Broken... again Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Sadly this add-on is broken again and there's no way to contact the developer(s) as the aniweather website is down/broken as well, and there's been no response to reviews/comments stating the same requests/complaints This add-on has been broken for some time now and no interaction on the developers part since May 2014 to my knowledge. Would be nice to know something! Have you, the developers, abandoned this great add-on, are you working on a fix, or just out to lunch? This is one of, if not, "the best" weather add-on's IMHO and I would like to see it maintained. Aniweather developers please respond with something. Please! Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.40). 

Even Broken on Ff v16 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Installed this on a working Ff v16 and it's broken as well, so it's not just the code in Ff v24 (unless the same code is relative across all these Ff versions). Been using this forever and need it fixed yesterday please! ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.38). 

Vapor Graph broken... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on! However, the Vapor graphic is broken again it seems. USA satellite vapor map has east coast frozen from the tip of Texas through the N/W corner of Ohio and beyond. Info bar at bottom of vapor graph window shows "2GOES NORTH AMERICA WATER VAPOR 22 MAY 13 02:45 UTC". Mid way through the graph animation of the western half of the USA it changes to "2GOES NORTH AMERICA WATER VAPOR 23 MAY 13 08:15 UTC" and ' then ' the clock starts and runs up to 02:45 UTC. Makes no sense.

Animated satellite vapor graphic is working throughout the cycle to show the western half of USA, but the clock and "map date" is stuck at 22 until mid-way through when it jumps to 23 and the clock starts at 08:15 UTC. At that point/time the entire USA graph is animated from coast to coast. It's as though todays animation sequence is running consistently "under yesterdays locked east coast satellite frame" until mid-way through the animation, the in-frame locked east coast graph picture disappears and is removed from the sequence, allowing one to see the complete/entire animation window/sequence for today from that point forward. Prior frames running under yesterdays locked east coast frame aren't viewable at any time until that frame is removed. Take a piece of paper and cover the east coast animation and remove it half way through the frame sequence. That will exemplify what I'm trying to explain here.

I've uninstalled AniWeather, reset the 'current and forecast' data, re-installed it and have the same result!

AniWeather version 0.8.37... Firefox version 16.0.2 .

Please fix this or supply a work-around until such time it's fixed asap. I rely on AniWeather satellites and graphs daily... and I LIVE on the east coast! So this is a major problem for myself and other USA east coast dwellers / travelers. I hope to get a reply / response asap. No other way to contact the developer outside the reviews section here.

Thanks,
BigThunder1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.37). 

Satellite animation is broke... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Just updated from v0.8.16 to v0.8.18 because the satellite animation wasn't working. v0.8.18 seems to have the same problem! I'll assume your satellite animation site / link is down. After the update didn't fix the problem even with a clean install I tried my desktop PC and got the same results. This is the most used feature for me personally so I hope the PTB get it back up today!

Speaking of animation, it would be real nice if both the satellite and radar animations offered regional and State view(s) user options. National is great, but I'd also like to see a closer metro, regional, and State view. Check out the radar animation in the ForecastFox add-on for a regional radar reference. Sadly I have both installed because one or the other don't incorporate user customizable features as noted. They each lack something the other has. Someday a well rounded weather add-on with user customizable features as noted would be great.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.18). 

The reason Satellite is not available is that our data source (weather.gov) is not available:

http://www.weather.gov/sat_tab.php?image=wv

We believe this is just temporary and it should be back soon. We will keep an eye on that.

ANIMATION FIXED! Thanks AniWeather... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just wrote a flippin' detailed review that got wiped when submitted. Now I'm very upset!!! Latest update of AniWeather v0.8.12 in Ff v3.6.17 broke the toolbar icon animation setting/feature. Web page animation works fine but toolbar animation just quite working all together. Other complaints: 1) frame rate across the board is extremely fast and unreadable - 2) no local or regional USA radar options. This is why I have ForecastFox installed as well so I can access local regional radar. And no -- they played well together for a long time until the last.AniWeather update.

Got a fix or resolve for this AniWeather team?

>Edit: 5/4/11... I was going to delete and re-write my review but decided otherwise. I did clean it up a bit and apologize to anyone offended. We all have bad days. I do hope the AniWeather team resolves this issue soon. After all, it is a great add-on! Even if it is currently broken to some extent and in need of some additional options/features as noted above.

>Edit: 5/12/11... AniWeather team... I installed v0.8.1.6 and it did indeed fix the icon animation issue. Thank you for the reply.

_Anyone: The version mentioned above is available here. Just click on the "view all versions" link on the main page at bottom right. It's at the top of the page listing. Not tested by Mozilla as of this writing and that's why you don't see it listed on the main download page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.12). 

The animation issue has been resolved in the new version (0.8.16) that will be released soon.