Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Many thanks for this great addon it has saved my bacon a few times. Excellent work.

However you may want to edit the description. As it implies the new version is for Firefox 3 only.

However the current version 1.2.200 is working in Firefox/2.0.0.14.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.199). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really missed this when I went to FF3, great to have it back again. Thank you for this excellent addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.199). 

Can't live without Rated 5 out of 5 stars

When making the jump to Firefox 3 I never realised how much I'd miss having the usage bar at the top of my screen telling me how much I'd used or how I was travelling for the month with my daily usage.
I'm so happy this has been updated, thank you for your work!


/edit Hadn't realised I'd commented before -_-

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.232). 

Most useful add-on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is by far the most useful add-on for firefox! Been using it for years, can't live without it...

Thanks so much...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.199). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

New version for FF3 is on their homepage.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.199). 

Luv it!!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I would be lost without this item on my toolbar, it has saved me from going over my monthly download limit on numerous occasions.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.199). 

great addon, looking forward to firefox 3 update Rated 5 out of 5 stars

one of my most useful firefox addons, usage stat's at a glance. Please update for firefox 3 compatibility, keep up the great work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.196). 

Help! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

i give it a 5 stars, simply because its what i need, lol im a download whore, i saw this plugin at a friends house and downloaded it myself,

i filled in all the preferences and all but it comes up with a red cross and 0% (in the bar). has anyone else got this problem and fixed it? pls contact me asap.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.196). 

Not working, no response from developer Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After installing the additional ISP pack for NZ, I encountered a parsing error with Slingshot in NZ. Followed the instruction on the Net Usage Item website and sent the netusage_debug.txt file to them on 29May08, but have not heard anything from them since. Now I'm worried if my ISP login & password are actually 'included' in the txt file sent over. :o

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.196). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I'm with Bigpond and this works a treat. When Telstra removed the System Tray Icon I had no idea what my usage was (never bothered to check it). Now it will be displayed constantly!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.196). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

ohhh YEEEE

i wait it for

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.196). 

excellent Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works great for bigpond
parsing error sometimes but next re-start fixes.
very useful
well done

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.196). 

Awesome Addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This addon is amazing.
It's the first addon I install for Firefox and I recommend it to all my friends.
It's focused towards Australian ISP's as the creator of it is an Australian and that Australian ISP's are always throttling traffic.
The Author suggests ways that it can be adjusted to work with overseas ISP's on the website (which involves him writing in support for the particular ISP).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.188.1). 

Just what the Dr Ordered! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I give this Extension a Perfect 10/10 being that I use TPG in AUSTRALIA! This does exactly what I need it do for me. I agree with DoctoriSan about TPG and getting them to keep their data up to date more quickly.

Thank you so much you really have saved my BroadBand from being throttled on many an ocassion.

Net Usage Item 1.2.171 does not work with Firefox/2.0.0.15 it keeps giving Parsing errors simple fix install 1.2.200 this resolves the issue.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.199). 

Excellent & intuitive Rated 4 out of 5 stars

An excellent and invaluable tool for keeping an eye on useage. I've used it for over a year now, and find it very straightforward to use, providing at a glance an update on monthly usage, with more detailed figures easily available. I especially like the way that time left and usage left are easy to compare, and the stats produced on how far ahead or behind you are.

Other reviewers have noted that the emphasis is on Austrialian ISPs. As an Aussie that doesn't worry me too much, but it would certainly add to the appeal of the plugin if it covered the major overseas players as well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.171). 

Good Idea but Very BAD Completion Not yet rated

I rate this a 1 out of 10. - Here is my reason !
Because, first you should at least search on line and figure out all the ISP providers, then script them into the plugin so people can use this.

Right now this is only strongly used only for Australians which is not fare, because Firefox is a global software, unless you forgot that part.

I followed your instructions to go to your website to download the proper ISP I am using for my location, but yet it is NOT listed.

USA does not exist in the list let alone my ISP, so that also makes me made about this plugin.

I use (Optimum On Line) which is owned by (Cable Vision) in NYC.

YOU made a great idea, but failed to complete the task of the plugin.
I suggest you sit down for a couple of hours or maybe a day and go on line and look up every ISP provider including USA one's, and include it into your plugin.

And I guarantee that tons of people would download this plug. Because it is helpful, but only if it actually works for people.


Thats my review on this plugin.

UPDATE::::::
In response to LordSturm on December 8, 2007 (rated 10)
(QUOTED)
I don't know what the americans are complaining about, they should go and make their own extentions.(END QUOTE)

First off LordSturm, This shows how immature you are. Firefox was create for everyone globally (entire universe).
By you saying for us americans to create our own plugins shows how immature and ignorant you are.

Because Firefox and ALL Plugins is made for everyone without any racial restrictions.
You should go to IRC Firefox Help Line and request for a guided tour of Firefox, people would gladly guide you in the correct direction of how they made Firefox as a universal program and not just for one country.

You have alot of learning to do, I suggest you get to it before your head explodes with ignorance "Mr. LordSturm".

Have a nice life.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.171). 

Why there are no American ISPs

dj1bklyn, thanks for your review. One of the reasons why there are no American ISPs is because simply because no one has provided the correct information on these ISPs. Hence I can only assume, there is very little demand for such an extension in the US. I would assume this is because many ISPs in US have unlimited downloads and therefore do not require download meters such as this. These are not 'racial restrictions' but technical and logistical restrictions. The plugin is designed to fetch data from the ISP usage page. Thus, intricate knowledge of the usage web page systems for the particular ISP is required. Every ISP has a different system. Since I'm most likely not a subscriber for the ISP, I will need a tester to correspond with. For me to program for an ISP requires 30 minutes of coding and possibly weeks of debugging with a tester to get the functionality correct. Multiply that by the number of ISPs in America, it represents an enormous time investment.

You are right that Firefox is created for everyone, but unfortunately, extensions are not. There are many extensions created for certain cliques and specific websites, like del.icio.us for example. It would be futile to argue that a del.icio.us extension should readily work with all social bookmarking websites.

Lastly, I'd like to remind you that I initially created this extension for my own use and eventually shared it with others, expanded ISP support all on my own time and expense. It is a volunteer project and has taken hundreds of hours of my spare time over the years. Although, I've enjoyed every bit of it, I think it would be reasonable that I be spared from the obligation of working on this full time, which is what is required if I were to program support for all the ISPs in the world. Having said that, the project is Open Source and everyone is invited to extend the extension to support more ISPs. There is documentation here on the ISP API here: http://netusage.iau5.com/ispjs.html

Hope this clear things up.

Just what I neede Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is the perfect solution for keeping an eye on usage, small, unobtrusive and effective. I especially like the ability to open the detailed usage page on the TPG site directly from the meter. Now I just need TPG to keep their info up to date more quickly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.138). 

Excelent Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful, working very well.
Tracking ISP usage can not be easier then this.
Good on you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.90.1). 

Looks promising Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Even if dedicated to Australian Internet users, the addition of other ISPs could give this extension a lot of potential.

If the community is working together, we can achieve an impressive list of international ISPs bandwidth monitoring.

Help the extension author to build his extension, it will help everybody at the same time.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.90.1).