Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Muy bueno, estoy de acuerdo con que el pop-up es un poco inútil, pero aún así es lo que estaba bsucando.

Muchas gracias

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.10). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

useful, mostly because wordreference is useful. i'm appreciative for the add-on, although it's a bit frustrating at times because the latest version is out of step with the current url formats used by wordreference. in most cases, it's not a problem - you're simply redirected to the right url - but if the word contains a letter with an accent, such as 'á', or 'ñ', the redirect fails. (i only translate between spanish and english, so i've no idea of how extensive this problem is with other languages.) surely the solution for this is simple, but i'm afraid the project has been abandoned and so the fix will never be implemented.

also, that criticism below about word-for-word translations is just pedantic and carping, and betrays a total ignorance of the richness of wordreference. at the head of each article are links to the word in its own dictionary and thesaurus, another to search a corpus for examples of its use, and still another to perform an image search using the word. below the header, you'll find a translation-based accounting of some of the different senses of the word, complete with sample sentences. scroll down even further and you'll find a listing of relevant forum threads that include the word in their title and, inside, contain discussions on the word's usage. to characterize such a resource as word-for-word translation is flatly absurd.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.10). 

Update 2014-02-01: I just tested es-en translation for accented words (with "ó" and "ñ") and both worked. Are you sure you are using the latest version of the add-on? The current one is 1.6.10. Best regards.

Thanks a lot for your accurate review and your brilliant explanation about wordreference!This week I will try to fix the issue with accents.And hopefully during the coming weeks I will be able to implement some automated tests to check the health of the URLs produced by the add-on.Best regards.

Bad user interface Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It's pointless to display a popup menu with only one option. Display a translated popup instead, and optionally allow the user to do control-doubleclick. No need to open a new window that requires another click to be closed and more time to go back to the initial window.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Realmente útil.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.10). 

not working anymore :-( Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've used it a lot, but with the new firefox versions [I don't know the reason] the floating link does not appear anymore. Please fix it, this was one of the addons I was suggesting the more to my friends.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.10). 

Impossibru!

Thank you for your feedback and thank you very much for suggesting it to your friends!

Please go to
about:config
and check the values of everything that starts with
extensions.wrtranslator

My values are:
firstexec: false
floating_link_time: 1200
floating_link_enable: true
language: en-es
status_visible: true

outdated approach Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This approach implies word-for-word equations. Even if you extend this approach to sentence-to-sentence equations, like Google, I have every reason to believe that the results will not be much better. The actual reasons are, firstly, that language usage is not rule-governed but culture-governed, and, secondly, that the meaning of a word is context related. The only method to improve translation and interpretation is: analyze texts written by native speakers, retrieve the text-related options by relevant cues, and imitate the usage of native speakers.

Horst Bogatz (author of The Advanced Reader's Collocations Searcher)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.8). 

hot translation tool Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this add on. I was worried that you couldnt disable the double-click effects, but the basics are configurable. It is fast, it automatically get the translation direction right.

I would like to see conjugations via another key (like "C"), and also a quick language selector config somewhere on the status bar. I might be able to do those things myself -- I see that the source is GPL, where can I get my hands on the source?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.4). 

Hi Roberto. Thank you for your feedback.

On conjugations: I'm not planning a shortcut for conjugations since I consider that need not very frequent and I pretend to keep the tool quite minimal; just for the most frequent needs.

On the source: The .xpi is a renamed .zip of the source. name it .zip again and extract it with any tool such as winzip, 7zip, winrar, ... (awesome isn't it?!)

On the quick language selector: I have to think more about that. I've received similar requests on the past weeks. These days I was planning to add somehow a secondary set of languages. I'm sort of waiting better documentation for Firefox 4 add-ons bar to be published (https://developer.mozilla.org/en/The_add-on_bar is still a stub) and also considering porting the whole add-on to Add-on SDK (Jetpack).

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Being able to choose only ONE word for translation and not being able to highlight a whole phrase greatly reduces the convenience of this add-on in my opinion. Also counting against this add-on -- and, the dealbreaker for me -- is that the Options forces you to choose a default translation scheme: always English to Spanish, or French to German, or Whatever to Whatever. How is this helpful for a translation tool? Will I always be wanting to translate from English to Spanish? what if I'm looking to translate from Russian into English? Then, I have to go into Add-on's; go into WordReference's Options; change the scheme; and, then go back to the page to double-click the word I want to figure out. This is just too much of a waste of time. Sorry, I'm uninstalling this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.4). 

Hi Roberto. Thank you for your feedback.

On conjugations: I'm not planning a shortcut for conjugations since I consider that need not very frequent and I pretend to keep the tool quite minimal; just for the most frequent needs.

On the source: The .xpi is a renamed .zip of the source. name it .zip again and extract it with any tool such as winzip, 7zip, winrar, ... (awesome isn't it?!)

On the quick language selector: I have to think more about that. I've received similar requests on the past weeks. These days I was planning to add somehow a secondary set of languages. I'm sort of waiting better documentation for Firefox 4 add-ons bar to be published (https://developer.mozilla.org/en/The_add-on_bar is still a stub) and also considering porting the whole add-on to Add-on SDK (Jetpack).

