Great but Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like this a lot, but is there a way to have it ignore numbers? I have a page where numbers are constantly updating and I don't need to know, but I do want to know when any words are added. I would not know what the words would be--just need to know if any words at all have been added.

Yes, there is. You can use conditions to take actions only if matches a condition. In this case you can use regex condition. Email us at support [at] distill.io support.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Waht they don't tell you before install: If you want to receive e-mail alerts, you need to have an accout at distill.io. If I wanted such an account, I wouldn't need this add-on.

Backup Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Distill is awesome, i need to know how can i do a backup of pages that i monitor.
There is some way that when i need to format my pc i can recover list of the pages i monitored before?

You can either sync to cloud or backup your Firefox profile to recover after formatting your PC. Feel free to reach support[at]distill.io for more info or any help.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

i hope it can (default) show changed content highlight, like old version.
or like quiterss (rss reader), we can choose only display unread content (one or more xpath)
https://addons.mozilla.org/En-us/firefox/addon/feedly

absolutely stunning! will be truelly awesome when mac osx app released Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Add-on enables me to receive pop-up notifications of changes on any web-site. Wow!
Apparently IOS app is on its way too.

Excellent FAQ. Read it all. Very easy setup.
What is missing, is samples of common use-cases
e.g. search 3 websites for a list of items (say 10 things on my list), daily
e.g. search 1 website and tell me all the new items added in category x or meeting xyz criteria
e.g. for x monitor, send me a popup notification checking every 15minutes (if I am online) AND email me when I am offline, every 3hrs for the same thing. So I do not get email notifications when online.

I get so tired of checking the pages, so this add-on is a dream come true for me.

Heads up: Does involve a cost if your wanting to do very frequent checks e.g. every minute as the number checks on free account will be quickly exceeded. Free allows 3 monitors/30email notifications. I will sign-up for year though as it is that good.

But it is available. That is the biggest plus.

Works well, but interface could be improved Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I managed to set it up in a breeze, quite easy to use and works.

At first I could not find the option to only trigger when NEW text appeared but the developper pointed me to the option:
it is ADDED text (the interface woud benefit from some inline help imho)

The name of the option was not clear enough to me to consider it would do the exact thing I wanted.
(I think 'mark as read' should do that though, if you miss the trigger the first time, you have no more trigger sent with the 'added text( trigger)'

Thanks for the answer from the developper that explained it!

ps:if the word that triggered the event could be highlighted in the text it would be very cool as well

If you are trying to use conditions to filter actions, you may be interested in "Added text" "has" "word" instead of "Text" "has" "word". Also, monitoring parts of page instead of the whole page helps a lot in removing the noise. Feel free to reach us support@distill.io or personally to me at ajit@distill.io for any question or suggestion. Cheers!

Edit: Thanks for the feedback. If you have more, I would love to hear them. Do send them to me at ajit@distill.io!

[Open unread in tab] every time it open one only Rated 5 out of 5 stars

[Open unread in tab] every time it opens only one of all unread (and mark all as read)
this problem has been about 1 month or more, am I the only one who met this?
FX37.0.2,
Distill 1.2.1
-----------------------------
updated & fixed,
highest regards!

This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

This bug is present in version 1.2.1 but has been fixed in subsequent releases under review. It takes some time to get them released publicly. You can download and test them right away from: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/alertbox/versions/. Thanks!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Past problems with element selection are fixed.
Can even use the addon on .rss pages!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.9.1-signed). 

Feedback Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Yet more feedback:
- Using the monitor on a DirectoryIndex website doesn't work properly.
Response: "TIMEOUT:Task: sieves timedout after 60 seconds"
- Using the monitor on a CloudFlare protected site will cause it not being able to retrieve the website content (if the cookies of the site were cleared since the last manual visit) Example: http://teamspeak.com

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.9.1-signed).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thanks for the feedback. Regarding TIMEOUT errors, please send us more details at support@distill.io and we will take a look. Chances are that if the page is static, setting dynamic to false in config may do the trick. Regarding the CloudFlare protected site, if your browser can access the website so can Distill and similarly if your browser is not able to access the website nor will Distill be able to.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

MISUNDERSTANDING!
Ok I deleted my former review and apologies to the dev of this extension...
I was a bit too hasty to judge this. (Looks like if you don't use the cloud part there isn't any limitations?) Hmm maybe the dev can add that to the description to make it more clear to new users of it.

