Excellent. And working in TB v45 with fix. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent extension. And now working again in Thunderbird 45 thanks to rkent's much appreciated fix on bugzilla.mozilla.org (Bug 1209425)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

TBv45 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks rkent!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hi, thank you very much. I miss Quicktext also terribly and I am very glad for your way around. It funktions even with my very little knowledge of the system.
I hope so much that there will be an update so that qicktext will funktion in itsself.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

QuickText templates gone with Tbird 45 update Rated 1 out of 5 stars

A five-star add-on, but the latest Thunderbird update (v45) has disabled it. My templates are no longer accessible. I use this add-on for *everything*, and Thunderbird is pretty much crippled without it.

Agreeing with others reporting the same thing. Please fix ASAP!

Update: As I see many with the same issue, and in several places indication that the programmer is no longer reachable regarding this plugin, I have installed Clippings and will attempt to make do with that. It's fairly nice, though lacks a few of QuickText's conveniences. Alas.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Fantastic Addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

We often realize how useful and helpful something is only when we suddenly lose it. A few hours ago, I have upgraded to ThunderBird-45.0 and the Quicktext stopped working. I have quickly realized how much slower some things are if I have to do them manually, without Quicktext's help...

Guys, please, fix Quicktext to be compatible with ThunderBird>=45.0 :-) Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

does not currently work with tb 45.0 Rated 1 out of 5 stars

quicktext fails to work currently with thunderbird 45.0 as of april 15th, 2016.

existing templates from previous e.g. thunderbird 38.7.2 dont get shown when you upgrade to thunderbird 45.0

even with xml export and import of templates there is a bug and the templates are only all shown as invisible white entries on the left side and are thus not really usable.

this bug needs fixed before real compatibility and working with tb 45.0

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

Sehr sehr hilfreich Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Bei der Arbeit mit Textbausteinen eine große Hilfe.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

Uncluttered and useful Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Does the job with a simple, uncluttered and useful interface.

Would like to see the quick text buttons on the same line as the formatting buttons, as it currently leaves a lot of blank space.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Fix for "Import on startup" Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Version 0.9.11.6 fixes manual import of templates and scripts, but automatic import from a remote file is still broken. This is because the fix in 0.9.11.6 makes it possible to read files without a BOM header, but the files are still exported without a BOM header and the "Import on startup" feature still can't read them. The solution I found is to add a BOM header at write time when exporting the files. Since I found no other place where to post my fix, here it is:

- rename quicktextpro_0.9.11.6.xpi to quicktextpro_0.9.11.6.zip
- unzip quicktextpro_0.9.11.6.zip
- open components/wzQuicktext.js in a text editor
- add the line "aData = "\uFEFF" + aData;" before the line "var chunk = converter.ConvertFromUnicode(aData);"
- save the file
- zip the files back to quicktextpro_0.9.11.6.zip
- rename quicktextpro_0.9.11.6.zip to quicktextpro_0.9.11.6.xpi
- reinstall the extension in Thunderbird

Note that templates and scripts files exported with a previous version still won't be readable because they don't have a BOM header. You will have to either re-export the files or manually add a BOM header with an hex editor.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

How to fix the attachment problem for quicktext pro Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have fix the attachment problem with quicktext pro!

You can contact me for sharing the fixed code under:
https://www.thunderbird-mail.de/index.php/Thread/67155

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful. Thank you very much for upgrade!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Workaround success! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks to R. Kent James for "How to fix the core code" below. I'm happy to report that this worked for me on the pro version, running OSX 10.10. You've saved the day!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6). 

THANK YOU for fixing Quick Text (0.9.11.6) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great. Thank you.
This addon is so important!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.6).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

How to fix the core code Rated 5 out of 5 stars

As mentioned by others, this addon does not work with Thunderbird 38 due to an encoding issue. I've looked at the code, and presented the trivial change needed to restore read/write capability of template files. See http://mesquilla.com/2015/07/15/fixing-quicktext-addon-for-thunderbird/

I've contacted the author asking that this change be done, or someone else released to do the change.

R Kent James
Chair, Thunderbird Council

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Great plugin, but needs update!!! Here's how to bring back disappeared templates Rated 5 out of 5 stars

===== TUTORIAL FOR TB 38 ON MAC OSX, LINUX ====

This is a great addon, I use it all the time and have about 30 templates in 5 categories.

Here is a little script to solve the problem with encoding on latest TB while waiting for the author to fix it (hopefully!).
Just run this ONLY ONCE each time after you modify your templates in Quicktext. If you already have broken templates, run this script while Thunderbird is NOT running. Everything should be OK when you start it again!

PLEASE NOTE: you have to change the Thunderbird profile folder on line 1. Simple instructions: copy the following text into your text editor, put the correct path to your TB profile then copy the whole thing and paste it in Terminal.

cd "~/Library/Thunderbird/Profiles/7saor6vs.default/quicktext/"
echo -ne 'xFFxFE' > templates.new
cat templates.xml >> templates.new
rm templates.xml
mv templates.new templates.xml

Alternative for Mac users: use this little Autimator app: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/79938589/fix%20quicktext.app.zip
But you still have to edit it with Automator and replace with the correct Thunderbird profile folder.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Wonderful! Wonderful! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this addon! I use it every day for every message! This addon is well thought out and versatile.

I wrote a tutorial on Stack Overflow about how to embed images in email - and you can use this method easily with QuickText: http://stackoverflow.com/a/18008898/1038866

Also, change the encoding of your QuickText quicktext\templates.xml file in your profil folder will fix the problem with the configuration not showing in Thunderbird 38.01. There are directions in one of the reviews previous to mine.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

* * * * TUTORIAL FOR TB 38 * * * *

1. Make changes to your QuickText templates.
2. Close Thunderbird;
3. Find the templates.xml file (on Windows, it's located in C:Users<Username>AppDataRoamingThunderbirdProfile<Profile>quicktext)
4. Open templates.xml in Notepad++ and set the encoding to "UCS-2 Little Endian" (this step restores the required BOM characters);
5. Save the file and restart Thunderbird.
6. Redo after making any change to your QuickTexts.

ENOY :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I also could not import templates

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Since THB 38.01, the saved text are erased and there is no possiblity to reimport the saved settings

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Erasing Groups and Templates after restart TB Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I agree witch previous post. This plugin does not work correctly (with TB 38.0.1), erasing groups and templates after restart.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5).