Concern Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Please do not mind the rating I gave. I'm just trying to comment. Although I installed this add-on once and played with it I had to uninstalled it because I was concerned about the queries it sent Google. I always worried about some porn or illegal porn query being sent to Google so I uninstalled it. I have no evidence that it sends these types of queries to Google but the concern was enough to uninstall it. Now I read the review below and see part of my concern was valid. Be careful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Software is looking up porn Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This is what I have found in my log from this software.
[QUERY] engine=bing | mode=timed | query='Cute assfucked' | qpm=0.123 | Wed, 18 Sep 2013 15:02:47 GMT |
Notice the words CUTE ASSFUCKED

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Nice, but could use improvement Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love the idea, but more options, including randomizing multiple feeds instead of just one source and a few other tweaks to reduce predictability, would be very nice.

Also, a nice little addition would be the option to see queries in a tooltip rather than displayed next to the icon to save space.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Desperately Needs Randomizer Option Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This add-on TMN desperately needs a Java Script Randomizer for the time the searches are requested option.

TMN developers should add another add-on that randomly pulls up hundreds of thousands of safe websites to dump goose stepping western agencys tracking Internet users patterns.

Please add a randomizer option for the time the quierys are sent to squash goose stepping western agencys Internet profiling databases and fill them with useless trash.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Очень не хватает поддержки популярных в России поисковиков : Рамблер , Яндекс , майл.ру , Апорт, нигма.рф , ИванСусанин, Metabot , Ёпрст, Улитка, Type.ru , Нетотека и других, и соответсвенно, русскоязычной RSS, либо возможности добавлять поисковики для пользователя. В частоту запросов необходимо ввести рандомное время между запросами для более человекоподобного поведения,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

It badly needs reworking- As-is it is fading badly! Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I had given positive reviews in the past but it is overdue for updates and the developers really need to step it up. What is wrong?

1. It wont allow itself to be moved by either dragging and dropping or by using Organize Status Bar.

2. The queries need random timing otherwise they will be spotted too easily. Big Brother is not that dumb.

3. The Get Satisfaction form was a real nightmare! After posting it still tried not to post it, then it demanded a login, then it wouldn't accept my login. I had everything stored in LastPass and it outright refused to to go! Get Satisfaction should be renamed Get Frustration! This is a typical problem in bad service that businesses think that they can get away with. Dump people on the robot and think that it is just as good as a real human... "Your call is very important to us... Please hold!... Lalalala( elevator music) "We're sorry, due to high demand all operators are busy now... Please hold..."

Tested on both Palemoon(15.1.1.) and Freezefox (15.1)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

randomization Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hi, you should add random submission time.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This addon is useful but had a problem with timing. If someone wanted to ignore all of these queries, they would just all the requests that are every minute, or 3 minutes or 10 minutes, because the resuests are so perodic. It would be nice to have a feature that randomized the timing of the requests. That would make this much more useful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A must have for privacy, combined with Ghostery, Adblock plus, Https everywhere. The only thing missing is the option to add some more search engines to the list. About some earlier comments about sensitive searches sometimes showing up, because the newssites have sensitive word in their feeds - It's the reality, a news feed. eg. new york times. WILL contain some sensitive words If feeling worried about that, change the rssfeed from where the plugin generates querys from to one you trust more - it's easy.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

great idea, flawless execution, but.... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Thanks to bobbybob for pointing out an inconsistency in my original review. Not sure how I missed that, but I did. So today (4-4-12), I'm editing out my mistake. Here is my review: I love the idea of TrackMeNot helping your computer and you get lost in a sea of search queries to help avoid targeting and tracking. As far as I could tell, it executed its mission flawlessly. However, this morning (2-10-12), I noticed one of the search queries was 'police child porn.' That query is a darned good way to draw perhaps unwanted and unfair scrutiny. So I said good-bye to TrackMeNot.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Blacklisting keywords

I understand your concern about TMN sending this type of query. To address this issue we added the possibility to blacklist some keywords in the latest version of TMN (0.7.83). Note that you’ll have to restart your browser once you added keywords to the blacklist as TMN will have to generate a near list of queries.

Not work in Fx 8.0.1 Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Tested the Version 0.7.81a in Fx 8.0.1, still can't get it work properly when TMN is enabled, no query is sent out as per its log.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Bug Report

Please use the "GetSatisfaction" webpage or contact us via e-mail to report bugs. Ae need further informaiton to correct this bug (like ohter extensions you are using, your OS...).

