Searchbar content Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Is it possible to store the content of the searchbar too?

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thank you. I suggest you to use Form History Control
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/form-history-control
Much more powerful than Textarea Cache

Awesome add-on, but stopped working Rated 4 out of 5 stars

A huge helper, but version 0.9.0 stopped working. Doesn't store anything, even when all other extensions are turned off. Backed up to 0.8.11. Firefox 26.0, Xubuntu 13.04

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.0). 

Would you please try 0.9.1b in Development Channel? Thank you.

Nice idea for an add on but good luck finding icon or button to open cache window Rated 2 out of 5 stars

When I installed this add on the icon to the left of the address bar (I think) appeared. All very nice. But that icon shortly afterwards disappeared and now how does one recover text? I entered some text in a comment box on one site but the icon did not come back when I thus put text in the cache.

The description of this add on also mentions something about putting a button on the toolbar. How to put such a button on the toolbar is not revealed. The "more info" option is not helpful at all. Don't waste your time with this add on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.0). 

Comment by AMO admin on users' & / or devs' conversations in Reviews Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This is not a review. Do not attempt to adjust your monitor.

I suggest another method be provided ASAP for users to communicate w/ the dev & vice versa, separate from *reviews.* For one, if users need to ask follow up questions / give replies to devs, the review system requires users to create a new review each time.

They can't just enter follow up comments / questions. One important issue with the current Textarea Cache user - dev contact process is, creating subsequent reviews *only for back & forth dialogue* will skew the addon rating. It's also hard for other users to follow the conversations & benefit from the dialogue.

Some AMO extension devs use one continuous Mozillazine forum thread for their support "forum." It's not the best, for searching the forum for topics, but it's better than using the review area.

AMO admin points out the review system was *never intended* for conversations between users & devs or for support:

"Reviews weren't designed to be for conversation. Developers should provide *contact information* so you can discuss any issues with the add-on. Reviews should be limited to rate how the add-on works and we only provide developer replies so they can tell users where to get additional help or continue the discussion."
- jorge-villalobos AMO Administrator

Thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Excellent Add-On Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you, Hemiola SUN, for your quick response and for considering the suggestions in my previous review.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Button in status bar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Reply to Hemiola SUN's comment to malvachat.
Thanks very much for getting back so promptly.
I can of course only speak for myself.
I'd like the button in the status bar.
But at the end of the day it's a minor issue.
Thanks for a great add on anyway.
OK mate I'll try the beta.
Great comunacation top marks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Please try the beta version 0.9.0b
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/textarea-cache/versions/
Thank you.

Excellent add-on Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great idea and implementation, can be a life-saver at times. My only issue being that the status bar icon cannot be moved around freely, it is locked. I refer to the icon controlled by the "General Setting" option, not the permanent one (with the arrow) that can be moved.

update March 27: thanks for the reply below but as I mention, that is not possible with Textarea Cache.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Thank you. You can right-click on toolbar and choose "customize", then drag textarea cache icon onto the add-on bar.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This thing is spectacular! HOWEVER I'm a big time Firefox addon developer so am always using the Scratchpad, this thing makes scratchpad practically unusuable after you type enough into it. Seriuous serious perfromance lag I can't even move cursor. Now I know my computer isn't great so I had restarted browser, and then restarted computer then still couldn't find problem. I fianlly narrowed it down to TACache, as soon as disabled it I could type in scratchpad smoothly again. Before couldn't even move the text cursor without my computer going into overdrive. If you can fix this perfect 5 stars man.

Edit: March 25 2014, in reply to dev reply: Much thanks for follow up. I downloaded the new version as I saw it was updated and am testing. Will get back to you with report.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thank you for your report. Could you please give me the detail for reproduction of the bug step by step? Thank you again.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Having this add-on makes me a lot less worried through my day-to-day life. Losing progress because of a hand slip or because of a crash rarely happens, but when it does, it's good to have an add-on that effectively saves everything you had written on boxes before submitting.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Won't save very last edit or text in Preview Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I submitted a report of an issue a month ago and got no response from the webdeveloper.

This addon will only save the previous text and not the very last edited text.

This addon will not save text that is PREVIEWED, it only saves if in compose box or posted.

With these issues this addon is not good and not usable.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great tool indeed

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant extension! Saved me much stress! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

When you install this extension you realize this functionality should be included in all browsers by default. This extension is worth switching browsers for. I have an unreliable connection and no longer do I have to type text into an editor then copy it into the web page to be sure. This tool has saved me many moments of unreasonable frustration, and it just sits in the background doing its job silently, and has never failed to delight me, there are times you just want to hug this extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Super Addon! Macht genau das was es soll.
Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I was looking for, we had a short blackout a few minutes ago :-)
Thank you. Works really well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Спасибо! Расширение экономит нервы!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this addon is sometimes lifesaver

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9). 

AWESOME!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

i cant forget how many times i tried to send a form and for a stupid error i lost everything i typed!
now with this im safe

awesome

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9). 

A Must-have Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Once you installed it, you can never imagine the life without it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.9).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Forum Genie Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Incredible on online forums!
Save pictures and formatting.
Site Black-list option is icing on the cake.

And... contently updated to be compatible with betas!
/Cheers

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.8).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Great for forums/typing anything Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great extension to use if you do any typing. Facebook/Reddit or any other social network, or any forums. Despite your settings, pages can/will load pages in the current tab, which will erase everything you've typed. Or the page will reload and the same thing happens. This extension caches your text and you will be glad you have it the very first time this happens (or wish you'd installed it the next time you lose text). Top extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.8).