Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Past problems with element selection are fixed.
Can even use the addon on .rss pages!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.9.1-signed). 

Feedback Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Yet more feedback:
- Using the monitor on a DirectoryIndex website doesn't work properly.
Response: "TIMEOUT:Task: sieves timedout after 60 seconds"
- Using the monitor on a CloudFlare protected site will cause it not being able to retrieve the website content (if the cookies of the site were cleared since the last manual visit) Example: http://teamspeak.com

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.9.1-signed).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thanks for the feedback. Regarding TIMEOUT errors, please send us more details at support@distill.io and we will take a look. Chances are that if the page is static, setting dynamic to false in config may do the trick. Regarding the CloudFlare protected site, if your browser can access the website so can Distill and similarly if your browser is not able to access the website nor will Distill be able to.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

MISUNDERSTANDING!
Ok I deleted my former review and apologies to the dev of this extension...
I was a bit too hasty to judge this. (Looks like if you don't use the cloud part there isn't any limitations?) Hmm maybe the dev can add that to the description to make it more clear to new users of it.

Anyways, sorry for flying off the handle! :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.9.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I think I can access and display correctly that page recently. When I refresh "chrome://alertbox/content/inbox.html", I grab the following message from the Web Console:
"Use of getPreventDefault() is deprecated. Use defaultPrevented instead. jquery.js:3346
downloadable font: OS/2: bad linegap: -32 (font-family: "icomoon" style:normal weight:normal stretch:normal src index:1)
source: resource://alertbox/ui/css/font/icomoon.woff?axmcy2".
Dunno if it's useful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.8.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Love it! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just created an account to post this. I absolutely love this add-on. Wish I had found it sooner!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.8.1-signed). 

Thank you and wish you a happy new year. :)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Edit: 1st of all I really appreciate supports work, they were VERY friendly and patient with me.
2nd after last update bug are gone and now extension work very well.
Thank you.
Unfortunately doesn't work for me, nothing happens when I click the Alert Box icon and there's no another way to get menu.. Probably not compatibility with some of my addons, didn't tried on clean profile though.
Firefox 34.0.05
Adblock Plus 2.6.6
Add to Search Bar 2.8
Add-on Compatibility Reporter 2.0.4
AutoCopy 2 1.2.9
Back to Owner Tab 0.3.2014032801
Bazaar Plus 0.4
BBCodeXtra 0.4.1
ChatZilla 0.9.91
Context Search 0.6.3
Cookies Manager+ 1.5.2
Copy Plain Text 2 1.3.2
Custom Buttons 0.0.5.8
Distill Web Monitor (formerly AlertBox) 1.1.2
Download Status Bar 12.3.0
Element Hiding Helper для Adblock Plus 1.3
Enhanced Steam 7.2.2
Flagfox 5.0.10
Force-TLS 4.0.0
FxIF 0.4.8
Gmail Checker 2.6.4
Greasemonkey 2.3
gTranslate 0.9
History in Threads 1.7
ImgLikeOpera 0.6.23
KeeFox 1.4.4
Locationbar² 1.0.6
Nightly Tester Tools 3.7
NoScript 2.6.9.7
Paste Quote 0.3.6
PDF Download 3.0.0.2
Pocket 3.0.5
QuickDrag 2.1.3.23
QuickNote 0.7.5
Restart Firefox 0.5
ScrapBook 1.5.11
Silvermel and Charamel XT 1.5.7
Status-4-Evar 2014.07.06.05
Stay-Open Menu 2.2.1
Switch to Tab no more 0.2
Tab Mix Plus 0.4.1.5.2
TagSieve 4.3.1
Text Link 4.1.2013040601
Update Scanner 3.2.0
Uppity 1.5.8
User Agent Switcher 0.7.3
Work Offline 2.2

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

Please get in touch with us at support@distill.io. It will be great if you can send us any error message that appears in your Browser Console as well. Thanks!

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great Firefox addon! Thank you given us the awesome addon. I hope you can add feature that when checking the web pages.

And another question is, in some cases, the layout of the popup dialog window when clicking the alertbox icon is not displayed correctly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

> I hope you can add feature that when checking the web pages.

It seems that you were about to suggest a new feature but forgot to do so. Would love to hear what it is. :)

> the layout of the popup dialog window when clicking the alertbox icon is not displayed correctly.

In what way is it not displayed correctly? Please send more details via email to support at distill.io. Thanks!

反馈个alertbox导致火狐内存暴涨的异常现象 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

您好,反馈个alertbox导致火狐内存暴涨的异常现象:FF34及33、32等旧版,alertbox1.1.2及旧版,启用10多条规则,监控时间有1分钟、5分钟、1小时不等,用greasemonkey2.3及旧版+mouseover popup image viewer(也是用过多个版本),火狐开着但不使用或最小化状态,内存占用就不断上涨,10分钟能涨100M多,1小时能涨800M,停用alertbox,内存就不再上涨。启用alertbox但禁用mouseover popup image viewer,内存正常,用alertbox+GM+其他脚本,内存正常。。alertbox+scriptish+mouseover popup image viewer都是最新版,没有内存暴涨现象,但是在FF29,alertbox0.4.9+scriptish+mouseover popup image viewer也有过内存暴涨现象。。

又新建了配置,只装alertbox+GM+mouseover popup image viewer,内存暴涨现象依旧。。
后来又发现,内存暴涨后打开个新标签页,10多秒钟后,内存开始快速下降,但比暴涨前还是多100M以上,回不到最初状态。而且之后内存还是会持续增长。。
望作者测试核实!!谢谢!


