Caution with Mulitple Address Books Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I have 2 address books in TB that I want to sync with Google.

NONE of the records were common in the two source ABks. Google contacts was empty.

All the contacts were synced, but all the phones now show Mobile in Google and in TB. Some numbers got copied so they show up as First & Third, First & Second, Second and Third numbers.

Essentially a complete waste of time.
I have to start over from my backups.

Disappointed.

Just needed this Add on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you developers. You have helped a lot.

Works as described Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works smooth and alot of functions are automated (like recieving the api key etc). Also its quite neatly integrated into Thunderbird. Great Work!
As Feature it would be great to simply exclude contacts from sync, if they have no email adress.

Works pretty good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

User interface is simple, works as it should be. No encoding errors (some user wrote here), fast, and easy to use. Recommended.

Loads garbage, then crashes Thunderbird Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I was pleased with the UI at first sight. I then figured out that it created 370 new contacts in Thunderbird, most of them duplicates (up to 7x) and almost all with broken encoding and random characters in random fields. Shortly after, Thunderbird crashed. It also crashes when trying to use write-only mode.

Eccezionale Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Ha praticamente copiato la mia rubrica ed i miei gruppi di gmail in thunderbird senza problemi ed in maniera molto intuitiva. Utilizzo Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

not importing all contacts Rated 4 out of 5 stars

i work for the IT department at a car dealership
i have this set up on about 15 pc's i got it to show/import all the groups but some of the groups are blank ex audi sales the group is there but when you click on it there is no email addresses any suggestions ?

works great before Thunderbird 45 Rated 3 out of 5 stars

After updating to Thunderbird 45, this now only works if I go into my address book and manually tell it to sync. None of the menu options on the main screen work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

I believe I've identified the problem and have released updates to gContactSync (2.0.11) and Contact Photos (1.1.12). If you need it to work before the update is reviewed you can disable all other add-ons and restart Thunderbird.

Version 2.0.10 and issues with TB45 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Since I updated to TB 45 I noticed that the Add-on works in the Addres book, but not in main menu, statusbar etc. The commands does nothing. Auto sync seems to not work as well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

I just tried out TB 45 with versions 2.0.10 and 3.0.0a3pre and both seem to work from the main TB window.

Could you e-mail me the log file?

UPDATE:
Thanks for sending me the log and error console screenshot!

I believe I've identified the problem and have released updates to gContactSync (2.0.11) and Contact Photos (1.1.12). If you need it to work before the update is reviewed you can disable all other add-ons and restart Thunderbird.

Very helpful! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful in working with global contacts sync.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Good but... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Its a good add-on. Without doubts. But, hey! Is it possible to change that ugly icon on taskbar for something more... modern? Please! :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

Thanks for the review! The current icon was given to me by someone who didn't like my previous icon. I tried drawing one myself once and it ended very badly ;). If you or someone you know can make a more modern icon please send me an e-mail.

Josh

Correcting My Mistake Rated 2 out of 5 stars

In an earlier review I stated that the sync to Google did not work. That is, synced the contact so could be found with a search, but not in My Contacts. I subsequently found they were in More Contacts, and had to be manually moved to My Contacts. Then they would sync to Android. But, the program does wipe out Groups, every now and then, questions on the Forum were not responded to, and I am afraid to rely on it,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.10). 

I think I found your post, and it was in the incorrect group (Other Add-ons instead of gContactSync) so I missed it. You probably chose to sync All Contacts And Groups. When you do this and create a new contact you must copy it into the My Contacts list in Thunderbird if you want it to show up in your default contacts list in Google. This has been addressed several times in the forums. There is an outstanding feature request to automatically add new contacts to a default group that will be in version 3 or 4.

If you only care about My Contacts, then I recommend only synchronizing that group.

