not compatible with torbutton Rated 4 out of 5 stars

unfortunately it is completely buggy on my computer (see update below). It slows down firefox a lot. Maybe some incompatibility with another plugin.When trying to list alerts, I get a strange error message.To answer to your reply: here is what I get when I click to go to Inbox%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%Erreur d'analyse XML : aucun élément trouvéEmplacement : jar:file:///home/bob/.mozilla/firefox/bob.default/extensions/alertbox@ajitk.com.xpi!/chrome/content/inboxNuméro de ligne 1, Colonne 1 : %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%% I disabled the torbutton addon, works well now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826). 

The review does not provide any meaningful details. Could you provide more details at the support forum or email me.As you can see or read from other reviews, it definitely works and works well. Thanks.

Edit: From email conversations, I believe choucroute's problem has been narrowed down to addon torbutton. If there are others facing similar issue, this information should be of help.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

In my case the duration is about 1:30 minutes, but when it musts wake you up, 5 minutes may be not bad. But 5 minutes was only an example, a little exaggerated. :) So whene it starts and you wake up, it would be "annoying" (google translated) if unstoppable.
Thanks for answering, and sorry for my not perfect english.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Okay. It is the same case where the audio alert needs to stopped upon user interaction and perhaps with a setting to set the interval till which to play audio alert until user chooses to stop. it.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have to use MS Outlook Web Email for work and I was periodically checking my email, often taking an hour or more to reply. Now I can respond within a few minutes and no longer need to keep refreshing the page. Incidentally, I love the 'ping' alert sound!

Thanks for a great plugin - does what it says on the tin.

A happy Linux user.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826). 

I do the same on my Ubuntu. :)

a missing feature Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great extension : I wrote a French review on my blog.

A counter icon submenu item is missing to mark all alerts as read. So I could reset the counter without opening the alert box.

Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826). 

Noted your feature request. Thanks.

Great addon but problem with notifications Rated 4 out of 5 stars

In a previous review (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/alertbox/reviews/277732/), an user complains that the icon doesn't show any pending notifications (points #1 and #4), and you answer this is addressed already.

Well I have the exact same problem (with FF 7 beta). The "bell" icon doesn't change when there is a pending notification, and I get no other icon in the status bar.

Awarding 4 stars because the addon is awesome, and since the author says the icon should indeed change, I assume this is a bug, and not a missing feature. 5 stars if that's fixed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826). 

Not a bug

Well, the bell icon/button does not change. The *second* icon/button accompanying the bell icon changes and indicates number of unread and total alerts.

Note that the icons have become toolbar button in the latest update. See this thread for more reference: http://pulsvu.com/node/1270 in case you are facing a similar issue.

Thanks.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

also has audio notifications

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

and has popup and email notifications too. :)

Working on FF9 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good news for people using Firefox 9. It is working on Firefox 9.0a1 Nightly.. Just remember to modify the max version in your install.rdf and set it to 9.* (<em:maxVersion>9.*</em:maxVersion>)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.5.20110826).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The (most likely) best "Check for website updates"-addon available. Haven't seen another extension where it was this easy to select what changes to look out for in a page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.3.20110803). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Is it possible to move the Alertbox status icon to the toolbar? I have since abandoned the status bar after switching to FF4. I can see it if I enable the add-on bar, but the Alertbox icon does not behave like other icons on the add-on bar, so it cannot be dragged/moved to the toolbar. Can this be implemented, or is there a work-around for this?
Thanks for this great addon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.20110110).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Will in near future

It will be possible to do with an update in near future. Currently working on some improvements. Thanks!

Needs improvement with the Alert Box in the Notification please! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The Best part of this addon is that you can choose the area to monitor on a webpage instead of the whole webpage. Thankyou for that feature Webdeveloper ! So for that I will give a rating of 4 stars but with the fix of #1 and #2 from below, I would change the rating to 5 stars.

#1 This addon has the word Alert in it but it hardly Alerts.This is CRITICAL: The Alert Notification Box needs to remain there until I click on the link inside the box or I click on an CloseX button inside the AlertBox. It just pops up for 2 seconds and I rarely see it. What if my attention is somewhere else for that 2seconds. And I get NO sound alert because I am sometimes listening to music when online, or on the phone. Please add a CloseX in the Alertbox like the FF addon UpdateScanner.