2014.12.10
感谢回复!已向MPIV作者反馈,他确认了内存泄漏现象找到了问题所在给出了解决方法,更新脚本后内存不再暴涨,问题已解决!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thank you for your detailed diagnosis. From what I understood using Google Translate, your observation is:

1. When using Distill with "mouseover popup image viewer" extension memory usage continues to grow with time.
2. When using Distill without "mouseover popup image viewer" there is no memory leak.

Note that Distill periodically opens a webpage in background to check for updates. If an extension or any program holds data related to the webpage opened in background and does not clean it up when the browser is destroyed then it will cause memory usage to increase with time.

Have you contacted author of "mouseover popup image viewer" extension to take a look at this issue?

Edit: Great to see the MPIV author was able to resolve the problem. Thanks to both you and MPIV author!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

It didn't work on 33.1.1 Mac version.
the brower didn't show the Distill icon on the menubar.

----------
it works after I drag the icon to menu bar by manully.

--------
Sorry, When I click the Drop icon, it doesn't the distill menu or windows.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

It is possible that the icon was not added to the toolbar due to an external factor. You can add it back to the toolbar using the customize window and it should work fine. If the problem persists feel free to reach us at support@distill.io. All the best!

Edit: Great to know that it worked for you. Happy Distilling!

Edit2: Send us an email and we can discuss and resolve your issue there. This section isn't great for conversations and providing customer support. Thanks!

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Best at what it does, out of the addons I've used for similar tasks. Took a minute for me to familiarize with the UI and how to actually get into the settings etc. Not that obvious in my opinion.

I would like to be able to exclude items from being monitored that I've selected as well if the element is within a monitored element etc. Also maybe some more advanced conditions.

Overall, very good, just a couple things I noticed that would make it better for my use cases.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

Thanks for the feedback! Could you email us at support@distill.io with more details and what you need?

> I would like to be able to exclude items from being monitored that I've selected as well if the element is within a monitored element etc..

Distill can exclude elements within a watched selection. Click the element that you need to ignore after you have selected the element to watch.

Thanks!

Not working...before, now it's perfect Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Sorry but it didn't works on 34.0b1
"ReferenceError: AlertBox_O_O is not defined browser.xul:1"
in browser console

****

It works now after I update to 34b4

However I don't find a way to delete watched element except edit the json setting directly, so 4 start instead of 5!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed). 

Solid Add-On, Always Improving Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Distill Web Monitor has really improved sharply in the last couple of iterations. The UI, which started out a bit clumsy, is now looking quite polished. One minor nit: in the last release the Schedule slider has gotten wonky again, skipping 2 and 3 hours after 7 hours, so it's no longer possible to set the slider to say, 12 hours. It should move smoothly through 24 hours. Okay, and maybe the upgrade pricing seems rather high ($9 a month for basic? That's more than I pay for Netflix), but I could be wrong; perhaps other users see the value and disagree. Still a Five Star add-on all the way.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed). 

It will only get better as will incremental improvements over a period of time. We started using a new library for the slider which may have caused the change in behavior, next update will address this problem.

Price of premium plans is about the balance between the value one gets out of the service and what we can charge for the service to be sustainable for continued development. Comparison with Netflix should also include the first plan that provides software for free! Free extensions and add-on provides an incredible value to most of our users who do not need the premium services. However once we reach Netflix's scale, the premium plans will become cheaper. I promise! :)

Good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One question: When to reintruduce fully localizable feature?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thats a great question. Over past few months Distill has been trying to segregate localization strings into one file. This process hasn't been completed yet. Expect us to be ready for localization by end of this year. Are you interested in localizing it? If you are, reach me ajit [at] distill.io and we can start it even sooner! :)

Just perfect Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's a perfect addon. Just to say about a bug that it has to me. When i click changed pages inside inbox to open in new window, i loose labels of that page. So i have to associate again labels. If i click it from notiffication there is no problem.
I have firefox.
Thank you!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Thanks for reporting the issue. This bug has been fixed in the latest version 1.1.0 under review. You can get it from https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/alertbox/versions/

What is your email? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have a question.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Send me an email at ajit at distill.io and we can discuss it there.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this great module. The update is really good.

But the "show/hide changes" button is not working on my firefox 31.0 (i have the "No Script" plugin, but it is deactivated for distill.io)
It is working in chrome

Something better would be to receive mail alerts with the changes already included, like in the webapp. But instead receiving a mail alert and going to the website to see the changes, we would receive a mail which shows the changes.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Hey, show/hide changes should work fine with Firefox 31 as well. Reach me out at ajit [at] distill.io and lets debug the problem you are having. And thanks for the suggestions!

What happened to 1 second checks? Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I can't do anything with 5 second checks. Why no more 1 second checks?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Sorry about it but as a matter of policy we will never support check interval smaller than 5 seconds which is already too low! Having very small check interval for a long period affects the websites' performance negatively.

A big problem. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I really love this addon, but I cannot keep it activated because Firefox loses focus and clicking inside the window times and times again is very annoying. That's why, unfortunately, I have to rate this addon with only two stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

My guess is that you are monitoring pages at very high frequency. Unfortunately this problem has no solution since Firefox may lose focuses when a page opened in background requests focus. As a workaround you can install it in a another profile. In that case your monitors will not have any effect on your active browsing session. If this is a no go but use Chrome, you might try the Chrome extension that does not suffer from this limitation. In the meantime I will look for a possible solution to your problem. If you have any more question send me an email at ajit at disitll.io.

need the old behavior of the icon in the toolbar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works fine but,
why can't we open the Inbox tab directly by icon click (as in the past) without the Inbox popup ?
thanks

edit:
thanks for your reply, bookmark created, 5 stars

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

You can always bookmark the inbox and open it like any other webpage.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great addon, I've been using it for months. I would love if if you could add custom sound alerts like in the previous version.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

This is in our plan. What kind of sound are you looking for? It would be great if you could email me at ajit [at] distill.io with your preferences.