Not working...before, now it's perfect Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Sorry but it didn't works on 34.0b1
"ReferenceError: AlertBox_O_O is not defined browser.xul:1"
in browser console

****

It works now after I update to 34b4

However I don't find a way to delete watched element except edit the json setting directly, so 4 start instead of 5!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed). 

Solid Add-On, Always Improving Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Distill Web Monitor has really improved sharply in the last couple of iterations. The UI, which started out a bit clumsy, is now looking quite polished. One minor nit: in the last release the Schedule slider has gotten wonky again, skipping 2 and 3 hours after 7 hours, so it's no longer possible to set the slider to say, 12 hours. It should move smoothly through 24 hours. Okay, and maybe the upgrade pricing seems rather high ($9 a month for basic? That's more than I pay for Netflix), but I could be wrong; perhaps other users see the value and disagree. Still a Five Star add-on all the way.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed). 

It will only get better as will incremental improvements over a period of time. We started using a new library for the slider which may have caused the change in behavior, next update will address this problem.

Price of premium plans is about the balance between the value one gets out of the service and what we can charge for the service to be sustainable for continued development. Comparison with Netflix should also include the first plan that provides software for free! Free extensions and add-on provides an incredible value to most of our users who do not need the premium services. However once we reach Netflix's scale, the premium plans will become cheaper. I promise! :)

Good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One question: When to reintruduce fully localizable feature?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thats a great question. Over past few months Distill has been trying to segregate localization strings into one file. This process hasn't been completed yet. Expect us to be ready for localization by end of this year. Are you interested in localizing it? If you are, reach me ajit [at] distill.io and we can start it even sooner! :)

Just perfect Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's a perfect addon. Just to say about a bug that it has to me. When i click changed pages inside inbox to open in new window, i loose labels of that page. So i have to associate again labels. If i click it from notiffication there is no problem.
I have firefox.
Thank you!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Thanks for reporting the issue. This bug has been fixed in the latest version 1.1.0 under review. You can get it from https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/alertbox/versions/

What is your email? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have a question.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Send me an email at ajit at distill.io and we can discuss it there.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this great module. The update is really good.

But the "show/hide changes" button is not working on my firefox 31.0 (i have the "No Script" plugin, but it is deactivated for distill.io)
It is working in chrome

Something better would be to receive mail alerts with the changes already included, like in the webapp. But instead receiving a mail alert and going to the website to see the changes, we would receive a mail which shows the changes.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Hey, show/hide changes should work fine with Firefox 31 as well. Reach me out at ajit [at] distill.io and lets debug the problem you are having. And thanks for the suggestions!

What happened to 1 second checks? Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I can't do anything with 5 second checks. Why no more 1 second checks?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Sorry about it but as a matter of policy we will never support check interval smaller than 5 seconds which is already too low! Having very small check interval for a long period affects the websites' performance negatively.

A big problem. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I really love this addon, but I cannot keep it activated because Firefox loses focus and clicking inside the window times and times again is very annoying. That's why, unfortunately, I have to rate this addon with only two stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

My guess is that you are monitoring pages at very high frequency. Unfortunately this problem has no solution since Firefox may lose focuses when a page opened in background requests focus. As a workaround you can install it in a another profile. In that case your monitors will not have any effect on your active browsing session. If this is a no go but use Chrome, you might try the Chrome extension that does not suffer from this limitation. In the meantime I will look for a possible solution to your problem. If you have any more question send me an email at ajit at disitll.io.

need the old behavior of the icon in the toolbar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works fine but,
why can't we open the Inbox tab directly by icon click (as in the past) without the Inbox popup ?
thanks

edit:
thanks for your reply, bookmark created, 5 stars

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

You can always bookmark the inbox and open it like any other webpage.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great addon, I've been using it for months. I would love if if you could add custom sound alerts like in the previous version.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

This is in our plan. What kind of sound are you looking for? It would be great if you could email me at ajit [at] distill.io with your preferences.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

このアドオン「AlertBox」に更新頻度の低いサイトを登録することで自動的に通知してくれます。非常に便利です。

欠点として、初期状態で「電子メール通知のみ」に設定できません。新しい項目を登録するたびに、電子メール通知を追加して、それ以外を削除しなければいけません。非常に面倒です。また、アイコンが文字化け しています。アイコンのかわりに、2×2文字で「F O O C」のような文字が 表示されています。修正してほしいです。

----------------------------------------
<English>
This add-on called "AlertBox" can notify the renewal of the registered sites which have low updating frequency. It is very convenient.