#2 Screenshot view to see exact view:When Alert is expanded in viewing: -Options > screenshot view. Thankyou.

#3 Brief FF Addon displays the last time it was updated in tooltip when hover icon. (Last updated 6min ago). Thankyou Ajit K for agreeing to implement this feature.

#4 Alert Sound is very PIERCING and not pleasant at all. I do not have my own sound files and would like several sound choices that are provided by this addon that are pleasing to hear.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.20110110). 

replies

#1 and #4
The number in status/addon bar shows the new and unread alerts.

#2
AlertBox stores HTML fragments. Sometimes HTML view may not be accurate. You could use Screenshot view to see exact view. Explore the "-Options" when you click to expand an alert.

#3
Sure. This can be done very easily.

Many more enhancements and improvements are on its way.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Хорошее расширение! Большая просьба к автору добавить локализацию русского языка. Спасибо!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.20101002). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

как можно выставить другой сигнал ? например свой.
можно сделать проверку обновления в секундах ?
how you can set a different signal-tune? such as his.
You can do a background check update in seconds?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.20101002). 

Yes

For changing tune look at settings. For interval in seconds, select "Custom interval" for an alert in your Inbox.
You are encouraged to use the support forum for getting support. Thanks,

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The idea behind "Alertbox" is letting the user click on an item on a web
page and have it periodically monitored for change. Modern browsers
keep views of web pages as a structured data structure called the
"Document Object Model" or DOM, where text and images can be associated
with colors, fonts and javascript, and items in the DOM can be selected
by so called "XPATH" expressions. So Alertbox doesn't have to store the
entire page and compare it against current snapshots, it can just store
that XPATH and find the needed information very quick.

While selecting an item, Alertbox shows a frame around the current mouse
position outlining what will be monitored. You would move the mouse and
click when the narrowest part of the page covering all of what's
interesting to you is shown. This can be a temperature reading, a stock
quote, a count, a score or whatever is needed. It is even possible to
filter the result by a "regular expression".

The author provides a forum for support and an email service to send
alerts by mail. The latter feature needs a onetime free registration to
confirm the email, but Alertbox works with browser popups, too, so
email alerts are an optional enhancement.

Unfortunately, the hosting companies email server (currently, in october
2010 "smarty.dreamhost.com[208.113.175.8]") is blocked for spamming in
<url:http://www.dnsbl.manitu.net/lookup.php?value=208.113.175.8>, so
I don't have post access to the forum and I cannot find a contact form
or email for the author. I imagine he's not a spammer, but there should
be an alternate way to reach him. This paragraph in my review is the
only way I can make this known to him.

Nevertheless I'll give it a top rating, because Alertbox does for the
enduser today what all the hype about the "Semantic Web" promises for
tomorrow. You might have a look at the "operator" addon which uses
(rarely) existing micro-formats on web pages for the semantic web
approach.

The one feature missing from Alertbox is a way to digest or hook up the
information harvested from web pages. It is possible to filter using
a regular expressions, but why not go all the way and _transform_ it,
which is equally easy in the same step and send it off either to
a program or a file?

Example: say the web page returns "23C:77%", the part before the colon
being a temperature, the one after relative humidity. I could make good
use of a regular expression like "/(.*)C:(.*)%/weather '$1' '$2'/"
turning it into "weather '23' '77'", which suspiciously looks like
a command line for a program. Or make that "/(.*)C:(.*)%/echo '$1' '$2'
>> weather.log/", which again could be executed and log temperature and
humidity to a file called "weather.log".

There is not much to do for the author to realize this: take care about
quoting the results of the regular expression such that meta characters
like dollar, backquote and so on cannot be used for security exploits
and call up a shell to actually execute that stuff. Throw in special
Alertbox commands like eg. "alertbox-popup" taking any text and $n
escapes and there you have an improved version which doesn't even need
the hosted email service as it could do all its emailing right on the
box it's running on. The finishing touch could be Alertbox variables
like $url, $date etc, then users could use this nifty addon to collect
all sorts of information and use it for all sorts of actions without
having to change one line of Alertbox itself!

Anyway, thanks for this cool firefox extension! --clemens fischer

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.20101002). 

Hello

You have written a good overview of what AlertBox does and could be useful for new users.

