Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant! This is just what I was looking for. Now a gmail-like conversations interface for Thunderbird. I really wanted this in a desktop email client with offline email access. (And Postbox is too much $$ for my budget.)

It's working well for me so far. (w/ TB 3.2) Looks like lots of good things ahead for this plug-in as well! So good to see!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha3). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great add-on!

I'd like to request for quoted messages of the following format to be hidden:

________________________________________
From: ...
Sent: Friday, February 05, 2010 5:25 PM
To: ...
Cc: ...
Subject: ...

I think this is the format Outlook Web Access uses. My workplace uses this for all its email accounts, so I get quite a few of these messages.

Thanks a lot, and I look forward to future updates.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha3). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great add-on!

I'd like to request for quoted messages of the following format to be hidden:

________________________________________
From: ...
Sent: Friday, February 05, 2010 5:25 PM
To: ...
Cc: ...
Subject: ...

I think this is the format Outlook Web Access uses. My workplace uses this for all its email accounts, so I get quite a few of these messages.

Thanks a lot, and I look forward to future updates.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha3). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great add-on!

I'd like to request for quoted messages of the following format to be hidden:

________________________________________
From: ...
Sent: Friday, February 05, 2010 5:25 PM
To: ...
Cc: ...
Subject: ...

I think this is the format Outlook Web Access uses. My workplace uses this for all its email accounts, so I get quite a few of these messages.

Thanks a lot, and I look forward to future updates.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha3). 

everyone should use this extension! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

i agree with some of the other reviewer's; great extension and should be part of the default thunderbird suite. seems to work better than postbox as well :)

a bug i think i found (might be because of thunderbird actually):

- when i have the threaded view enabled, and click on the highest level (first) email to get the conversation view, i cannot reply/reply all etc to the email.
- how about having a reply button on each individual message so that i could select that message to quote on the reply? and/or, use the mouse location and double click and or ctrl-r to reply to that message.

other suggestions:

- i notice that there is colour differentiation between senders on the thread - would be nice it if were more obvious. eg make the message background be that color rather than just the text on white background
- i would find it useful if the date for each message could also have the full timestamp, with the hours and minutes. having some kinda relative time would handy too (4 hours ago etc)
- i get a lot of people who send me replies with my email quoted with

-----Original Message-----
From: blah
Sent: blah
Friday, February 05, 2010 2:37 PM
To: blah

any chance of getting that with the 'show quoted text' hidden treatment?

keep up the great work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha1). 

Use the development version !

Hi,

The following suggestions of yours have already been implemented in the development version (which is due to arrive soon on AMO as alpha2) :
- reply / reply to all / forward button on each message (will be in tomorrow's release),
- more methods for hiding quoted parts. I'll check if I implemented the --- Original Message --- thing, but I'll add it if it isn't already the case. Please contact me by email, I'd like to get an example of such a message to test with.

As to the other suggestions, none of them is really hard to implement, so as soon as I have some spare time, I'll probably add most of them.

filter rules Rated 3 out of 5 stars

what would be nice is that the add on by pass filters for message in a thread because some times an answer is in another folder because of filter rules....

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha1). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

what would be nice is that the add on by pass filters for message in a thread because some times an answer is in another folder because of filter rules....

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha1). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

what would be nice is that the add on by pass filters for message in a thread because some times an answer is in another folder because of filter rules....

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha1). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Quite nice.

One problem: For conversations where I have replied to a mail but not received an answer back, it doesn't seem to be possible to get the GMail conversation view. Is this because of Thunderbird limitations (doesn't recognize as a conversation)? I would very much like this ability.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha1). 

Planned...

The add-on doesn't automatically recognize this as a conversation. This would add a lot of extra code which I don't want to start right now, as I need to improve other parts of the add-on. However, it is planned and will be done in a future version.

For those messages, right now, you can just customize the toolbar, add the "view full conversation" button and use this to switch to the conversation view.

Pretty awesome, would like to see a few things Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works pretty well, enough to get me to NOT buy Postbox, at least for now. The only things I would really like to see added at this point:

Quote hiding works really well, but I'd like to see the line ABOVE the quote hidden as well (the part where it says "On Jan 20th, 2010, ___ wrote:" or "------original message-------" and such. Gmail does this pretty well; I'd like to see it here too.

I'd also really love an option to view the conversation newest to oldest, going from top to bottom. Essentially the opposite of what it is now. Should be fairly simple.

All in all though, great add-on! Especially for just an alpha preview.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3alpha1). 

Great! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It seems to work reasonably fine in TB3.0.

Could I ask if the Open in new Tab could have the same type of view as shown in the preview pane? Although the current tree view above & postview below works well, I'd still like the expanding / contracting view. Maybe as a 2nd option in the "View full conversation" drop-down button added to the header.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.1). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hey, could you provide an update for thunderbird 3? I would greatly appreciate that.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.1). 

?

I guess you mean Thunderbird 2.x. Unfortunately, the answer is no. There is no way to do that with Thunderbird 2 (really, no way). I would have to create a completely different extension which I do not plan to do :). And basically, that extension would be Thunderbird 3...

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

An excellent extension, thanks a lot!

Two suggestions: start scrolled down to the first unread message and add a keyboard shortcut to expand all messages at once.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.1). 

About that

Hi,

The first suggestion has been implemented, it's in the unstable version. The second suggestion will probably be implemented before the 0.3 release.

Thanks for the ideas! Next time, please contact me by email for feature requests, that way, I can tell you when your feature request has been implemented.

j.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great Addon. I cannot understand why this is not included in Thunderbird itself.

There is only one thing I find missing (apart from Todo-list) and that is that I would like to see on a compacted thread the date of the last reply instead of the date of the thread innitiator (or best both). I know this is not really part of the conversation view, but it would be very very useful. Best would be to have two Date colums. Column A: Date of first mail, column B: if exisiting Date of last reply.
This would be especially useful for high traffic mailinglists where you have a filter to mark all mails read on incoming - as you only look at some threads and don't want to have unread mail folder cluttererd up.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I very like this !!
i would like mail to always open this way
please give us update soon !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.1). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thunderbird has something similar now, but yours is nicer. 5+ stars if you add a function to drag messages into and out of a thread. (Threads are often incorrect because people don't reply properly.) Outlook has had that forever, it's the only thing I miss in Thunderbird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.1). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very good job. I wonder why Mozilla did not release Thunderbird with such feature... Your add-on fill a big gap!

There are still some missing requirements, but there are in your TODO. Your add-on is promised to success, until Mozilla will integrate it in native release.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.091217pre). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Wonder why Mozilla didn't release thunderbird 3 with something like this... Thank you for this add on!

There are some missing features, but you already listed them in your TODO. Your add on is promised to great success.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.091217pre). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great when it works, but can be a little buggy. Looking forward to improvements. Shame extensions like QuoteColapse can't work with it (yet?).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.2.091217pre). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Finally a more useful conversation view - can't understand why the default conversation view isn't more like this!

I have however noticed that sometimes the view doesn't get updated when moving between conversations, or sometimes seems to show a different conversation. I haven't figured out why yet though...

Still, keep up the good work, but I think this would also be really good to get into the main trunk of TB3.x!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.1).