Not Newbie Friendly? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Honestly, how people can complain about helpfiles being full of 'jargon' is beyond me. I've used cars for fifteeen years and consider myself to be experienced in cars, but i still take my car to the garage to fix the air conditioning rather than trying to do it myself with a pound shop socket set and some mini screwdrivers i got in a cristmas cracker.

It's a javascript debugger ferchrissakes! if you have trouble installing, understanding or using it you're probably not in a position to debug your javascript effectively anyway. if you just want some fairly simple error reporting use the firebug console, this is something altogether more comprehensive.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Хорошо сделано.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After using a pc and the interent for 15 years I consider my self extremely computer literate.
However, I have NEVER seen such a complicated piece of gobbledygook as this! It's incredibly difficult to read let alone follow and debug.
It is comprised entirely of jargon and even the help pages are in jargon.
Avoid at all costs unless you have a degree in Javascript or geekdom.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Tragically unstable for me. Doesn't appear to be able to bind to a single firefox process. Couldn't stop it without closing my firefox processes. When I tried to stop it with firefox still open, it hung my firefox as well.

Breakpointing was good but loading pages with it enabled was very slow.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

A stable debugger and almost the only choice for addon developers. I do know about Chromebug and love it. I use Chromebug when I can and Venkman when I have to.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This resolved some loading issues on Youtube & DeviantArt for me. The sites are much fater now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I was able to install and use it in under thirty seconds. No difficulties setting breakpoints (right click on the function name in the left panel) or stepping through code. Great tool and I'm not sure how it could be much simpler.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Try then uninstall it. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

A lot of negative reviews but not mention of a better debugger I am going to try it and if it doesn``t work then clearly it is not difficult to uninstall it or reinstall firegox but save your addons with FEBE first.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Firefox 3.0.12 / Venkman 0.9.87.4
installing and using no problems

for newbies => too complex
for freaks => the best what I've ever seen

Stopsi

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Do not install Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I only created an account here because I had to say what idiocy this is. Do not download it, you waste your valuable time for nothing. Nothing is intuitive, nothing works, hangs browser.

I've been working with Eclipse and NuSphere products for some years by now, each of them has debuggers I successfully used. I know how a debugger is supposed to work, I'm not an imbecil. However I haven't been able to do a simple set-a-breakpoint->run->step-trough-code use case.

The author must be an idiot and should quit programming (seriously).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Make sure you disable FireBug if you use this Rated 3 out of 5 stars

If you have had problems with Venman crashing firefox, failing to place breakpoints, and throwing spurious errors, then make sure you haven't got firebug installed - the two debuggers seem to mess each other up.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

The best addon for dev ever Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I use this addon every day for more than one year. I could not dev any javascript without it.
To my mind, just one missing feature: the ability to sort functions/object/method name in the "loaded scripts" tree view.
A "must have" addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Very handy Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A great debugger. Very handy to debug Add-ons and webpages as well.

Thanks
Hans

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Could not make it work Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Not at all useful. Installation was easy but that's it.
Could not debug anything.
Didn't accept Breakpoint settings
"Continue" and "Step In/Over/Out" always greyed out.
Halted arbitrarily during execution.
Screwed up Browser.
No info, No docu, No help
Not intuitive
Waste of Time !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome debugger for JavaScript! Compared to FireBug, *all* the scripts really show up. For instance, if you are using Selenium for testing, this debugger allows you to step into the injected Selenium JavaScript code when FireBug doesn't.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

To me, Venkman is the most underappreciated extension around. Sure, Firebug is easier to use, but only at first. Both are excellent tools, but Venkman has the real feel of a debugger, with customizable panels, stops on error, exceptions, and ability to look at other scripts that may sometimes affect your code ... Pity that I can't give Venkman more than 5 stars. Just read the FAQ, give it a whirl and you will not regret it. Many thanks to the developers!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Works great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've not used it extensively but I found it a great help. Good job!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I hate it! The UI is awkward and inconvenient. There is virtually no documentation. Windows reconfigure themselves without warning and I cant figure out how to change them back. Worst of all I am unable to uninstall it from my windows machine. The uninstall instructions at the website have nothing to do with windows. Perhaps one day this will evolve into a good tool but right now its a half baked item and the user is on the developer's debugging team.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't live without it, but Interactive Session no longer works in versions after 3.0.1.

Please hurry with a fix!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4). 

Superb debugger Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Simply gr8 , I love this debugger.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.87.4).