Possible webextension problem Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please keep this in mind for the webextension: ghacks.net/2017/08/30/firefox-webextensions-may-identify-you-on-the-internet/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Works great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for finally adding e10s / WebExtension support. I realized how much I missed this addon when I was relying on Firefox's built-in referrer controls. Some sites (like photos.google.com > youtube.com) simply do not work without a valid referrer. This addon lets my protect my privacy and still use all the sites I want. Keep up the great work! :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2). 

Great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Any novel privacy-enhancing add-on gets a thumbs up from me. Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Excellent Addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I use this all the time. How is e10 compatibility coming along?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Great addon to avoid sending busybody referers Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like the fact the extension allows you to treat subdomains as different domains, and to configure how the referer should be set (same than URL or direct hit). The project is on GitHub: https://github.com/meh/smart-referer

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Perfect Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I was using RefControl before but this one is better (more simple and just looks better). Plus this one works on Firefox Mobile unlike RefControl.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Works wonderfully for privacy. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Not sure why everything online wants to spy on you nowadays...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Can't live without it!
Thanks developer.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Stops login to FlickR Rated 3 out of 5 stars

FlickR recently started preventing me logging in. Disabling Smart Referer resolved the issue. It's a shame, as it's been a reassuring add-on, but now unusable for me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Works flawlessly, but Firefox 28 has (hidden) preferences for this! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Since Firefox 28 there are three new items in about:config:

network.http.referer.XOriginPolicy: 0=always send, 1=send if base domains match, 2=send if hosts match
network.http.referer.spoofSource: false=real referer, true=spoof referer (use target URI as referer)
network.http.referer.trimmingPolicy: 0=send full URI, 1=scheme+host+port+path, 2=scheme+host+port

Referrer processing is done in this order. Thus, setting XOriginPolicy to 2 makes spoofSource and trimmingPolicy useless if going from a.example.com to b.example.com, since no referrer would be send anyway due to the XOriginPolicy.

If using the three new I'd suggest to set the old network.http.sendRefererHeader to 2 (default, always send referrer).

See https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=822869

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just what I was looking for. The default whitelist is quite helpful too!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

To bad... :( Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Not available for your platform. FF 25.0.1 (latest), Win8 (64)
This is an essential function and should be widely available. Please make this compatible or point me in the direction of something that is.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

It's already available for that platform and version, something's wrong on your side.

A must have extension for privacy. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Firefox should include this addon by default, it's simple and effective!!! Thank you for taking the time to make this! Five stars all the way!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

You're very welcome.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It works, but when I make a change to the preferences, it seems that I need to restart the browser before the changes can take effect.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

That shouldn't be the case at all, can you give me some ways to reproduce that behaviour?

Good Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I need my own local whitelist like in RefControl

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

You already have a local whitelist, just put them in the Allow field in the addon's preferences page.

Auto downloading of whitelist.txt Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The automatic downloading of the whitelist without user intervention is ok for most but not all. Removing the link in the options stops the download. How can the whitelist.txt be an option or manually setup? Where is it stored? Is it deleted when the browser closes, and then needs to get downloaded again? Other than what is mentioned about the whitelist.txt, the addon works as mentioned.

Reply: Ok, thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.11.1-signed.1-signed). 

It's already an option, if you remove the link from the addon's preference page it won't be reinstated unless you write the URL of your whitelist in that box.

It's not stored anywhere, it's just downloaded and set temporarily in the internal state of the addon, it gets downloaded every 24 hours or every time you enable the addon.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

amazing! this should be integrated in firefox

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.10.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A minimalistic add-on that does what it says on the tin. Excellent. My only suggestion would be to include an auto-updating rulelist to auto-whitelist major websites that, inevitably, have resulted (and will continue to result) in negative reviews here on AMO. It's important to have a custom whitelist field for fringe cases, but end-users really shouldn't have to whitelist things like disqus.com and api.solvemedia.com on their own.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.10.1-signed.1-signed). 

That does sound like a good idea, I'll think about how to approach it.

Thanks for the positive review.

Has problems Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've always said that security and privacy are a good thing... up until it interferes with your own access to content.

3 stars for effort. The addon is a good idea in theory.

This addon interferes with viewing content that is served from third-party hosting servers--both enterprise level, and discount alike), such as image hosting, flash media, and video streaming server hosting companies, to name a few, that won't serve the content without a receiving a referrer url from the site that is paying for the hosting to support their portal. This is typically to keep down bandwidth increases resulting from link proliferation due to other services (such as Google Search, for instance.)

This add-on interferes with a lot of sites on the web.If you are multimedia oriented, and spend much of your time looking at video, image sites (like Wallbase.cc), or listening to streaming music, then this add-on is not for you.

If you spend most of your time scanning news websites, reading articles, writing blogs, and doing research, then this add-on is probably a good idea for you, especially if your involved in controversy like 9/11 Truth, research into US banking and Wall Street frauds, and any other type of conspiracy or government cover-up studies.

* Update: The developer brings up a good point... the addon apparently allows you to "white-list" sites. I didn't check for that. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.10.1-signed.1-signed). 

As any other privacy addon you have to whitelist what you want to happen, and you can do that with this addon too.

It's like saying NoScript and RequestPolicy are bad because they break websites out of the box, you have to configure them, this is true for Smart Referer too.

Prevents videos from playing Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I was wondering why a lot of video sites were giving me "video not found" or notices that I needed to visit the video site to play the video (even though I was already there). After I disabled this add-on I was able to view videos on those sites without any problems. Perhaps a whitelist function might be needed in future releases? It was only after I posted this initial review that I found out there were instruction s on preventing this problem on the add-ons home page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.0.10.1-signed.1-signed). 

Yeah, it's on the preferences page of the addon in the addon manager.