TB 6.0 beta Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works with TB 6.0 beta
Set “extensions.strictCompatibility” (configuration editor) to “false”

Please update for TB 60! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on, but currently incompatible with TB 60. Please update!

Details about count numbder of contacts Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you for this addons .
some details could help us to explore more acuratly our contacts .

***************
count number of contact that exist .

show contacts that they are deleting in synchronization time. and let us to select them , if we think its go wrong .

show contact added recently .

merge contact

and report of some other analysis

DON'T INSTALL Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Somehow, this add on completely screwed up my Thunderbird Contacts. I had address books / lists in Thunderbird that were not in gmail....so it DELETED THEM when it synced gmail with Thunderbird!!!!

Perfect since years - despite apparent big issue stealing hours! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works since years perfect - but today I had a significant issue! Google after some records claimed that the token expired and needed to be renewed! Issue was not found for hours - then I detected: some records in birthday had value "0"! Eliminating this solved the issue!

Dieses Add-on ist ein Segen! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Seit ich gContactSync entdeckt habe, nutze ich es täglich, da sich in meinen ca. 800 Kontakten ständig etwas ändert. Ein Klick und die Synchronisation ist erledigt.
Vielen Dank an den/die Entwickler.
Hoffentlich wird gContactSync angepasst, wenn die große TB-Neuerung kommt!

Absolutely awesome and useful Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A must have to keep the "contacts storm" under control. Set and forget. Works like a charm.

Great plugin, worked flawlessly Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Installed and synced my contacts straight away. No problems at all on thunderbird 52.5.2.
Thanks alot!

Eat my memory Rated 2 out of 5 stars

it`s alway eat my memory and let thunderbird crash...

Отлично!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Спасибоогромное

Using it for many years now without any issue Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks a lot for the latest updade for TB57+

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Excellent. I've used gContactSync for years Rated 5 out of 5 stars

... and of course I only really noticed it when it was broken briefly recently.

Thanks for all the hard work.

It use to work well but now it's an abandonware Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This add-on was incredibly useful for this kind of application but unfortunately, it doesn't work anymore.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

TB 57.0 is still in beta, and if you look at the supported versions, 57.0 was not listed since I hadn't tried it yet. I've supported it for very nearly 10 years now, so I don't always stay ahead of nightlies and beta releases...

I pushed versions 3.0.0a8 and 2.0.13 with the fix. If you're on the beta channel you should get the update soon, otherwise 2.0.13 will be updated whenever it gets reviewed.

gContactSync broken in TB57.0b1 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I really like the extension, and it worked reliably so far. Unfortunately it appears to be broken in TB57.0b1. I raised a support topic in the support forum, but it didn't seem to receive any attention yet. I'd hope the extension will be updated for TB57.

Update
Thanks for the fix. I'm glad to see the add-on is working again in TB57.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

I pushed versions 3.0.0a8 and 2.0.13 with the fix. If you're on the beta channel you should get the update soon, otherwise 2.0.13 will be updated whenever it gets reviewed.

PS: Version 57.0 wasn't listed as a compatible version since I hadn't validated it yet.

Creating a new profile and make a new start can make a huge difference Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have noticed that using this app makes existing address books corrupt. Dragging a contact from one address book to another makes the address books corrupt, and makes other contacts disappear. Maybe for just one address book ok, but if you have multiple address books, be careful.

Edit 5-12-2017: this week I noticed the same behaviour without the add-on, and I created a new profile within Thunderbird. I realized that I have used the profile for years now, and old remnants from the past may have caused the address book behaviour. So far everyhting works fine now :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

The address book in Thunderbird is extremely buggy and fragile. I try to work around those problems in gContactSync where I can, but sometimes changes in Thunderbird make my workarounds no longer work.

Which versions of Thunderbird and gContactSync were you using? There was a drag and drop problem introduced by a change to TB that wasn't compatible with my address book modifications that I fixed here: https://github.com/jdgeenen/gcontactsync/issues/109

Edit: I highly recommend moving contacts within an address book from Google's interface. Moving them between accounts can be done with Google's export and import. This is far more stable than using Thunderbird.

Application extrement DANGEREUSE : perte totale de vos contacts sur thunderbird Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Paramétrages sélectionnés :
Write-only (your client sends updates to Google)
coché : Local changes have priority over remote changes

Actions proposées par le programme :

gContactSync is about to delete the following number of contacts from '_contacts_o_ei_fournisseurs'
Thunderbird: 60
Google: 0
Click OK to proceed, or click Cancel if this is not expected.

Voici une belle erreur de programmation !!!
Programme à refaire !

Testé sur ThunderbirdPortable_52.4.0_French

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Worked perfectly Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It was a big issue having to retype every e-mail in the address box in a fresh installation. This extension solved this problem :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

Все отлично Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thunderbird 52.
Работа с контактами и группами отличная. Спасибо.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

very happy Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Installed on Thunderbird 48, now using on 52. Seems to work very well. Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

Nice UI but still has issues Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I have tried this add-on in the past and had problems before and just had a serious bug today that blocks me from using this add-on once again.

On a windows box, I created a simple test case where I created two contacts in Google, I synced with the settings set to bi-directional (default) and the contacts came down fine. I then created a new contact in Google and synced again and gContactsSync deleted the contact in google (what?). I re-tested several times and had confirmed the bug. I then set gContactSync to read-only and it then ignored the new contact (???).

I strongly recommend that you move this source code over to an open development area so others can assist with the code base. Its extremely important that Thunderbird have a tool like this but it must work as a read only sync as a bare minimum! Please consider moving over to Github and creating a user forum for people to share and assist others.

Besides the bugs above, please add ability for user to remove an account. I could not find any UI to do this which makes testing very difficult.

Thanks for the effort!
- Tim

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.12). 

Hi Tim,

Make sure your local machine is set to the correct timezone and that the local time is accurate. Usually when this happens your local time is not correct.

gContactSync has been open source with a support forum (http://pirules.org/forum/index.php) from the start; first on mozdev (http://gcontactsync.mozdev.org/ - no longer maintained) and now on github (https://github.com/jdgeenen/gcontactsync). These links are in the add-on description and the developer information.

When testing just create a new address book, then delete it when finished. Repeated testing, particularly involving mailing lists, in an address book can slow down or even corrupt the address book. Just make sure you restart Thunderbird after deleting an address book or you'll run into one of many TB address book bugs.

Josh