Too much unnecessary work... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After using it for four months, I deinstalled this addon at long last, because I'm finally sick of it.
It seriously lacks a blacklist, which means requests you block all the time show up with every new site. And that's just tedious, because you always have to remember which requests you want to deny. Because when you go through the list to allow/deny, the list is completely mixed up and you have to pick and try one by one. As of now, I'm sick of having to go through the same trial-and-error routine on every second or third site just to have the site displayed as it should be.

There are similar addons like e.g. Ghostery where you don't spend half of the time to look if the sources and targets of a request are legitimate or not. And where you don't need half of the time to have a website displayed as it should be - instead of having a bit of text on a white background.

This addon means too much work and too much inconvenience for far too less benefit. So, after wasting very much time and effort for four months, I'm done with it.
For good.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

A tier-one privacy/security extension Rated 5 out of 5 stars

If I could only use one privacy/security extension, this would be the one.

This extension is just what I've been looking for and it works fantastically. I use Ubuntu-Linux and have had no problems with this extension.

Yes, you need some patience when you initially deploy it because the extension relies on you whitelisting what requests you want to happen--but this is how it should be for real privacy/security. Improved privacy/security often comes with additional cost, time, and energy. But once you put a little research & effort into learning about what sites you actually need your browser connecting to, the payoff is huge: increased browsing speed, faster page loads, improved privacy, security, and knowledge of what sites your browser sends info to. You can make use of Ghostery and Collusion to help learn about tracking sites and what connections get made when you browse the web. This helped me learn what requests I could safely not allow.

Now that I have used the extension for a bit and allowed the requests I want, I have smooth sailing across the internet. I Exported my settings into a backup file and so don't have to repeat the time & energy of configuration when I get a new computer, rebuild my system, or reinstall the browser. And since I finished configuring the requests I want, I rarely am bothered with having to allow additional requests. But by this point, you've learned so much that you can just look at the requests and know which ones you don't need. Be patient, take some time, and have fun/play. You will be glad you did.

You've done a great job with this extension, Mr. Samuel. It is a huge contribution to the community, and you deserve much praise for it. Thank You!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Fireshield Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes, when one wants to browse on "temporarily allow everything-mode", a simple click on RP button to disable its funcionality would be very useful. The available option is "temporarily allow all requests"... RequestPolicy, Noscript, Httpfox and Adblock should blend into one single add-on. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Flag on the Play Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I can accept the worked required in establishing the white list, which, after all, is the record of my choices.

What I object to is the extra work having to install this extension twice before the flag icon appeared in the addon bar. (In the end, I had to put it there.) Since the flag is the straightforward interface allowing my preference settings, its absence (while blocking connections) was just plain weird. Of course, I can access the same settings via the context menu (which I'm not told on this page), but the easy access of flag is the selling point. I finally found it in the icon collection, waiting to be installed.

Good thing, because there were some things I wanted to unblock.

2 stars for functioning . 3 stars unearned for a poor installation.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great add-on for Firefox.

The only problem is that my tabs didn't work properly. They sometimes opened in a new window.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

good, but needs a blacklist, too Rated 3 out of 5 stars

First: It does what it should. There are some things, that NoScript doesn't cover. But, NoScript allows you to allow scripts for the base domain, but deny it for any other requested domain. RequestPolicy doesn't. If I genereally allow requests from a domain, I cannot exclude certain destination of that.

Another thing noScript could use, too, would be some way to sandbox all request of a certain link/page and then show the user all affected destinations. Certainly you would allow paypal for a shop, if you were on a shopping spree. Or for other payment services. I know, I could mimik a similar behavior by generally enabling "Temporarily Allow All Requests" - if I were able to limit it to the base domain of the target.

Last thing: an integration with NoScript would be nice, so that you could manage that stuff in one place.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Great add-on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works fine on Firefox, but doesn't work on SeaMonkey. I have tried both versions (this and the 1.x beta) on it and the icon is always gray on every site, please check it out as it an indispensable tool for me, thank you.

*** UPDATE ***
I managed to get the beta v. 1.0.0b3 working after playing around with the settings, but the new interface is a big change, and needs some time to get used to, anyway, great job, thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This extension is really good. It replace adblock extension but with more security (all is blocked by default and the cookies or other cross domain include is blocked).