This review page is not adapted to bug report.

Nice idea, but buggy => TMN = privacy theatre! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

(Update 28.02.2012: Problem's still there, even with FF 10 & updated TMN!)
----------------
Hi! I'm giving this only one star: the idea may be nice, but the developper obviously won't consider bug reports. I'm having the same bug as FFrules 3 months (!) ago: TMN seems to work only once when you start up Firefox, and then stops to work. "No new searches are shown in the status bar. The only way to wake it back up is to disable and re-enable it." I'm adding: when I'm opening the options menu by right-clicking on the TMN icon in the status bar, I can't open my search terms or see the log file. The buttons just don't react.

This way, it's really becoming a privacy issue. While I agree that Bruce Schneier expects something from TMN that it wasn't designed for, this bug now means that TMN becomes a mere privacy theatre: your searches are not just not obfuscated, with this buggy TMN your browser actually becomes an attendance recorder for your IP / browser sessions at AOL, bing, yahoo and google.

Btw., I'm using Win 7 x64, Ff 7.0.1. I'm also using my own RSS feeds, but the problem is the same with the default feeds (checked it). I searched for the log and search term files on my hard disk and checked them: they're still updated whenever I'm starting a browser session. But just one query, and finish.
--------------------------
Plus another problem: if you use RSS feeds that contain non-english Roman characters - like c-cedille, or German umlauts - those characters will just be deleted from search texts. Now that looks like a characteristic signature for Firefox with buggy TMN installed! It's like sending a calling card: hey, here's someone who tries to obfuscate his searches. This bug, plus the one mentioned above mean that someone with access to search engine company logs 1) knows that this IP uses TMN; and 2) at what times of the day you usually get to start your browsing sessions. Meaning, in big, big letters,

PRIVACY THEATRE!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Nice idea!!! Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Is it working only on .com? Or on other TLDs too? Like the national google-sites in .de, .at, .se, whatever?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent idea, but I would like to see an option for variable frequency in an update. As it stands, the pattern can easily be detected and queries removed at precise intervals to reveal true search queries.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

great idea, but I think it's got a bug Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I was hoping for an add-on like this. Great idea. I used some other RSS feeds than the default ones, since there were unfavorable search terms being picked (I don't need the feds coming to my door because of that - LOL!). However I think I found a bug. TrackMeNot, set at the default search rate of 10 per hour, does a few searches, and then 'quits'. No new searches are shown in the status bar. The only way to wake it back up is to disable and re-enable it. I'm using Firefox 5.0 on Windows 7 64-bit. I'll wait for the next update and see if this gets fixed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good idea, works perfectly, thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.727.1-signed). 

Doesn't seem to work on Fedora Rated 2 out of 5 stars

My system is Fedora Core 14 with Firefox 4.0. It loses points because it appeared to be successfully installed and enabled in FF. despite not doing anything. However, it gains points because I still think it's a cool idea and eagerly await an update for Windows refugees.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.723.1-signed). 

It has been tested with FF4.0 on Ubuntu (use getatisfaction to report bugs)

TrackMeNot actually should work properly with firefox 4.0 and linux (at least it works with Ubuntu). The icon may not be visible by default but it works in background. To add the icon in the add-on bar, right click on the bar and select ‘customize’, then drag and drop the TMN icon.The next update (currently reviewed and downloadable by clicking on the ‘View all versions’ link) will do that by default. Furthermore, the version 0.7 (available on TMN website) should fix this as well.

Please report bugs on getstatisfaction or contact us directly. Reviews are not appropraite for that.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please update to work with Firefox version 4+
:)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.723.1-signed). 

Be careful Rated 3 out of 5 stars

this extensions sends code to third sites and it is clearly designed with oither purposes by spreading a number of pre-determined chains despite your apparent changes.You must decompress the code and investigate it. The algorithm is quite useful to make noise... After some easy modifications in the main .js and deactiving updates, the extension finally is quite good ;)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.723.1-signed). 

finger_man Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent product IFF you change the default RSS feeds; I recommend using DRUGS.COM; MONEYWATCH; and NPR.ORG (some commercial sites good .gov nooo). That'll take care of the 'weird I-don't-want-that-search-from-my-IP' issue)(also helps 'skew' commercial reverse-cloud sales). Would be nicer if the "seed" query would auto-update from time-to-time instead of a FF reload. Yeah, save the logs (an auto ver of that'd be nice too).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.721).