But, there are some faults. All default settings of this add-on cannot change by users. So, users always must change the way of notification to "E-mail address only". I want to change the default setting to "E-mail address only", and must delete other ways of notification. They are very troublesome.

Moreover, this add-on cannot show icons correctly. In other words, icons are garbled. For example, a certain icon is showed 2x2 characters like "F O O C". I want the author to correct them.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

Thanks for the review! Distill does not have a way to define the defaults by default. We are working on ways to make it easier. Regarding icons, are you talking about preview in Inbox? Distill should be able show images as seen in webpages. Can you email me more information about it?

New version is a weak imitation of old version Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This used to be a very simple, useful plugin, but the programmers decided to change for the sake of change and add a bunch of features that don't work, and change the interface to a complicated mess that doesn't function as it should. Every time I update to the "new" version I'm disappointed. I'll stick with last year's version, it may not be as pretty but it works great.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17.20140513). 

What is not working?

It is good to know that you are satisfied with the old version. In some respect that may be all you need. Could you tell me more about what is not working for you? As far as I know, most of the issues have been fixed.. It is likely that we may have missed something that is not working for you. Send me at my email address ajit [at] distill.io. It is improving as we talk and hope that your feedback will help it become even better.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

When you set the update interval to more than 23 days (e.g. 25 or 28 days), it checks every 5 secs instead. This has been happening since the major upgrade (version 1.0.8.20140217).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14.201404XX). 

Fixed in the last update.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awsome add-on. Only question I have - the add on appears to limit the number of labels to 20 which I have used. Can this be expanded on ?
Hi Ajit K
Thanks for the swift reply. I use the add-on to monitor the price of various products so each label is the product name, hence requiring in excess of 20 labels. Best regards.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14.201404XX). 

It seems that we unintentionally limited the queried list of labels to 20. There is no other reason for us to limit it. It will be fixed! Thanks for pointing it out. I was curious to know how many alerts you have if you have the need to have 20 or more labels?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Is there any way to monitor github pages?
---
Select elements to watch feature is still not available on github. Here's a similar issue reported on pulsvu.
http://pulsvu.com/node/2138

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.12.20140408). 

You should be able to. Reach us at support helpdesk in case you need help or have further queries.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I use this extension for several years, and it's getting better and better since than. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.12.20140408). 

虽有不足,但仍然推荐使用新版 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

虽然新版本比之前的旧版本缺少了一些自定义功能,但是我还是觉得新版好,首先新版本比之前更漂亮了,额,旧版本的确不好看,不过新版支持三种选择器,分别有Xpath,css seclect。javascript,利用这三种搭配使用,可以是的提醒精度更高。PS:推荐搭配EHH使用

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.9.20140304). 

我还是赶脚版本 0.4.9.20130722最好用了。。。 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

现在新版的提醒,每次新打开火狐,要提醒好一阵子,以前的好想就是只提醒最新的一个,而且,更新之后未点击的,会以计数方式出现在图标下方。。难看,还是以前独立的帅

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.9.20140304). 

no problem in FF24 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Did what I need very good, easy to use, only the filter is a little confuse at first, if it has backup option then it's 5 *.
thanks for the hard work !

Reply to developer: thanks for the quick respond, is this going to backup only the Alert box filter created for sites? no other add on pref involves Right?
Just make a copy somewhere else and put it back where it is to restore? Thank you so much

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217). 

To your last question: yes it is what you expect, no other prefs. Very easy to restore.

Alertbox Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This piece of software can take all the hard work out of watching websites for changes. Excellent add-on I highly recommend it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217).