But an pretty good enhancement can be the possibility of create multiple rules before a reload of page (as in NoScript).

Thanks a lot for your work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Not bad Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The really interesting thing is to run this addon in conjunction with NoScript and Ghostery and see what happens. Turns out the other two addons typically pick up more trackers and third party connections than RequestPolicy does. However, I keep RequestPolicy installed because occasionally things work in reverse, where this addon spots something that the other ones miss. A few more MB of memory isn't going to kill me!

I agree with the user below that the Beta 1.x on the developer's website is really good.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The new beta that you can only find on the request policy homepage has become highly user friendly, keep up the good work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This is a must-have addon, but....

Can the developer make it work in similar way as the addon NoScript, that means whenever we make a choice, please do NOT let the page reload until we move the mouse OUTSIDE the drop-list, it is a h*ll to try through up to some 15-20 (yes, some web pages have an awful bunch of URL addresses one have to go through!) different settings and EVERY TIME wait for the page to reload, it is quite laboursome and the only reason I gave this addon 3 stars instead of 5.

Make it possible for us to chose several options without RequestPolicy reload the pages as soon as we made our choice, Request Policy should reload the page ONLY when we move the mouse courser outside the drop-list, the same way as NoScript behaves.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Hi. The next version of RequestPolicy, version 1.0 (currently in beta), allows you to make multiple whitelist changes through the menu before the page is reloaded. I expect version 1.0 to become the stable version in January 2013. If you want to try it out before then, you can find it at www.requestpolicy.com.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Does what it says although that in itself can be a problem, you will be babysitting this extension so much you will hardly get any work done.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Easy to use! Thank you very much!

One question: Isn't what this extension does similar to Ghostery, except that Ghostery only blocks advertising companies but then using various other methods as well?

I really wish that the functionality of your add-on were already included in NoScript. In case anyone is interested: There is a script blocking extension called ScriptNo for Chrome (https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/oiigbmnaadbkfbmpbfijlflahbdbdgdf) which covers some of the functionality of both these extensions (Request Policy + NoScript).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

RequestPolicy 0.5.27 - needs a blacklist! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I think this addon is a must-have (in addition to NoScript addon as well as a comprehensive list of 0.0.0.0 redirects added to your HOSTS file).

However, there are so many commonly blocked sites listed in RequestPolicy. I'd love to be able to add those to a blacklist to clear out the clutter from the main list of sites. There needs to be more than just the two lists. "Blocked destinations" and "Allowed destinations" is not enough. There should also be "Blacklisted destinations" that contain all the usual sites I want to separate out from the unusual sites.

Please consider adding such a feature to RequestPolicy in future updates!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With NoScript and RequestPolicy guess Firefox turns a red line for man-in-the-browser attacks. A must-have jewel. Thank you, Justin.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.27). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing !
Makes my surf faster, smoother and under control.
Bravo

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.26). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on, always the first I add to a fresh install. That said...
Feature request:
A "don't show me this" option, in the style of No-script's "untrusted" tab.
Using this add-on, it's pretty common to go to a page with, for example a blocked embedded video, there will be 15 different things blocked, 2 will be the things I want to allow eg: youtube and ytimage and the remaining 13 will be the usual advertising + tracking crap that I never want to allow.
It'd be real nice to be able to move these regular offenders to a separate list, it'd make temporary whitelisting so much quicker and easier. If you incorporate a "temporarily allow all that aren't added to the blacklist" option as well, I'll name my first born Justin!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.26). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

感谢“G2M_AGENT”的介绍,这下明白这个扩展的用途了,谢谢!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.26). 

必备的安全插件 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

RequestPolicy 可以控制“当前页面”对“其他页面”的调用请求。举个例子:某些网站会出现一些非常吸引人的标题,如“罕见倾国倾城美女”、“某某软件免费下载”,你点进去发现什么都没有,其实在那个页面中被镶入了其他页面的连接,你在不知情的情况下就已经下载了那个连接。如果那个连接只是赚点击量的广告也就算了,但如果是恶意程序你就倒霉了。

RequestPolicy 默认禁止所有其他页面的调用请求,有点类似 NoScript,你可以根据需要自定义那些请求被允许。如果你有使用 NoScript 的经验,RequestPolicy 将会成为它的有力补充。但RequestPolicy对于初级用户可能会造成困扰。

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.26).