not perfect but the best Rated 5 out of 5 stars

In my experience better than Google Contacts. In a fresh install was downloading 163 out of 667 Contacts, while Zindus worked perfectly.
I would like to see postal address sync fully supported.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Funktioniert ganz gut, wenn man keine neuen Kontakte in Thunderbird anlegt, sondern direkt bei Google. Beim Abgleich hatte ich bisher immer Duplikate bekommen, daher inzwischen für mich unbrauchbar geworden für die Neueingabe von Kontakten.

slow sync

ballOOnhead, there are no known bugs around slow sync.

This is how slow sync works: http://zindus.com/i/slow-sync

If you feel that you are experiencing a bug, please file a bug report: http://zindus.com/i/reporting-bugs

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

There is a bug: The extension seems not to see contacts that have been added to a mailing list in the adress book window. It then removes them from Google Contacts. I had to delete the mailing lists, to get working sync again

The addon doesn't support thunderbird mailing lists.
It supports google groups instead.

See:
http://zindus.com/i/mailing-lists
http://zindus.com/i/contact-wont-sync

Doesn't work Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've got an error when testing @gmail "Code d'état HTTP : 403". I'v'nt any proxy and my @ and pswd are fine.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Waiting on developer's support for errors which popup after using. Since I'm not supporting financially them I cann't blaim them!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Стандартными способами синхронизацию контактов в Ubuntu с Gmail не получилось. Это приложение выручило на 100%

Zimbra 8.0.0 and Zindus Rated 5 out of 5 stars

anyone having problems syncing address book with Zimbra's 8.0.0 GAL ?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent. I've tried the addon "Google contacts" first, but ran into big problems (losing data). Zindus seems much more robust and carefully documented. It also allows you to easily use your standard Adress-Book in Thunderbird (if you want), which always is selected by default when opening the book. I am using Zindus now to sync two separate address books (private/work) using separate accounts.

unpredictable Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It used to work, for the last few months every time I try to sync it wants to duplicate all contacts. I've given up.

try slow sync

red_nucleus, somehow the two sides have got out of sync. Hard to say how that happened but to get them back into sync, you've got to force a slow sync: http://zindus.com/i/slow-sync

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you for fixing Zindus so quickly.
I really depend on this add-on!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The problem with sync after upgrading to TB15 was solved. Just look at www.zindus.com and follow instructions. Great work. Thank you lenidot.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

TB 15 Issues Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Love this plug-in and depend on it. But it no longer syncs for me after the v15 upgrade. Bug report has been filed, so hopefully it's back on its feet soon!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

working on it

Hi tinnickels, yep, something has changed in TB15 which has broken the addon. Looking at it now.

Thunderbird recently changed its release schedule from a couple of times a year to every 6 weeks. It presents a huge challenge for me in terms of staying ahead of the game. Sorry!

Zindus broken in TB15 Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Zindus is a great extension and I virtually depend on it to sync contacts between Thunderbird and my Android phone.
However, it's broken in Thunderbird 15 - the sync fails. There haven't been any updates to the Zindus web site for quite a while. Is Zindus dead? I'd certainly hope not.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

file a bug report

Hi tibitts, if you file a bug report I'm happy to have a look.
See: http://zindus.com/i/reporting-bugs

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

If you have a contact with lots of email addresses (e.g., more than 2 addresses under "other"), this extension only syncs two addresses. This is really bad because there is no indication of this. Displaying no indication is effectively data lossage. When this happens, there really needs to be some kind of optional, in-your-face warning that this has occurred, as data lossage in contact data is 100% unacceptable.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Manually typing email addresses is inconvenient and prone to typos. This addon helps you avoid it by ensuring your contacts are up-to-date.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

When configured properly this gives access to the Zimbra address books. Using this add-on combined with IMAP and Lightning allows using Zimbra and Thunderbird as a full featured PIM very similar to Outlook and Exchange without the cost. Now when I swap out computers, I no longer lose users mail, calendar or contacts. Love this as a part of the suite I described.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Works fine with google 2 steps authentication Rated 4 out of 5 stars

[Previous post] After I've configured my google account with 2 steps (password + code) the zindus doesn't works anymore. Will this feature be included in next releases? When?
---------
Ok, now it's woking fine! Just follow those steps:

1) Log on google plus
2) Go to configuration --> account --> security or
https://www.google.com/settings/
3) Create a password to zindus (and others applications/devices not compatible with 2 steps authentication). It's not the google password.
4) help in video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMabEyrtPRg&t=2m13s

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I have contacts in Gmail. I want them in TB - not synced, just a copy across from my contacts in Gmail, (which is copied every once in a while on my Android phone from my work (Exchange) because work is where I need to keep and maintain my contacts. My head hurts just typing about it.
Finally a Thunderbird extension that copies *all* items, and they're all readable. Some issues with addresses not coming across, but after so long of manual exports/imports, and extensions that only copy half of my contacts, I can definitely live with it (and it's quite possibly something that I'm doing :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Broken. Auto-sync unusable. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

There are severe performance issues. When Zindus runs, Thunderbird's CPU usage will jump to 100% and stay there for several minutes. During this time, Thunderbird will be mostly unresponsive (forget about finishing the email you were typing). Another commenter mentioned that there's a good chance that this can make corruption of your drafts folder more likely - and this seems to have happened to me as well.

For now, I've decided I can't use this plugin in its current state and have disabled it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Thank you!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Most definently the best Thunderbird add-on. Should be built in together with Lightning to provide a full-feature email-suite. Thank you for making online life easier!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38).