Small problem Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've unchecked the sent box and it still won't delete or even find duplicate sent messages. Any ideas?

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

It finds dupes and is fast about doing so, but the documentation is almost nonexistent. It is impossible to toggle a message between keep and delete In Windows 7 / TB 31.2.0 / add on version 0.1.14 .

There is no support channel and the add on doesn't play nice with Thunderbird.

If all your messages are in one big folder and you want to run something once to clean up dupes then this will work for you. Otherwise it is of limited use.

TB 31 bug ? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I learned by trying out that the add-on works in TB 31 once you restart TB.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Love and Debug Information Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone knows this is the most important must-have add-on for Thunderbird, but recently I'm having a little issue with TB 31 series.

It seems that for some mailboxes, the plug-in gets a return count of messages in the mailbox that is incorrect, and that leads to some deletion errors. In some cases, the message-count is even zero, which makes the plug-in think that there are no messages to compare and clean!

It must be the changes to some API calls in TB, similar to the way identifying a DOM id has changed, or getting the proper handle for a mailbox URI.

Or perhaps I've moved the message(s) or the plug-in has moved the messages(s) once already, or even a filter has moved the message(s), and they now have a header or TB flag on them that's not taken into account?

Does a message having been in the trash and then been taken out also affect the plug-in? That may have happened also...is there any way to restore the status of those messages so the plug-in works on them again?

In any case, I will wait patiently as always as I know you are busy and doing your best to make it compatible with the current round of changes in TB!

Keep up the good work - your plug-in is AWESOME!!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Yes, some API calles behave different now and are marked as deprecated. Please contact me via eMail. I might have a solution
(rdm "at" tws-home.de)

Used to work Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This add-on used to work great but after reinstalling Kubuntu (due to unrelated issues) and TB 31 it is not working properly. It is searching in my trashbin and Sent messages folder, even though the options to ignore these folders have been selected.

I have tried reinstalling the add-on but it does not fix the issue. In this state is practically unusable as I have to use it only on one folder at a time, and I receive a lot of duplicate mail.

Not sure where else to post this, as I do not see a support section for this add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

DO NOT USE THIS ADD-ON! (at least not out of the box) Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've used plenty of add-ons for Thunderbird including some like XPundge which delete emails from your account. They all worked fine and did not delete things that I was not expecting... However, BEWARE this add-on deleted all my gmail emails I mean everything, I had to file a report with google to recover them... this add-on should at least say "USE WITH EXTREME CAUTION" if it's capable of deleting everything with one click, however it does not say that - nor does it give any indication that it will actually delete all copies of emails as it says "KEEP" next to at least one of each item in the list. Consider this your warning... maybe there is some configuration setting I missed, but out of the box it should just work with the least amount of data loss set.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Great. And I gave... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Worked like a charm.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Very useful addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful addon to remove duplicate messages.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've used this before, in both Windoze and Linux Mint, but this time I keep getting webpages with button to "Condinue to Download" and so far it's not available on my Tbird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

simple, fast, and easy! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

i was impressed at the speed of the de-duplication process. thank you for this simple, focused tool!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great App, and definitely useful for migrating from Windows Live Mail to Thunderbird, but I have a stored folder with 50K message with 30K duplicate.. It just says the Trash is full, when its empty and compacted.. Was thinking if its the 4GB limit... but there is no good solution to this..

Another duplicate remover app removed about 12k through direct delete option, but its not as good as detecting duplicates..

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Funziona benissimo, molto meglio dell'alternativo che non funziona

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Works like a champ for me in Thunderbird 24.0.1 today Oct 26, 2013 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I just installed Thunderbird 24.0.1 and imported my email from Outlook Express, but when I connected to AT&T Mail Server, all 13,000+ emails that I keep on that server downloaded into my inbox again... This tool quickly and effectively deleted the duplicates without issue.Seems to work just fine for me.P.S. I made a change to my Thunderbird and had to do this 2 more times because I found I had duplicate profiles/email accounts in my Thunderbird list of email accounts. Very pleased with this product and highly recommend it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Unfortunately doesn't work anymore Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With TB 24.0.1 the message window appears, but no ddupes are displayed. if i cklick onto the box, an error "gMessageList is not Defined" appears. Maybe this helps to fix it, as the addon is very useful!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Thanks, this helped to fix the bug for the next release. You can try to disable in the settings the value "Always show duplicate message dialog". Then you will not get an empty dialog.

Works fine Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This add-on works as described on my computer, however does not work at all on another computer in our office.

An issue I noticed also with me, is that after running a dupl delete session, I can not delete messages manually and have to restart Thunderbird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Promising idea rendered useless Rated 1 out of 5 stars

When it comes to deletion of messages, a user interface has to be perfectly clear. The one of this add-on isn't. Maybe it simply crashed, maybe it did something, there was no feedback. I'm not willing to further find out myself what the buttons actually do. Getting rid of dupes is a simple task and if the add-on can't present it like that it's pretty useless. It's a matter of getting less than 20 words right.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Danke! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hat mir viel Arbeit erspart - Danke!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've tried both this and "remove duplicate messages (alternate)" .This addon works best because it allows more fields to be checked. It finds many more dupes than alternate, and because you can check the message body too, you can be positive that the results are correct and just hit the delete dupes button when the results window appears.

FYI Thorsten: I am currently using TB daily (24.x) , TB EarlyBird and TB 17.x and it works on all of these

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

I'm having an issue - Can you help Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Hi,
When I right click on folder and click Remove Duplicate Messages and then select the default keep / delete then fine the messages end up in my deleted folder. However, surely, if I move them messages from the deleted folder back to the original inbox folder, you would expect that, when I right-click on the folder and do the same again, it will find the duplicates. Instead, it tells me "Could not find any duplicate messages in the selected folder".
Is this just me, or is there an issue here? I want to be absolutely certain I can trust this add-on but it seems to have placed messages in my deleted folder and not left one of the duplicates in the source folder.
Thanks,
Cliff

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13). 

Should work

Hi,

actually I delete the duplicate messages and move the from the trash
folder back to another folder to retest the search, so this should work.
Can you give me more information? I also just tested what you wrote and
re-found the duplicates.

So I would like to investigate this further if you don't mind.

Greetings,
Thorsten

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works great!

Finally I was able to delete many of my duplicate emails. Simply to use. Just right-click on the folder to check. Maybe you have to try some settings in the addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1.13).