Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works great!

Finally I was able to delete many of my duplicate emails. Simply to use. Just right-click on the folder to check. Maybe you have to try some settings in the addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Will not run on some folders Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It used to work fine but then it stopped working on some folders. I have 6 email accounts, pop and Imap. I have also another computer at the office with only 3 email accounts - same problem. When I run it on those folders, nothing happens and I get Phase 3:0/0 message on the lower left corner.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Nice addon but unfortunately i have to agree with user "dhkjhgjaih". The single-click on a message is veeeery inconvenient.

I loaded this addon to test it in comparison with the (alternate) version but i think i will stick with the alternate one until (if) the single-click behavior is changed. Single-click should work like in the "alternate" version. In the "flag" column it should just switch between the "keep/remove" flag and in the rest of the row it should display the message in TB but the RDM window should stay on top of TB.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Worked great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Worked like a charm whereas the "(alternate)" version (found here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/addon/remove-duplicate-messages-alte/?src=search) was too strict in it's analysis, and wouldn't find any "non-identical" duplicates. By non-identical, I mean that I imported some messages from outlook to thunderbird, and somehow the duplicates were very slightly different (maybe a header? or an extra new-line in the message?). Anyway, you can see how I imported from Outlook here (http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=2564993)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Used to work, broken in 0.1.13 Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It used to work so that you could toggle which messages you want to keep/delete when removing duplicates.

The new version requires you to double-click to toggle between keep/delete...unfortunately a single-click brings you to the message itself, and double-click is impossible -- it switches to the message too fast, even when double-clicking furiously fast.

No right-click context to change it either, because it shows message properties (which is useless). Tried ctrl-enter, lots of things to change it...nothing.

Why do this? Why not go back to the way it used to work??

1 star for the way it currently works; 4 stars for the way it used to work...rounding down.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

did the job Rated 5 out of 5 stars

...what more could you ask for?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Two Major Problems Rated 1 out of 5 stars

First, there seems to be no way to delete duplicates only in a folder and not also all of its subfolders.
Second, I ran it and it supposedly searched through 200,000 messages and then did nothiing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.12). 

Can be good, and probably usually is - but can be bad / frustrating too. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Most of the time, a wonderful tool.

I DON'T CARE if it doesn't find EVERYTHING, I DO CARE that it DOES NO HARM! And as far as I have been able to tell - that's true. So, WONDERFUL! and THANK YOU!

Sadly, I see no way to get help. I wish the developer had an add on developer page where people could help each other.

Currently, it gets mysteriously stopped for me on a particular mailbox - gets up to ~330 / ~50k, then stops. mysteriously. No obvious way to see how / what is going on. Therefore, two suggestions:
(a) Have it pop up the dialog, not just carry on in the background. Log what its doing, perhaps with more/less verbosity. If I could see what's stopping it, I could go fix it.
(b) Instead of debug out (ONE MESSAGE AT A TIME, FOR PETE'S SAKE!), have debug out go to error console. Without needing to hit OK for each message. [Even then, if the message it stops on is shown, the format of the message display doesn't make it too clear as to which message to go to to fix whatever's wrong. I expect it's a botched e-mail message (to TB), but I can't fix what I don't know / can't find.)

The initial dialog would be a useful pop up to select which subfolders not / to check. e.g. In this case, if I knew what subfolder was causing problems, I could exclude it.

I really appreciate the new info present in the options dialogue, e.g. Usage, Help, About. Just wish it gave more info / pointed to a more info web page. e.g. Developer addon discussion page. Even if the developer stayed out of it / let the users merely mill about.

Despite any of the above, thank you so much for this addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.12). 

Nicht kompatibel mit Spicebird. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Da im Thunderbird der Kalender nur bedingt funktioniert, sind professionelle Nutzer auf Spicebird angewiesen. Und da funktioniert das addon nicht. Schade.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Ok, this addon pretty old and not updated to the new TB UI,
BUT it DOES work while searching for duplicates and find almost all dupes.
the new alternate version (developed by somebody else) has quite a nicer and updated gui, but lacks in finding the simplest dupes (just 50%).
so this version is needed too, if you want to find 95% of your dupes.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Works Well for Me Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This add-on has really saved me a lot of time. I converted from Windows Live Mail and have been using this add-on to delete the hoards of duplicate emails I had.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Not working perfectly in 8.0 Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I have a lot of duplicates, but only few found. TB 8.0 HUN

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Remove duplicates from several inboxes Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Almost everybody has several e-mail accounts and it is usual senders to send the message in both e-mail accounts of the recipient. Thus a lot of messages are duplicates, but they are not in the same inbox.

Is there any plan for this addon to remove duplicates searching in different accounts???

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

I have several accounts and the plugin searches and finds duplicates for messages from all accounts. Can you write me an eMail (you can find it here https://addons.mozilla.org/de/thunderbird/user/3643/) and describe the steps you do and the problems that occur?

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I'm rather upset. You really do not get what I mean? You show me three options: left click to display messages, right click show info, double click change flag, right?; The first option did not do thing it supposed to do... I clicked on duplicate emails (one and only one left click), I looked around but no messages (the content of email) displayed ...I wonder if this is a bug or there is no option for seeing it inside message pane

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Now I know what you mean. It looks like this feature does not work anymore. Unfortunately, I do not see an error message in Thunderbirds Error Console. So this makes it hard to debug. I try to find a solution. Thanks for the bug report.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Funktioniert mit TB 6.x

Danke

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This plug in reaffirms why Mozilla is better than Microsoft!!
I had created duplicate messages by accident in MS Outlook (via Exchange connection) and had 1K+ useless copies cluttering my search results.
This add-on was easy to install and with just a couple clicks I moved all my duplicates to the trash folder! (Note step 2 is to empty trash folder.)
I tried deleting messages one by one in Outlook, but after half an hour figured it is not a manual job. Luckily I had Thunderbird too! :-)
P.s. Similar plug-in for Outlook is $24! :-/ So I am so happy this is free, so I was glad to send the developer a contribution!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Finds the duplicate messages in folders and sub-folders... but doesn't delete any messages...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Better than 'alternate' version Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works nicely with TB3.1.1 on UBuntu and Windows. Finds all dupes where the 'alternate' misses.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10). 

Leider kein voller Pfadnamen bei Ordnern Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Leider wird nicht der volle Pfadnamen eines Ordners angezeigt, sondern nur der Basis-Name.eines Ordners.
Dadurch ist die Entscheidung, welches Duplikat gelöscht werden soll, praktisch unmöglich.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It does remove duplicates from gmail IMAP mailboxes, but I took off one star because erroneously reports that it didn't find any duplicates.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.10).