DOES NOT WORK WITH FILTAQUILLA Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Several problems with filtaquilla.
The "save attachments to" and "detach attachments to" does not work with exquilla (saved or detached attachments becomes 0 octet empty files)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1160). 

forwarding Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Messages with attachments are sent through filters messages without attachments. Please fix it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1160). 

Non-obvious licensing model Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works as designed, but does not detail the non-free licensing model in the short description, as for example searching/installing it in Thunderbird, which is plain deceptive, as I would not have installed it otherwise. Free software exists to perform this functionality, it just requires additional work, which I'm assuming most individuals who turn to Thunderbird for Exchange are willing to research.

Edit: After Developer's update below addressing my problem I have revised my rating. There are still some issues to work-out using this add-on and then removing it however. For example, the associated email account must also be removed before removing the add-on, otherwise it won't be present or available to re-add. Functionality still works as intended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1160). 

OK, I'll add it in he summary, even though it has always been clear in the description

Mozilla support for non-free addons is miserable, as most such sites would have clear markers between paid and non-paid. The license model has always been clear in the description, but I'll also make it clear in the summary

Very good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works very well with the latest Thunderbird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Configuration doesn't work as it should Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately automatically configuration doesn't work. Autodiscover will loop. testing configuration will loop. Only manual configuration with manually added URL to EWS works as it should. Unfortunately price is too high for that functionality. 45 USD I can spend to fully working email client, not for plugin buggy and poor functionality plugin.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Worth it for a very small subscription Rated 4 out of 5 stars

After work migrated our emails to an exchange server we were forced to use outlook after years of Thunderbird. After looking for quite some time, ExQuilla was the only viable alternative to using outlook (there's very little out there).

We had some problems with sending attachments, but the support was helpful, they read through my logs and the problem was fixed. (Had to give them a day or two to respond but when they did the help was great).

We have never used shared address books before, and we are only a small (<50 employees) company so I can't comment on the other reviews, but if you are a small company who uses Thunderbird but want an exchange server to help multiple people manage multiple emails, backed up off-site, then we reccomend this.


You get 2 months trial and we are halfway in and will definitely be subscribing.

Edit. Evolution is no longer supported, the subscription may be a lot for some individual users, but multiple license cost is the price of a pint a year which is pretty tiny considering this guy is devoting his spare time to something that means I don't have to use the horrible horrible outlook. (It's so God damn terrible)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Broken authentication with Exchange 2013 Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Authentication against Microsoft Exchange 2013 appears to be broken. With the correct credentials I repeatedly get re-prompted for them. Eventually AD gives up completely and my account gets locked out.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

No compelling reason to pay anything for poorly developed product. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

No support for the events whatsoever, no address book support, no tasks. Doesn't look like somebody spent years of development on this add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Good plugin. Does not scale well. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

For smaller mail accounts this should work just fine, but when you're running with a larger mailbox with 15-30 subfolders and quite a few archived messages this thing begins to slow to a crawl. For comparison IMAP is able to handle the load just fine(2-8% CPU usage on average), though my office only allows exchange protocol outside the office network so I deal with ExQuilla.

The license cost is worth it, a project like this doesn't grow on trees. Evolution works, but isn't cross-platform like Thunderbird(the evolution ports are no longer developed).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Worth every cent

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Working without any issue.Nice app.
But payment method.
I wish longterm payment (e.g. for 3-5 years) with discount. I 've about used 50 days. working great with exchange. After 10 days, I will buy license.Just I've not tested calendar. I'll post it again.Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Worthwhile Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The add-on does what is supposed to do and is apparently very well and professionally maintained. That means also, that the limitations are known, and for sure there is always room for more scope of functionality, but I prefer the approach like here that it just works well for the stuff it is built for. On my personal wish-list is compatibility with Exchange filters, but I guess this is not that simple.
The fee is fair and justified.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Well worth the $10 sub - Works, makes Thunderbird feel native in doing exchange tasks Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Add-on works great, sync mail, address book. Simple setup, great value really to communite with exchange when you unwillingly are forced to use it in corporate enviroments. Thanks for the great work here.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Why is there be a lifelong cost on a plugin for freeware?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Funcional e fácil de configurar Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Funciona perfeitamente para enviar e receber e-mails. No entanto, o sincronismo dos contatos não está ocorrendo. Indefinido se o problema é minha configuração ou se há um problema no add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Login impossible Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Detects Server, Login impossible (Works with every other Programm)

Sooo... 0 Points!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Subscription... really Rated 1 out of 5 stars

No offence, but I really hate subscription. One time fee is fine, but not something that goes for ever. I just moved to davmail and everthing is working fine. I even made a donation.

Cheers,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Great convenience and worth the $10! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to say that this plugin has worked flawlessly allowing me to connect to my companies exchange server without me needing to use outlook for features like mail merges (things I cannot do via the webmail). So with out this extension I would not be able to any of the more advanced email management stuff I currently do without it.

I found the reviews that gave this extension a poor rating had a surprising number provide low ratings not do to the extension not working or crashing but do to the fact the developer was not giving it away for free. There is an extensive free use period of 60 days and you can get a temp session license in a pinch if you really needed it and were out of the 60 day period. That being said the developer has really built in a lot of ways to evaluate it to try it for yourself with out any risk or having to pay for it. Rating the product not based its performance or if it worked for you and solely on if it was free or not does not make a helpful review of the product. $10 a year is $0.84 a month and the outrage that I see in some of the other review about that does not tell you anything about how the extension preforms.

I recommend that you try this great piece of software if you are looking for a solution to let you connect your Thunderbird client to an exchange server and take advantage of that 60 trial. If it works for you and you find it saves you time and productivity like I have weigh that time verses $0.84/month. If it does not work for you look for another solution.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Exquilla randomly stops working on windows, and there is no reply to my support tickets. I *paid* for this addon, and I consider it a perfect waste of my money.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works great, and the price is very reasonable. It will be nice when the calendar provider is fully integrated. Without this addon I'd be stuck logging into Outlook web interface, which is pretty featureless on Linux.

As far as the complaints about it not being free, I don't see what that has to do with how good the add-on is. I prefer the donation request model, because it feels less intrusive, but I realize that can be impractical.

They could also give the user an activation key each year, so we don't have to create an account. I'm more turned off by having to give personal information, than by having to pay.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136).