Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I found some more info for my broken Session Manager. I turned on logging & got the following 2 cases, which appear to be the same:

From Menu - Delete Sessions:

Thu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): onClose Fired\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): onWindowClosedRequest start\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): onWindowClosedRequest saved closing state\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): [JavaScript Error: \"\'Illegal value\' when calling method: [nsISessionStore::getWindowState]\"]\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): [JavaScript Error: \"\'Illegal value\' when calling method: [nsISessionStore::getWindowState]\"]\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): onWindowClosedRequest end\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:00 GMT): onUnload Fired\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:03:19 GMT): onLoad start, aDialog = true\r\n\r\n\r\n

From Toolbar Button (Save Session):

Thu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): onClose Fired\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): onWindowClosedRequest start\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): onWindowClosedRequest saved closing state\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): [JavaScript Error: \"\'Illegal value\' when calling method: [nsISessionStore::getWindowState]\"]\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): [JavaScript Error: \"\'Illegal value\' when calling method: [nsISessionStore::getWindowState]\"]\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): onWindowClosedRequest end\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:04:09 GMT): onUnload Fired\r\nThu, 15 Apr 2010 22:05:52 GMT): onLoad start, aDialog = true


Dave

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've been using Session Manager 0.6.7.4 on WinXP & OSX for quite some time without any problems ... a terrific addon!
Then all of a sudden yesterday or today Session Manager stopped working correctly the same way on BOTH systems! I cannot get Save Session to appear whether hitting the toolbar icon, or going through the menu in the icon or Tools. Also, Delete Sessions does not popup anything.

OSX was at Firefox 3.6.3, while WinXP was at Firefox 3.5.x; I've since updated the latter to 3.6.3 with no change.

At the same time this happened Tree Style Tab also stopped working on both (couldn't expand/collapse trees) ... but I was able to get it going again by using some different settings.

Any idea what could be going on here?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Good session manager Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I used to used it on previous version of Firefox and Windows XP, however, since I've upgraded to Windows 7 and installed the newest version of Firefox it just does not work at all! However, I believe it might be a problem with the add-on and it will get repaired by the developers and Session Manager will again become one of my favourite add-ons on Firefox!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

GREAT add-on for later reading maniacs (like me)... but keeps crashing firefox from 3.0 to 3.6 :(

i had to uninstall it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

No session manager in "Tools" Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have Session manager version 0.6.7.4 installed on my laptop and desktop machines. However, it does not show up in the "Tools" dropdown of the Firefox toolbar on both machines. I have tried to un-install and re-install but still no sign of it. The only way I can access session manager is through the "Add Ons" tab. Any ideas?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Worked perfectly most of the time. Shortly after I installed it though; firefox started freezing and crashing my system. I'm not sure if this addon was the cause, so I'm giving a neutral rating. I'm running Ubuntu 9.10 on an ancient laptop.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I use this all the time, its great. Will donate when I get a job! Would like to be able to delete & load sessions from one single window. Also, would be nice to be able to right-click selected session(s) and load/delete sessions from a pop-up menu. How about selecting multiple sessions using familiar ctrl + left mouse. If any of these suggestions are already included and just not enabled in the options, then I would suggest to make them enabled by default upon installation. Thx, and keep the the great work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Very useful for intense work Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A great add-on. I do lot of wrinting and translating work using the internet. For each text i need to open a lot of web pages i use for my writing. Before i kew this add-on, it was a pity to store all the pages in a bookmark-folder and recall the pages when i continue the writing work I stopped the day before. With session manager this has become much easier and faster. I have not finished my work ? No problem: store the session. The next day recall the session and continue the work.

Session manager works well together with Tree Style Tab, a Tab manager. Working with several windows and in each window 20 to 25 pages open in a tab is no problem, I don't get lost, keep the overview. I no more want to work without this add-on. Thank's a lot !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Can't live without Session Manager!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Es una excelente aplicacion .. imprescindible para quienes solemos navegar alternando con muchas pestañas a la vez...

recomendable al 100%

Gracias,...Saludos.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great addon!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful. It`s perfect, Only should worry about maintaining updated on each new version of firefox.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Bug in Tab Dragging: Loses Tab State Rated 3 out of 5 stars

If you drag a tab out to form a new window or to drop into an existing window, then all the history (back button), page state (POST data, form text, etc) is lost, even though these are normally saved on a session save/restore. What gives?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Life saviour Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hi there!
what a great tool!!!!
It saved a lot of worries and problems for me!
I managed to fix a session that was crashing my FF all the time and still get back all my important tabs.
Kudos!
/Mikael

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing! These functions should be integrated as part of the core Firefox application.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

When did the Backup Sessions function change? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've been using this for quite a while and it has been a wonderful tool. Something I've done in the past has been to open the Saved Session list to find windows I wanted to re-open that I didn't bookmark. (FF is always crashing because I keep so many windows and tabs open, and I don't bother to bookmark everything.) So I'll open a new browser window (with others already open), selected the pages I wanted from the Session Manager, and it adds them as tabs to the current window.

Well, I just tried to do it and, much to my chagrin, when I clicked the session to view in the Tools | Session Manager | Backup Sessions-> MENU, it proceeded to close all of my windows! With NO WARNING!

I had some windows open that I did not want to lose, and now I can't get them back. :( If it's going to CLOSE anything, it should at least ASK FIRST!!!!

I went through all of the settings and cannot find anything that applies in this case. (I'm on a Mac.)

When was this change made? It sucks! I'm rather pissed because this lost some IMPORTANT STUFF that I have NO WAY to recover.

I'd call this a BUG, but it seems to be just a recent change silently made to part of the addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Uncheck the "Replace Existing Windows" setting

If the "Replace Existing Windows" setting is checked (or you choose replace when loading a session), then loading a session will replace the current existing window.

Session Manager makes a temporary backup of your current session before overwriting it, but only keeps the last replaced session so loading another session will overwrite that. See http://sessionmanager.mozdev.org/options.html#saving

NOT VERY RELIABLE Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Problems I have encountered repeatedly include:
1. tabs from recovered windows are merged into one window (loses different windows) (merge windows option is turned off)
2. sometimes after crash recovery file will not load...causes FF 3.5.5 to keep crashing. Only way to recover is to restart the computer.
3. Sometimes recovery file after crash is corrupted and cannot recover tabs and windows.

Using FF3.5.3 on Mac OS X 10.4.11

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

restoring Rated 2 out of 5 stars

it seems this does not save position in each tab (which I need for reading documents...) and does not cache pages in session ("Disable cache fixer" is not checked) so that it takes a lot of time when restoring a session (much longer than Tab Mix Plus does). Could you make it save parts of pages to session also?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

restoring Rated 2 out of 5 stars

it seems this does not save position in each tab (which I need for reading documents...) and does not cache pages in session ("Disable cache fixer" is not checked) so that it takes a lot of time when restoring a session (much longer than Tab Mix Plus does). Could you make it save parts of pages to session also?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This extension is really nice. I'm always working with many tabs and a few sessions. Very helpful!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.7.4).