Excellent tool for translations. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is by far the simplest tool there is when translating web content. It opens a new tab and directs you to wordreference.com. In case the word you're looking for "doesn't exist", you can always check the forum discussions (which are more than often enlightening). Now, just a little suggestion that I think wouldn't clutter or make the add-on difficult to use: it would be great if we could not only search one of the dictionaries but two by using only two keyboard combinations; the traditional "d" for one dictionary and x letter for the second. I translate english to spanish and french to spanish most of the time (I also translate german but not so often) and this feature would be a killer.
Anyway, great add-on. Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.4). 

Thank you agaima. I'm putting the secondary shortcut on the feature list for WordReference Translator 1.7.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Would it be possibile to make the translation directily available in the page, maybe with a little dialogue box or something, instead of opening a new tab?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.4).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

I believe that's a feature that would require me updating obsolete mark-up parsing quite often. I'm too lazy to do that.

Nevertheless is an interesting concept, so thank you for your idea and your concern.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Excellent add-on but this latest version impossible to install: 'invalid file hash -261'.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.3). 

Thanks. Retrying.

Thanks a lot for the feedback. I re-uploaded the file. Although I don't know if this will fix the problem. The cause is completely unknown to me. The .XPI installs well on my machine and probably also on the machine of the editor who approved the release.

Edit 2010-05-08: Fixed now.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Simply the best translation tool.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.0). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It would be nicer to have the Translation in Thunderbird itself. Because for now i can use Leo or sth. instead...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.0). 

Gran Add-on! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Buenísimo, está muy bien este add-on, además me encanta WR, que es en lo que se basa esta aplicación, pero tengo un problema.

Según tu página web, al pulsar dos veces para seleccionar una palabra, debería salir un pequeño cuadro de texto, no? Pues bien, a mí no me aparece nada, tan sólo con la opción de "D" (o con la opción del botón secundario), pero preferiría no tener que abrir otra pestaña, y que apareciera en el mismo texto que estoy seleccionando...

Muchas gracias

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.0). 

versión 1.5.0

> Según tu página web, al pulsar dos veces para seleccionar una palabra, debería salir un pequeño cuadro de texto, no? Pues bien, a mí no me aparece nada, tan sólo con la opción de "D" (o con la opción del botón secundario),

Es la versión. En addons.mozilla.org la versión que se ofrece es la 1.4.1. En cambio, en mi página web la versión que se ofrece es la 1.5.0; la más reciente en estos momentos.

El problema en mi página era no hacer referencia alguna a la versión. Ahora sí indico qué versión es
http://www.islabinaria.com/samu/wordreference-translator/

El problema en addons.mozilla.org es que el proceso de review de updates de los add-ons escala con un coste muy alto y eso ha provocado que el lanzamiento de firefox 3.5 colapse al equipo de editores. Están trabajando en ello. http://blog.mozilla.com/addons/2009/10/01/add-on-review-process-redesign/

> pero preferiría no tener que abrir otra pestaña, y que apareciera en el mismo texto que estoy seleccionando...

psí... esto es algo que no estoy 100% motivado para hacer porque la principal gracia de wordreference para mí no es simplemente la traducción directa sino que si la palabra no existe, aparecen discusiones en el foro sobre esa palabra. no obstante algún día podría suavizar mi ego-centrismo y ofrecerlo como opción. lo estudiaré.

muchas gracias por tus comentarios !

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

You can solve the shortcut issue by installing the extension keyconfig from http://mozilla.dorando.at/

I have changed my shortcut from D to Ctrl+Alt+D, and now it works.

I would agree, though, that the interface could be better - it is not optimal to open an entire new tab to get one word translated.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.0). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Not that user-friendly, but works fine and still saves time. So I guess it deserves stars :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.1). 

New version. Floating link.

Your comment let me thinking. Hope you like version 1.5.0. It provides a floating link to the translation when you double-click a word.

While it is approved, you can see it at
http://www.islabinaria.com/samu/wordreference-translator/?lang=en

BUG! it doesn't matter... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I'm really quite disappointed, because I *love* wordreference.
But - I'm having the same problem as everyone else with the letter "D" (Mac OS X, Thunderbird 2) - I can't seem to be able to type it anymore. Why not make the shortcut key something like: Alt-D, Option-D, Ctrl-D, Alt-Shift-D, Function-D... so the poor machine doesn't have to get confused? I mean, if I'm willing to type Alt-E-E over and over to get a sentence with accents, I'm willing to hit Alt for a translation too. As it is...really kinda need the plain-d key for typing, so the addon's out.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.1). 

Will be fixed with Thunderbird 3

On feb 20th I wrote:
"Hopefully beta 3 will be released in 6 weeks and release candidate 1 will be released 6 weeks later."
Well, this prediction has result clearly wrong, so please accept my excuses.

Try Thunderbird 3 beta 3
http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/early_releases/downloads/
but be aware of the known issues
http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/3.0b3/releasenotes/#issues

Always thank you for your feedback.

D and F Rated 4 out of 5 stars

very good tool.
But it's usefull to have : english to french with D
and French to english with and other letter !!

(I'm french ^^)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.1). 

It worths?

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I use the addon daily. My setting is en->es but when I translate a spanish word, wordreference.com is smart and switches automatically to es->en .

Can you confirm that this mechanism is not sufficient for a perceivable number of cases in en->fr (or any other couple of langs)? Say 1% or more in daily usage.

I would like to keep the current extreme simplicity of the keyboard interface.

Thank you again.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

rêve, miravilla, it's the best way. Merci, gratias et Thanks !!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.1). 

Must have / Fantástico Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Buenísimo. No traduce: te manda a Wordreference directamente.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.1).