Anyways, sorry for flying off the handle! :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.9.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I think I can access and display correctly that page recently. When I refresh "chrome://alertbox/content/inbox.html", I grab the following message from the Web Console:
"Use of getPreventDefault() is deprecated. Use defaultPrevented instead. jquery.js:3346
downloadable font: OS/2: bad linegap: -32 (font-family: "icomoon" style:normal weight:normal stretch:normal src index:1)
source: resource://alertbox/ui/css/font/icomoon.woff?axmcy2".
Dunno if it's useful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.8.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Love it! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just created an account to post this. I absolutely love this add-on. Wish I had found it sooner!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.8.1-signed). 

Thank you and wish you a happy new year. :)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Edit: 1st of all I really appreciate supports work, they were VERY friendly and patient with me.
2nd after last update bug are gone and now extension work very well.
Thank you.
Unfortunately doesn't work for me, nothing happens when I click the Alert Box icon and there's no another way to get menu.. Probably not compatibility with some of my addons, didn't tried on clean profile though.
Firefox 34.0.05
Adblock Plus 2.6.6
Add to Search Bar 2.8
Add-on Compatibility Reporter 2.0.4
AutoCopy 2 1.2.9
Back to Owner Tab 0.3.2014032801
Bazaar Plus 0.4
BBCodeXtra 0.4.1
ChatZilla 0.9.91
Context Search 0.6.3
Cookies Manager+ 1.5.2
Copy Plain Text 2 1.3.2
Custom Buttons 0.0.5.8
Distill Web Monitor (formerly AlertBox) 1.1.2
Download Status Bar 12.3.0
Element Hiding Helper для Adblock Plus 1.3
Enhanced Steam 7.2.2
Flagfox 5.0.10
Force-TLS 4.0.0
FxIF 0.4.8
Gmail Checker 2.6.4
Greasemonkey 2.3
gTranslate 0.9
History in Threads 1.7
ImgLikeOpera 0.6.23
KeeFox 1.4.4
Locationbar² 1.0.6
Nightly Tester Tools 3.7
NoScript 2.6.9.7
Paste Quote 0.3.6
PDF Download 3.0.0.2
Pocket 3.0.5
QuickDrag 2.1.3.23
QuickNote 0.7.5
Restart Firefox 0.5
ScrapBook 1.5.11
Silvermel and Charamel XT 1.5.7
Status-4-Evar 2014.07.06.05
Stay-Open Menu 2.2.1
Switch to Tab no more 0.2
Tab Mix Plus 0.4.1.5.2
TagSieve 4.3.1
Text Link 4.1.2013040601
Update Scanner 3.2.0
Uppity 1.5.8
User Agent Switcher 0.7.3
Work Offline 2.2

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

Please get in touch with us at support@distill.io. It will be great if you can send us any error message that appears in your Browser Console as well. Thanks!

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great Firefox addon! Thank you given us the awesome addon. I hope you can add feature that when checking the web pages.

And another question is, in some cases, the layout of the popup dialog window when clicking the alertbox icon is not displayed correctly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

> I hope you can add feature that when checking the web pages.

It seems that you were about to suggest a new feature but forgot to do so. Would love to hear what it is. :)

> the layout of the popup dialog window when clicking the alertbox icon is not displayed correctly.

In what way is it not displayed correctly? Please send more details via email to support at distill.io. Thanks!

反馈个alertbox导致火狐内存暴涨的异常现象 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

您好,反馈个alertbox导致火狐内存暴涨的异常现象:FF34及33、32等旧版,alertbox1.1.2及旧版,启用10多条规则,监控时间有1分钟、5分钟、1小时不等,用greasemonkey2.3及旧版+mouseover popup image viewer(也是用过多个版本),火狐开着但不使用或最小化状态,内存占用就不断上涨,10分钟能涨100M多,1小时能涨800M,停用alertbox,内存就不再上涨。启用alertbox但禁用mouseover popup image viewer,内存正常,用alertbox+GM+其他脚本,内存正常。。alertbox+scriptish+mouseover popup image viewer都是最新版,没有内存暴涨现象,但是在FF29,alertbox0.4.9+scriptish+mouseover popup image viewer也有过内存暴涨现象。。

又新建了配置,只装alertbox+GM+mouseover popup image viewer,内存暴涨现象依旧。。
后来又发现,内存暴涨后打开个新标签页,10多秒钟后,内存开始快速下降,但比暴涨前还是多100M以上,回不到最初状态。而且之后内存还是会持续增长。。
望作者测试核实!!谢谢!