Regarding Email:
I am sorry to hear that email service did not work for you due to spam coming from the dreamhost server. I still see people registering to the forum and using email service. This would mean that the IP address is listed as a spammer on some of the servers on the net. Unfortunately for the time being it is a shared hosting so it will be difficult to get a clean IP address for the service. I will let the web host know. I am planning to move to a dedicated host in the near future. That should make things better.

Regarding actions:
I had given custom alert actions a thought. Calling out a script with the alert info would provide a lot of flexibility to the way an alert is generated. But I haven't added it due to added complexity for most of the users.
Email alert using a web service is a good alternative for sending out email alerts without having to worry about spammers hijacking the emailing system.

If you wish to correspond further and discuss AlertBox, you may send send email at gmail.com using my id ajtkmr. It would have been great if you could discuss at the forum so that others could read what you say.

Thanks.

AlertBox has no flexibility when customising alerts Rated 3 out of 5 stars

A lot of thought has gone into this add-on. The developer provides excellent support. Firefox popup notifications are via Firefox and are only displayed for a few seconds. Poor presentation of url’s which will be rectified in the next version I understand. Problem with framed sites. No help files. Good responsive forum from the developer. I shall have to continue with WebMon or URLy Warning because they present the data simply and clearly and enable me to set a search range within the html coding. Both programs are no longer in development but Webmon is the superior option because it is only 532kb with so many customisable options. Everything works brilliantly. URLy Warning is the next best option but loading the page in the default browser and setting page limits for 'When page' 'contains' 'does not contain' do not work at all. See the AlertBox forum for more detail on these points http://pulsvu.com/forum/6.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.3.20100912). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Pls provide us a way to customize the subject of the mail. Provide us a way to include updated information in subject itself if possible. We would like to skip the text "AlertBox Notification: " on mail subject.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.3.20100912).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Sure

It involves some changes on the webservice and user settings at pulsvu.com. Once done, it should be possible to select the template for email notifications.

Nice executed idea Rated 5 out of 5 stars

As former user of C4C and site delta, I would like to say that Alert Box is clean and powerful solution for change tracking that I prefer. The conception is great, very easy to use and configure alerts.The implementation of the idea is very clean and user friendly. One of most important things for me is the fact, that the developer is deep involved in product development and answer questions very fast and in friendly manner (i.e. developer provide me patch for my specific case of use in 24 hours from my query, which is rare in these days:) There is one or two things that I like to see in Alert Box, but I'm sure, they are planned for future releases. Great work Ajit. Take care.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.2.20100715). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Could you give a option to setting the interval periodic time of next update(also can assign the max times of trying) when checking encount a problem, but just give a message "An error was encountered. This might get resolved automatically at the next update. Or update now"

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.2.20100715). 

If I understand it correctly, you need an separate update interval whenever the alert encounters the error and is unable to locate content in the page.

What is your use case? Could this be achieved using a different solution? Lets take this discussion at the forum or email me. I can help you set add alert that works best for you.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

It works great! But, after frefox starting, 10-15 mins later firefox not responce. than crashing. i dont know why. maybe, cuz i have 28 extensions..
could you fix that? This issue started when i installed alertbox.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100708). 

Not due to AlertBox

Firefox cannot crash because of AlertBox.

Crashing could be due to a rogue plug-in or another extension. I suggest that you try and use AlertBox in a newly created profile. Also, you should test your browser with and without AlertBox and/or by disabling other extensions that you are using.

Time interval Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Best Program
Question : Time interval : 8 hours means If the computer is off for 24 hour and the website is changed 3 times. I will not got an E-mail
or If the computer is On less then 8 hours I will not got an E-mail

The counter work only when the computer is ON ???

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.3.20100517). 

Leave it ON

You have to leave your PC on and keep Firefox open to check for any change and send you the email alert. In future, it maybe possible to check and send alert even when your PC is turned off!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hey, amazing add on!

I just have a question, i am a huge Michael buble fan and am desparate to get tickets for him if ticketmaster release more but for face value - prices on ebay are ridiculous!

Would this add on be able to tell me if any more tickets are released at the following address?...:

http://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/event/2200445AEC0E7E11?artistid=869115&majorcatid=10001&minorcatid=1

Thankyou

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.3.20100517). 

hmm

If there is a page that shows the number of tickets, you can check for the change in that page. Unfortunately, in the mentioned page, there isn't any indicator. Moreover after performing the search the page requires you to go through a captcha. This prohibits automated searches. So the only alternative for you would be to look for a website that can show you the quantity without requiring human interaction.