Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Updated today(26Jan) to Firefox 4.0b10 and then Flagfox 4.1a4
Working nicely as far as I can see.
Your add-in is very much appreciated :-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like it so much
Awesome

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Really nice add-on with some cool little features. Well worth a try.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Mouse hover could be a good feature...But overall it worth to download

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please add support for b9

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very cool extension!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Good Add-omm Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It´s Cool Add-on, great

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Весьма полезное дополнение, позволяющее при поиске пустякового товара визуально отсекать предложения из других стран.
Многочисленные настройки не изучал ввиду отсутствия необходимости.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.12). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks to the author! Now I know what I'm browsing!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11). 

Flagfox - more for the fox, but could use a little more for the flag Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Flagfox is an add-on that is more than just providing a geographical identity to websites (showing the IP address of the website and the country from where its service provider is.)

It provides a shortcut to a compendium of other useful webservices (siteadvisor, Whois, to name a few). While these webservices can be accessed individually, Flagfox provides a customizable automation for delegating queries to these sites.

One can define a new webservice by creating a template and populating the query URL with Flagfox's flexible name placeholders for variables like the site's base domain, full URL, or locale, among others. What's even more is that Flagfox provides configurable shortcuts for invoking the different webservices, either through mouse clicks on the icon or via keyboard shortcuts.

By itself it can only provide the IP and country of the current website. Even though it describes itself as able to add "...an extra layer of awareness to your browsing...," it doesn't really add anything more to one's awareness of a website other than a set of numbers (the IP address, which may change depending upon the location a user is browsing from. This is because some sites, especially large ones, implement load balancing) and a country (which tells nothing about the service provider that the site is being hosted from. It may happen that even if a site, say Paypal, is coming from the United States, it may be coming from a phishing site that is based in the US. The extension doesn't provide an immediate indication whether the site is being hosted from its legitimate provider, after some preliminary research, which is eBay, Inc. as in the case of Paypal.). It would encourage awareness in this case to associate a website with its IP address and the name of the service provider hosting the site, along with the country from which the provider is operating.

While it does provide further information on IP addresses and domain names by navigating through Geotool and Domaintools respectively, it requires an additional navigation instead of providing these relevant information right-off-the-bat from the browser interface. I would at least like for it to provide in its interface information such as the service provider from which the site is coming from, along with the country. It would also be a plus if the add-on can show the user's current IP as well and provide tools for manipulating information from it.

Flagfox is a really flexible extension that can support other relevant functions concerning addresses and domains. I like the idea of having a repository of configurable webservices that can be invoked via shortcut keys. But it needs a little more providing information on IP addresses and its host to increase website awareness, which should be made readily accessible and displayable from the browser interface.

Flagfox is a handy extension for compiling and configuring webservices, which are provided by other extensions, thereby making it possible to minimize extension usage by having Flagfox do the same to some extent, and having a powerful array of shortcuts for invoking a wide variety of web queries, ranging from bookmarking to site checking to information gathering.

I also commend the great job the author has put into protecting users' privacy. While it may not be of concern for some users bothering with details like how their privacy may be affected, the author has taken steps to ensure that users' privacy comes first. I recommend this add-on to ANYONE looking for a safe and effective IP / COUNTRY site identification.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Firefox 4 beta 7 not use .

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11). 

Install Flagfox 4.1a4

Current Flagfox 4.0.x does not support Firefox 4 beta 7+. As already stated on the main page, please install Flagfox 4.1a4 for Firefox 4 beta 7 support.
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/5791/versions/

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Makes identifying Websites better and easier. I like to know where the site is broadcasting from and this add on makes it a lot easier.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good addon. But could you make it support ipv6 address, such as 2404:6800:8005::68 for www.google.com in USA?
Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11). 

IPv6 support is planned (eventually)

Currently Flagfox only supports IPv4 but I do plan to add IPv6 support in the future. I'm not sure when that will be though, as other features I'm working on related to Flagfox 4.1 and Firefox 4.0 support are a higher priority. Clearly I'll need to get it done at some point as the slow transition to IPv6 goes on, though it will take a bit of work for me to rewrite things to be able to handle it fully. The forums topic on the subject is here:
http://flagfox.servehttp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=213

Powerful Add-On... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the best add-ons I've ever used. Other than telling users the locations of the websites, it may put us on a little back-paddle when browsing unknown sites. Cool :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Never would I have been able to come up with such a simple yet powerful tool. It's essential information to know where the servers of the website you are visiting are located. Furthermore, it increases the chance you are able to discover a potential scam website.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

cool plugin

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon. It helps me a lot.
Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

nice addon. The countries that come up are sometime surprising.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

good addon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

VERY nice addon! I've found this through Rock Your Firefox and I've been surprised many times by what the flags were showing...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.8).