Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Decent extension; however the file naming convention could be better.
IE: -0.1.06-tb.xpi
Files that start with a dash is a special character in the Unix world. Removing files with that character can cause problems for new users.

To all Nix users to remove such a file (after installation) you can do:

rm ./-0.1.06-tb.xpi

Hope that helps some one.
3 starts because of non standard file naming convention; which cause new users issues when trying to remove the file.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

excellent add-on for Thunderbird 2 - works fast, smooth and reliable!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Abandoned and does not work with Thunderbird 3.

Use Remove Duplicate Messages (Alternate) : https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/addon/4654

It's a five star replacement.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Es un excelente complemento. Para usarlo sólo has clik con el botón secundario del ratón sobre la carpeta que contiene los mensajes duplicados y selecciona la opción "Borrar mensaje duplicados..."; despues sólo sigue las intrucciones adicionales.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Quickly removed over 7k duplicates from my archive folders.

Worked perfectly!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Working fine Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Abandoned or not, but this one did the job of cleaning out duplicates in the same folder without any hassle - the Alternate version did not manage to do it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Do not install this unsupported extension.
The author has abandoned it and left it as a copyrighted (unable to be taken over by anyone else) project -- it has noticeable and severe limitations (though it still works), but you will regret using it.

Try the 'alternate' Remove messages - a (forced) rewrite from scratch because this one was copyrighted, that was published under an open license and is being maintained and extended -- this one took me *hours* to process duplicates in a tiny window...

It really should be removed as no-longer maintained.. (and a closed-source license -- even though you can look at the source).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is awsome

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

chose this one by mistake Rated 2 out of 5 stars


I installed this version of Remove Duplicates at home, by mistake, after using Remove Duplicates (Alternate) at the office.

I went back to the Alternate, when I found this didn't work as well. For one thing, this extension will only put the dupes in the Trash. It does not offer the option to delete the dupes permanently.

Because of a complex setup between two POP mail accounts, two locations, blind copies back and forth and several complex T-bird rules, I often have to retrieve messages which were mis-sorted to the Trash.

With this extension I never knew if the messages I found in the Trash were those I needed to retrieve or those I had previously de-duped.

Now that I'm using the Alternate version, everything works as well at home as at the office.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Good but... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The idea and the add on work well. However, The options seem to be hardwired since changes made to them are not stored or in any way acted upon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works well. I used it to separate 3000 duplicates from 200 actual messages. Thunderbird had created these due to some bug.

Although the UI isn't very intuitive, it does what it claims to do, and pretty fast as well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Worked like a dream - no spurious messages and no problems with the process

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Wrong place Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This doesn't belong with the Firefox extensions--it doesn't work work with Firefox. It should be with the Thunderbird extensions.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

how can i download Rated 1 out of 5 stars

how can i download the Remove Duplicate Messages on the version 3.0.6 ?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Corrupts my thunderbird Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It seemed to work for removing duplicates, but now I have a new message appearing in the inbox and in one of my folders everytime I go into it. It is an empty message with the date 1970-01-01 01:00
If I remove it i reappears when I go back to the inbox or the folder!

Don't use this crap!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Erstklassig! Endlich konnte ich meine 2000 Duplikate komfortabel entfernen. Danke, Thorsten!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Please, add support for Tb 3.0 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Your extension is so missed in Thunderbird 3.0 /Shredder builds.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works exactly as advertised, and fast!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Add-on but doesn' t work with Thunderbird 3/Shredder.
Could developer update add-on with help of user Strim.

Strim - Could you please email me instruction what you have done or entire add-on. My email starts with koimark and then comes @-sign and then 'IKI' and then DOT and Finlands countrycode FI. I would appreciate that a lot.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Finally an update, thank you! This plugin works much better than the "alternative" one. It has some bugs already described here, but for me works fine ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.06).