don't want to use programs like mono or wine...

Keepass only supports only Windows, keepassx supports windows, max and linux

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10.1-signed).