improvement proposal Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Hello Josh,
I better understand the problem ...
Example:
I create in thunderbird an address book on 01/01/2016, named "contact_on_THUNDERBIRD"
I create in google an address book on 01/01/2016, named "contact_on_GOOGLE"
Each book is empty contact.
I made synchronization with gcontactsync: no soucy
I create a "amigoTH" touch in "contact_on_THUNDERBIRD"
I create a contact "amigoGO" "contact_on_GOOGLE"
I made synchronization with gcontactsync: no soucy, each contact is copied on each side.
BUT, if I move OR copy a contact (eg old_amigo) created before 01/01/2016 another Mozilla Thunderbird address book, to the book named "contact_on_THUNDERBIRD"
AND that syncs,
THEN this contact (old_amigo) will be DELETED from the book named "contact_on_THUNDERBIRD"
This is true for all options!
I tested everything :)
I have not tested to the same case in google.
Could you, please you, to everyone who uses MOZILLA THUNDERBIRD as the source,
create a function in addition to notebooks, "raw copy"?
She would do to:
- Erasing all the contacts on the selected book Google.
- And then copy all the contacts of the book Mozilla Thunderbird to Google.
>> 2016-02-28 : alternative solution find : right clic on adedress book, replace to server, clic «OK», right clic on adedress book, Sync Now
(long but efficienty)

Thank you in advance for your enthusiasm.
I blot my previous post :)
Best regards.

>> 2016-02-28 : version 2.010 on testing. Thanks Josh

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Could you try again with version 2.0.10? It fixes a problem with moving contacts between synchronized address books in Thunderbird.

Not working for me, and no forum support Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Despite the pleas to post questions and requests for help to the forum, I've only heard crickets there. The FAQ doesn't offer much troubleshooting help, either. It looks like a well-polished add-on, but it seems it just plain doesn't work, at least for me, for some reason. I'll happily change this review if I get any helpful assistance.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

I believe this has been resolved in the release channel since early January, and in 2.0.10 since mid February based on feedback from others in the forum. In all cases that I've looked into a different e-mail address was used in the account wizard than what was used to authenticate, causing Google to reject the token when used with the wrong e-mail address.

You waited 4 days for a response during the holiday season, which I'd consider very reasonable for a free product. I've been waiting well over a month so far to hear back from you on whether it worked, however... ;)

Good Add-On Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is good add-on. But I found bug?:
I have website in Work tab. After editing website in Google and syncronization, Add-On deletes it from Work Tab and fills Private Tab. Is it normal behaviour?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.8). 

That's expected (though unintuitive) behavior. Google has types/labels for websites while vanilla Thunderbird just has a work and home website. To allow synchronizing all different website types/labels gContactSync adds a drop-down to the TB work and home website fields and syncs the first two websites of any types with these fields.

The work tab has the second website field, so if you sync to Google it is added as the first and only website. If you sync back from Google Thunderbird syncs the first website with the home/private field and removes it from work.

Only syncs two emails Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This add-on works, but for some reason it only syncs two email addresses, this is not well-indicated in the app, and you cannot change this in the settings. Not very useful for business users.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.7). 

This is a limitation of Thunderbird, not gContactSync. It actually syncs 4 e-mail addresses: the two included in Thunderbird and two additional e-mail addresses that gContactSync adds. When I started working on this add-on there was a feature request for TB to add support for n phone numbers, e-mail addresses, etc. but it was never finished.

Read only not working Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I just installed this extension. Because I was using an old extension to sync I already have a lot of Google contacts in my Thunderbird address book. I tell gContactSync to work in read only mode, only download from Google, when I do first time setup.
Now I have hundred of contacts duplicated in my Google account :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.7). 

Merge support is experimental, though it works pretty well if your contacts have names and e-mail address fields filled in. Could you e-mail me with more details?

In the meantime Gmail has an excellent tool for removing duplicates. If that doesn't work you can revert your contacts to before the dups were made and sync with an empty address book.

EDIT: Read-only mode applies only *after* the first sync. Otherwise your contacts from TB wouldn't be sent to Google during the initial sync.

Funziona benissimo! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Lo uso regolarmente e l'ho inserito come estensione scelta per lo scopo nel mio articolo "TurboLab.it Thunderbird Essentials" https://turbolab.it/turbolab.it-essentials-449/turbolab.it-thunderbird-essentials-migliori-estensioni-mozilla-thunderbird-7

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.5). 

läuft Rated 5 out of 5 stars

syncs cleanly in both directions

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.5). 

RAM hog issue on Mac Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I'm running iMac, 10.9.x. I have Thunderbird 38.2.0 so Google Contacts doesn't work anymore (it was working fine up until the last upgrade). So I DL'd gContactSync. It seemed to be working but now it seems to be a RAM hog in that when I have it loaded, it uses over 2 GIG of RAM. I disabled it and Tbird is back down to 360MB RAM. I'll go into my gmail and merge contacts as I noticed before using gContactSync that gmail would end up with thousands of the same duplicate email address, so not sure what was going on there...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.5).