2014.12.10
感谢回复!已向MPIV作者反馈,他确认了内存泄漏现象找到了问题所在给出了解决方法,更新脚本后内存不再暴涨,问题已解决!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thank you for your detailed diagnosis. From what I understood using Google Translate, your observation is:

1. When using Distill with "mouseover popup image viewer" extension memory usage continues to grow with time.
2. When using Distill without "mouseover popup image viewer" there is no memory leak.

Note that Distill periodically opens a webpage in background to check for updates. If an extension or any program holds data related to the webpage opened in background and does not clean it up when the browser is destroyed then it will cause memory usage to increase with time.

Have you contacted author of "mouseover popup image viewer" extension to take a look at this issue?

Edit: Great to see the MPIV author was able to resolve the problem. Thanks to both you and MPIV author!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

It didn't work on 33.1.1 Mac version.
the brower didn't show the Distill icon on the menubar.

----------
it works after I drag the icon to menu bar by manully.

--------
Sorry, When I click the Drop icon, it doesn't the distill menu or windows.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

It is possible that the icon was not added to the toolbar due to an external factor. You can add it back to the toolbar using the customize window and it should work fine. If the problem persists feel free to reach us at support@distill.io. All the best!

Edit: Great to know that it worked for you. Happy Distilling!

Edit2: Send us an email and we can discuss and resolve your issue there. This section isn't great for conversations and providing customer support. Thanks!

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Best at what it does, out of the addons I've used for similar tasks. Took a minute for me to familiarize with the UI and how to actually get into the settings etc. Not that obvious in my opinion.

I would like to be able to exclude items from being monitored that I've selected as well if the element is within a monitored element etc. Also maybe some more advanced conditions.

Overall, very good, just a couple things I noticed that would make it better for my use cases.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2.1-signed). 

Thanks for the feedback! Could you email us at support@distill.io with more details and what you need?

> I would like to be able to exclude items from being monitored that I've selected as well if the element is within a monitored element etc..

Distill can exclude elements within a watched selection. Click the element that you need to ignore after you have selected the element to watch.

Thanks!

Not working...before, now it's perfect Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Sorry but it didn't works on 34.0b1
"ReferenceError: AlertBox_O_O is not defined browser.xul:1"
in browser console

****

It works now after I update to 34b4

However I don't find a way to delete watched element except edit the json setting directly, so 4 start instead of 5!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed). 

Solid Add-On, Always Improving Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Distill Web Monitor has really improved sharply in the last couple of iterations. The UI, which started out a bit clumsy, is now looking quite polished. One minor nit: in the last release the Schedule slider has gotten wonky again, skipping 2 and 3 hours after 7 hours, so it's no longer possible to set the slider to say, 12 hours. It should move smoothly through 24 hours. Okay, and maybe the upgrade pricing seems rather high ($9 a month for basic? That's more than I pay for Netflix), but I could be wrong; perhaps other users see the value and disagree. Still a Five Star add-on all the way.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed). 

It will only get better as will incremental improvements over a period of time. We started using a new library for the slider which may have caused the change in behavior, next update will address this problem.

Price of premium plans is about the balance between the value one gets out of the service and what we can charge for the service to be sustainable for continued development. Comparison with Netflix should also include the first plan that provides software for free! Free extensions and add-on provides an incredible value to most of our users who do not need the premium services. However once we reach Netflix's scale, the premium plans will become cheaper. I promise! :)

Good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One question: When to reintruduce fully localizable feature?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.1.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thats a great question. Over past few months Distill has been trying to segregate localization strings into one file. This process hasn't been completed yet. Expect us to be ready for localization by end of this year. Are you interested in localizing it? If you are, reach me ajit [at] distill.io and we can start it even sooner! :)