Rated 5 out of 5 stars

a very good add-on.
had to disable javascript and flash in the options, otherwise it froze.
but other than that it works great

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this add-on is great but i need two other features in it.
first of all i think it should have an option for ignoring omissions.
secondly i need to check a site every minute or less. the add-on only allows me to automatically check the site every 5 minutes

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Only problem I have is when scanning some pages and I go to open up it up Firefox will stop responding. I found it helped to use the advanced and disable java and flash but it will still respond slowly and lock up at times.

Except for that annoyance I love this addon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Timing is Critical Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is one of my three or four most valuable add-ons, but I would like to see at least one modification. I monitor close to 100 software web sites; when I run a manual scan of all 100 sites, it is very annoying to then get a notification just minutes later announcing updates of those same sites based on the autoscan timer. Is there some way to reset the autoscan clock after *manual* scans and not just autoscans?

An example to clarify: if autoscan is set to run, say, at 7:00 but I run a manual scan 15 minutes earlier at 6:45, I don't really need to see another autoscan notification again at 7:00. If I have set autoscan to check every 6 hours, I don't need to see results again until 12:45 (6:45 manual scan + 6 hours). No big deal with just one site, but multiply that by 100 and the number of extraneous notifications becomes almost overwhelming. Resetting the timer based on the latest auto scan *or* the latest manual scan would be very helpful.

Another possibility: allow users to specify the precise time of the next autorun with the specified time interval to take effect after that.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Sehr gute Erweiterung um über Inhaltsänderungen beliebiger Webseiten auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben, ohne diese Seiten ständig besuchen zu müssen.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

A BUG? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It‘s a good extension and I have used it for a year.But recently I used it in a new laptop and find a problem in some pages monitored.when the page changed,the changed text is yellowed well,but the changed page is not alerted and overstriked at all,though the latest changed is colored....

How can I fix it?or am I set the extension wrong?Need a help,thank you very much!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I concur with Fred Flintstone's assessment of this add-on. I've been periodically checking this page for YEARS now, hoping to find an update containing the ability to specify a check region so I can finally ditch WebMon (an old, abandoned Windows app that does exactly what we need, but lacks HTTPS support), but no such luck as of yet. You've got a potential must-have add-on here, sneakypete -- how's about taking it to the next level for power users like Fred and I?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Could be better ... Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Update Scanner would be much better if it were possible to select a portion of the page to scan, rather than selecting the number of characters in the page that must change before it notifies the user. The problem with detecting the "number of characters that have changed" is that I get far too many false positives, because the part of the page I want to check may not change, but other parts have changed so it notifies me about those other changes ... which I could not care less about!

Check4Change 'correctly' detects changes only in the portion of the page that you select, so in this respect it is a better tool than Update Scanner. Unfortunately Check4Change does not remember to check pages when their tabs are closed, nor does it remember to check them again after a restart, so it fails miserably on these points, thus making it useless to me.

I need a tool that checks my pre-defined pages reliably whenever the browser is open. The ideal solution for my needs would be a tool that remembers to check for changes any time the browser is running, and it would check only in the specific part of the page that I specify -- such as the price on a product page for example. Then I could use it to automatically check any price on any web page, and when that price changes I would be alerted automatically.

The person who combines the capabilities of Check4Change and Update Scanner will have a winner. But as it is now (April 03, 2013) both of these addons fail to provide what I need most.

At least Update Scanner works after a restart and when my pages are not open in tabs, so that's why I continue to use it instead of Check4Change ... but with all the false positives it is frustrating to deal with to say the least.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great! Very useful function-I have no icon in toolbar and toolbar menu, is it a bug in FF20?-What about adding Rss? I'm dreaming for sure. Only one plug-in instead both, Simple stuff?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great plugin! But how can I make it scan more often than every 5th minute? I need at least every 1 minute.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Few ideas on how to make this extension better Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is an amazing addon. The only things that would make it better off the top of my head is if the blue arrow icon blinked continuously when sites are updated and if all the sites that are in the list are updated at once instead of being apart by minutes since having many notifications of site updates becomes a little annoying after a while.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.12). 

Ignore Fields Option Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is an excellent add-on. One feature I wish could be incorporated would be to ignore a specified field or frame of a page. I have some pages that I wish to monitor but they are constantly updated with "atta boys" in one section of the page. That section is entirely irrelevant to what I am monitoring and so I would like to dispense with notices just because changes are made there. Thanks for the great product! - Phillip

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

EXTREMELY useful add-on, I use it to monitor the upcoming tour dates of bands that I really like.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

arrow Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I delete the arrow at the bottom of the page and can't find it any more.
Please Help

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

See https://support.mozilla.org/kb/customize-firefox-controls-buttons-and-toolbars

Can't live without it Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works perfectly to scan my forum postings for new replies.
This way I get less reply-notification-mails.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

monitor particular word appearance Rated 3 out of 5 stars

is it possible to look for changes if particular word will appear on site? i am not interested with changes that are not related with specific word. If my page is changed and my word appeared than I'd like to be notified. I can monitor activity of other users on pages. Regards

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Cannot scan more often than every 5 minutes.

Sorry, but you should allow "Every 1 minute".

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Have used it since always, never had any problems up to and including FF17.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Still counts some numbers Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Yep, that's a major flaw. It counts the followers and hours since each post on Twitter. The very first update it didn't, but it did every time after that.That would have been only one star, but I threw in an extra one for the nice interface. The way it acts when it gets an update is nice.

But the addon does not work as it says it will work, so it cannot get an average (3 stars) or above review. I had to uninstall this because I couldn't use it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Feature request. Check for updates section of the page. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Add the ability to scan and display only some part of the page, the limited expression xPath.
This is the only drawback, can not assess addition to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10).