Almost there Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Would love this plugin, but we have estimate/remaining estimate as a required field in JIRA. The issue creation screen doesn't have anywhere for estimates to be entered meaning we can't create issues.

Is there anyway around this? Can we add the estimate fields to the issue creation screen somehow?

EDIT: The plugin now does have the time fields I needed, so that's good, but now I can't click the "Next" button, it is always greyed out.

New Version 0.17.0.18 solves your problem :-)

Hi Mashbo,

although not yet visible, you can access the newest version by accessing the link "View other versions" or use this direct link:
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/create-jira-issue/versions/?page=1#version-0.17.0.18

Cheers,
Holger

Can't make this work... Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Sadly can't make this work on our setup...
- Thunderbird 31.2.0
- Thunderbird Integration for JIRA 0.16.0.0
- on Redhat Enterprise 6
- connecting to JIRA v6.1.4#6159

I entered the correct URL and user/pw but only get the following error when clicking on "Test connection":

""URL: https://*****/jira-test/rest/api/latest/serverInfo Error ->0 ""

(Replaced part of the URL with ***)
Which is funny, because if I enter the very same URL in my browser I get some nice json data...

Could it be an issue because we are using self-signed certificates which are rejected by the plugin?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.14.0.6). 

Re: Can't make this work...

Please attempt to save the settings first. And then try to connect to JIRA after re-opening the settings dialog.

Sometimes when the add-on is installed for the first time the settings for the password are not stored right away.

Sorry about that ;-\

Oh, and yes, self-signed certificates are blocked directly within Mozilla's code. Please add the certificate to your Thunderbird's own trust store and try again.

Issue key in new column (feature request) Rated 4 out of 5 stars

What I miss in Thunderbird & JIRA cooperation is the JIRA issue key in the separate column. Ie. After successfully creating new issue (or comment), key would be set to the e-mail from which it was created. There also should be possibility to manually set issue key to existing e-mail, linking it with existing jira issue. Issue key should be possible to display as a separate column in message list.

Simpler but still useful replacement would be to add the key to the e-mail subject after issue creation (like EditEmailSubject add-on allows to manually do).

I add issue key to the mails sent ([PROJ-NUMBER] in the end of subject), I also think to add them manually to existing e-mail subject using EditEmailSubject add-on but would love to see some automation of this process.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.12.17.1). 

This is actually on the roadmap

Hi Kniaź,

good news, this is actually a planned feature.
I am unsure how I will actually display and store this info, as you can possibly attach one email to multiple issues ...

But it is on the roadmap.

So please keep your add-on up-to date and that feature *will* appear.

Cheers,
Holger

Very good, but... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very good. One complaint though: on the "Add comment" dialog, there should be a button or something to retrieve all. Even something like "Enter % for all" would be great. Thanks,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.12.15.24). 

Retreive all issues ...

Hi James,

thanks for the feedback.
Since we have approx. 2000 issues in our JIRA we never thought about this as a feature.
I will look into it and try to implement this asap.

Regards,
Holger

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Latest version 0.12.14.1) works perfectly well with thunderbird 16.0.2

Thx ! Good plugin !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.12.14.1).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Hi MatB,

I am glad to hear it finally worked out for you :-)

Your feedback is appreciated.
Regards,
Holger

2 Issues Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very cool Plugin, saves me tons of time! But only two issues:I know you guys are working on required fields. Is there an update available?And second, I'm using the popular Plugin "Thunderbird Conversations". But if I use this, your Plugin is dead and no Popup will be generated. Also is there a Fix available?Thanks in advance!CheersHoshi

================
Edit:
I'm using Windows 7 Pro, 64bit and Thunderbird 16.0.2
Hope this helps :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.12.14). 

Re. 2 Issues

Hi Hoshi,

thanks for the feedback.
As of now, the highest prio lies on attachments. Followed by required fields. The latter is a bit tricky since we need to access some info service.I am planning to decouple this in the near future to speed up the dialog popup.

Regarding the incompatibility with "Thunderbird Conversations", I am going to check it out right now.Would you mind telling me the exact versions and OS you are using?

That would be helpful.

Thanks in advance,Holger

BTW: Please check out the 0.12.14.1 Patch when it is released, thanks.

Works with Thunderbird 16.0.1 and Jira 5.1.4#783 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Tested with Thunderbird on Ubuntu 12.04.
When connecting to Jira via HTTPS and using a self-signed cert do not forget to add the CA to Thunderbird key store. If not you get "Login go Jira failed." - which is not verbose enought to point in the right direction.

With Addon version 0.12.14 the attachment of your emails are not added to the new created Jira issue. To the author: This is a feature request ;-) A link to your public issue tracker is missing at your website.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.12.14). 

SSL / Attachments

Hi Daniela,

thanks a lot for the feedback.
I have not tested self-signed certs yet, but will do so to produce a better error message.

Regarding the attachments, this is work in progress. Attachment parsing, displaying and selecting works as of now, but I still need some time to create the last step, uploading them to Jira. The very last part, the Jira part, is well documented, the part in between is a little minefield since it seems to be overly complicated to extract attachments from a mail stream :-(

Pleas stay tuned for updates.

Regards,
Holger

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

XP SP3, Thunderbird 13.0

Plugin installed fine, but after configuring it I encountered a problem.

All the fields in the screen for adding the issue are filled in correctly except one.

The 'Issue type' drop down menu remains empty, which in turn grays out the button to enter the issue into Jira (4.2).

Still, this looks like a very promising plug-in for Thunderbird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.11). 

Re: 'Issue type' drop down

Hi GeroldM,

have you checked out the latest version?
If it still does not work, can you please post the version numbers of TB and the plugin as well as the OS you are using?
It might be connected to Jira 4.2 though. I will have to check if the call to retrieve the issue types is support ed by 4.2 already.
Cheers, Holger

Thunderbird 12.0.1/Windows7/64Bit Rated 5 out of 5 stars

@MatB: I cannot confirm this. I am running Windows 7 (64Bit) on my laptop and have just recently installed TB 12.0.1 and it works out of the box.

Did you configure the user/login/url correctly?
Did you restart TB after the installation of the plugin?

If you leave those fields empty and click on the "Create Jira Issue" menu entry the configuration dialog should pop up immediately.

Cheers,
Holger

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.11). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

nice plugin, it somehow doesnt work with newest thunderbird + Thunderbird Conversations enabled.
The Message Text does not get copied to the comment input field

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.8).